We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing indian food. Great setting.”
Review of Ushna

Ushna
Ranked #15 of 2,061 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
glasgow
Level Contributor
261 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Amazing indian food. Great setting.”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This place is at the souk between the Fairmont/traders and the Shangri-La. You can choose to sit inside or outside. The décor was nice and the toilets very nice and clean.

The menu is extensive and the price is fair and on par with the others around.

I were given poppadums/dips as soon as we sat down. We shared a chicken pakora (very different to what I would get in the UK) and then I had a prawn dish. As I hate touching the shell, this was done before it came to the table. We had 2 rice and 1 nan between 4 of us and there was nan and a lot of rice left. They had a nice cocktail list - I had a mai thai - it was very nice!

We all agreed that this was the nicest meal we ate in Abu Dhabi (including Etihad Towers and the Fairmont).

We had to wait about 5 minutes for an outside table, on the boardwalk and with nice view of the mosque and the creek. The staff were great and couldn't have helped more. Their suggestions were top notch.

We would have returned if we had time but we left the next day. We are going back again and we will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilroyBritto, Public Relations Manager at Ushna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
HI Siobhan,
Thanks so much for this fantastic review. We're glad you had a great dining experience, together with the food, service and ambience. We look forward to your visit again.
regards
Gilroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    122
    40
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Gourmet Indian food fiesta”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Walk in to this place, you'd first be mesmerized by its ambiance. Low lit, romantic, beautiful view of the Grand mosque. Its fine to be seated anywhere, as all seem equally good. The restaurant has a no child policy.
Now to the food, The meats are so succulent and cooked to perfection, that you just cant get enough of the the entire starter platter. The flavours so well balanced and the food so well served.
Their Dum Biryanis, curries and the rotis are all so well made. We toatlly enjoyed every bit of the dinig experience.
The staff are quite well knowledged too, and the service is great.
A must try is their series of indian desserts too, to end your meal perfectly. You certainly will leave with a happy stomach and a content heart. Keep serving good indian food Ushna. Looking forward to our next trip there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sushma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilroyBritto, Public Relations Manager at Ushna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Sushma
Thanks for your top rating and great review! We're glad you loved our food and overall dining experience. I will relay your wonderful comments to Chef Sandeep Ail and his culinary team.
See you soon at Ushna.
regards
Gilroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must-visit Indian restaurant in Abu Dhabi”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a great place for a romantic evening with a significant other. The minute you walk into the restaurant, you will love the romantic ambiance. The menu has a very good variety of North Indian dishes, the presentation is beautiful and the portions are very reasonable. The outdoor terrace has a fantastic view; you get to enjoy a fantastic view of the Grand Canal, the Sheikh Zayed Mosque and Ritz Carlton hotel on the other bank of the canal. To top it all up, the service is impeccable...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theJetSetNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilroyBritto, Public Relations Manager at Ushna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi there
Great review! thank you. Glad you had a 'jet setting' experience at Ushna. See you soon!
regards
Gilroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best Indian Restaurant in Abu Dhabi”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

excellent service and food. lovely location. we got a table for 2 at the front outside. service was excellent, witty and friendly. i will be back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wattenwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilroyBritto, Public Relations Manager at Ushna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Your review title says it all! Thank you so much Watten!
Look forward to your next visit soon!
regards
Gilroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Recommended by a friend, and absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Everything about this restaurant was pure class. The ambience was wonderful, the staff were extremely attentive, and helped with menu choices, and the food was out of this world. Definitely the best Indian dining experience we have ever had. Will definitely be going back...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilroyBritto, Public Relations Manager at Ushna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi there!
Thank you for your review, Glad to know you had a great dining experience! It makes us proud at Ushna to have wonderful comments like yours!
Will see you again!
regards
Gilroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ushna also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Ushna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing