We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit of a work-out and you may see some wildlife if you are lucky (we weren't)”

Noukhada Adventure Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noukhada Adventure Company provides sailing and kayaking in Abu Dhabi. These can be as tours, lessons or rentals. We are best known for our kayak mangrove tour. The main main launch points are at 'E48' (Eastern Mangroves) and Yas Beach. We now launch into the Al Rahba mangroves to the north of Abu Dhabi. We also offer the snorkel safari.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bit of a work-out and you may see some wildlife if you are lucky (we weren't)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have so say that we were perhaps unlucky on the day or time that we chose to go on the kayaking outing. All we saw were some herons which we could see on the beach of our hotel anyway. The following are warnings for those thinking of going on this excursion: if you are going by taxi, make quite sure that the driver knows where he is going as the boarding point is in the middle of a dusty building site just off one of the main roads. If you are planning to leave by taxi, there are none. We were lucky inasmuch as an expat American lady who was on the trip took pity on us when she saw us standing in the building site and drove us to a hotel where they ordered us a taxi. Secondly, there are no facilities for changing and you get very wet. There is a bucket of water to rinse your feet but that is all. It is not a cheap excursion (Dhs 150 per person, ie £26 for 90 minutes) so we would have expected better facilities. All in all, rather a disappointment. I am sure that there is room for improvement.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    36
    3
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Must do experience in Abu Dhabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

For anyone interested in the environment and nature I can highly recommend the extended Eco Kayaking trip that Noukhada run. They have to have a min of 4 people so we signed up friends of ours and headed out for nearly 3 hours at 8am on Sat morning.
The trip was informative if not slightly depressing as one see's so much of the Mangroves being destroyed. Let's hope the Government set up the marine reserve sooner rather than later to protect this natural wonder and water filter system.
Excellent trip and time flew past.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kariesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected fun experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

While visiting our kids who live in Abu Dhabi, they had planned to take us out on the Kayk tour of the mangroves. What a pleasurable experience it was. Being there on Nov 1st and early morning (8:30) made the conditions very nice, i.e. not too hot! We spent a wonderful hour and a half paddling through the mangroves surrounded by birds, fascinating vegetation and small animals (crabs). The guide was informative and very engaged. I suggest reading all the instructions and recommendations on the web site. We wore flip-flops, and that was a mistake as the ground at the kayak launch point can be pretty slippery! I can highly recommend this activity if you like the water and being surrounded by nature.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank effdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
“Beatuful nature and sport experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was a beatiful experience, that mix up nature and sport.
Very beatiful landscapes and friendly staff, in uno hour and half of visit we've seen mangrooves, sea birds, and mangroove eating crabs.
I hoped to learn more trivia and nature facts, but was immersive!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaoloLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A must do trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Decided to do something different and after reading the positive reviews decided to give the mangrove kayaking tour a go with our family. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves and our tour guide told us a few interesting facts, we had lots of laughs trying to manoeuvre through the narrow mangroves and took some breathtaking pictures to treasure. Would definetly recommend great fun had by all, and not a bad workout into the bargain!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tresporp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noukhada Adventure Company also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Noukhada Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing