We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view”
Review of Ushna

Ushna
Ranked #20 of 2,150 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cooking at Ushna has always been an inspirational affair. Fresh ingredients, high quality produce,consistency in every action and an open attitude to cooking are the four virtues that form the soul of the Ushna Kitchen.Our menu encompasses regional Indian classics presented in contemporary style that are best paired with wines or with one of the many Ushna Signature cocktails. Ushna has been awarded the coveted ‘Time Out Best Indian Restaurant Award’ for 4 consecutive years, the ‘What’s On Favorite Indian Restaurant’ and has been the recipient of three consecutive ‘Gourmet Abu Dhabi’ awards too - testament of its consistency in delivering excellent dining experiences over the years.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The restaurant is a fine dining and this branch is in the mall close to the sheraton in Qaryat Al Beri Souk ( this is the arabic name for that mall) .
the restaurant has a good lake view , in winters its excellent to sit outdoors, but in summer in uae, you may not like it ...
the ambience is nice and the food is good (it caters to international taste) - some indians might find it blant ...
there is also a bar counter , serving alcohol as well ....
overall its a nice place to dine , especially for couples ! but try to reserve the seats , especially on weekends as you might not get a place...
the takeaway at this place, would make you sign a food notice .... regarding the storage/preservation/consumption of the takeaway food....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank nyk1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilroyBritto, Public Relations Manager at Ushna, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Many thanks your review. We're glad you liked our restaurant and had a great dining experience. Do visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 419 of 531 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having been the year before, we traveled with friends whom were blow away by this restaurant sat looking over the water and served a delightful top end Indian feast, come to the UK and show the rest of the UK we are missing. Great food lovely friendly professional service worth the 8 hour flight alone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t38eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilroyBritto, Public Relations Manager at Ushna, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We love your review! Thank you very much..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

For a person living in the UAE for the past 9 years, I consider Ushna, a very good place to eat indian food, the varieties are there, the taste is good and the seating is very nice. I do recommend the Mutton Biriyani and the butter chicken Massala

During the cooler days, it has a nice outdoor view of the Sheikh Zayed Mosque.

Top 3 in Abu Dhabi after Indigo then Indian Palace.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ahmad_Ardalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilroyBritto, Public Relations Manager at Ushna, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hello Ahmed. Many thanks for your review. Both your recommended dishes are popular with guests..next time however, if you wish to try something new, don't hesitate to get a recommendation from our servers..thanks for dining at Ushna. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

A nice indian restaurant with good service and ambiance. It is alreadymy second time here and i enjoyed both. The restaurant is situated in a small new souq, where you can have a nice shopping walk. Try the duck masala.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lucabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilroyBritto, Public Relations Manager at Ushna, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

thank you! we look forward to your third visit..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Ushna is a classy Indian restaurant in every respect. The restaurant is located inside the Souq next to the Shangri La which is lovely itself. The location within the Souq, setting and fixtures of Ushna are great. it was too hot at this time of year to sit outside ,but we still had a lovely outlook with a view of the Grand Mosque. The service was very efficient but also unobtrusive, all the waiters were really well presented and friendly. The food was superb! Everything we tried we loved, our mains of lamb curry and my husband's ever favourite butter chicken were in the best ever category!! Ushna also provide lovely little extras - chippatis with a range of accompaniments to start, warm hand towels and a small chocolate sweet at the end. They also serve a range of beverages, we enjoyed a very good bottle of wine. All in all a great dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank WandTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilroyBritto, Public Relations Manager at Ushna, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Classy Indian feels nice! All thanks to our staff who work tirelessly to maintain high standards that Ushna has come to be known for. Thanks for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ushna also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Ushna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing