We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big disappointment”
Review of Amici

Amici
Ranked #55 of 2,111 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed December 5, 2013

When we came to Amici with our friends - another young couple with an infant - we expected a nice relaxing experience, and that's what we didn't get. The night began with the waitress spilling our friend's glass of beer on our table and my dress. Then, they forgot about my husband's order (they brought his salad, but not his pasta.) We had to ask 3 times before someone finally understood what was going on. By the time his meal arrived, he was starved, and the rest of us were long done. His hunger was not to be satisfied, however, since the portion of ravioli consisted of exactly 4 (four) ravioli.
None of us had enough food, to be honest.
As a way of saying "sorry for the ruined night", we were given 1 (one) free serving or tiramisu for four adults to share.
Seriously?
Not a 5-start experience by any means.
P.S. I hope nothing happens to the poor waitress.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroyFBManager, Manager at Amici, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear RandGirl,

Thank you for taking the time to review Amici and I am disappointed to hear you had such a bad experience. I would apprecaite if you could contact us directly by emailing dining@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com to discuss your evening in greater detail.
Your comments will of course be forwarded to the restaurant and measures will be taken to resolve the issues you and your guests experienced.

Kind regards
Food & Beverage Marketing, Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Amici
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 221 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We went to Amici on the Thursday night before the Yas F1. It was our anniversary. We enjoyed the buzz about the whole place with lots of famous people cutting about. Amici serves okay food. The bread and the Tiramisu are the high points. The other courses were okay but nothing special really. At over £200 for two people eating from a set 3 course menu, I expected more to be honest. It wasn't Michelin starred food, in fact it was pretty average. So when you consider the standard of food against the price, I'm afraid that Poor has to be the answer. The staff were nice but they are everywhere in Abu Dhabi. We won't be going again.

1  Thank spjwstaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroyFBManager, Manager at Amici, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear spjwstaines,

Thank you for your review of Amici, if you would like to contact dining@viceroyhotelsandresort.com with regards to your review to discuss your feedback in more detail, it would be most appreciated to help us improve based on your comments.

Formula one weekend is weekend where prices are set at a premium and it disappointing to hear we did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards
Food & Beverage Marketing, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have been to Amici a couple of times. The restaurant is stylish with a modern design. They also have a private room for 10-12 people, if you would like have a dinner in a more closed environment. The menu consist of the standard Italian dishes. The lasagna is tasty and we have tried a couple of other good pastas. During the cool season you can also sit outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank johan6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroyFBManager, Manager at Amici, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear johan6688,

Thank you reviewing Amici and for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Food & Beverage Marketing, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten in Angar , the Indian next door ,the night before the standards were pretty high, however the Italian didn't disappoint at All. The lobster risotto was delicious and the trio of panna cotta was very tasty indeed. This restaurant is perfect for a spot of lunch or a relaxed evening meal. I would recommend it to anybody wanting authentic Italian food .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroyFBManager, Manager at Amici, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear graham h,

thank you for a fantastic review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us at Amici.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Food & Beverage Marketing Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I went for dinner ' service was good enough ' good welcomed on arrival , atmosphere average but food is so delicious and price is little bit expensive for Italian but you will feel it worth every penny . I would go again ' recommended polo dishes is so great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wes w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroyFBManager, Manager at Amici, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear wes w,

thank you for taking the time to review Amici, it is lovely to hear you enjoyed the food so much during your recent visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Food and beverage marketing, assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing