We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really gone downhill”
Review of Frankie's

Frankie's
Ranked #118 of 2,054 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of the best Italian restaurants in Abu Dhabi, opened in October 2009.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,001 reviews
604 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Really gone downhill”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ate here during previous visits to AD & never thought it was the best but it really has gone downhill. A empty restaurant, mediocre service & just passable food makes it an expensive mistake for dinner. Think Frankies is past it's sell by date.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McAnnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    93
    56
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Must admit, we had really high expectations for Frankies considering it is one of Marco's restaurants, however we left rather let down with the dining experience. Ideally it would be great for waiting staff to have more knowledge about their food and how to enhance the diners experience with the menu options, and less 'fluffing' around the table. The service was timely, but in between it was too much attention with 4 different waiters making it rather intrusive, ie, water, wine, checking in on you. As for the food, many entree options were not available, but the dishes we chose to share were quite tasty. Our friend had the steak with foie gras which he loved, and my partner had the lamb which she liked as well. I had the spaghetti frutti da mare, which was pretty dissapointing, didnt taste like fresh pasta, and was not very generous with the seafood, sauce wasnt seasoned well. On a positive note, the wine list however was exeptional, but some of the bottles they didnt have, but we happily settled on another.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“again drunk locals”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

All the personnel are very young but quite nice, dining room a bit "cold" as the atmosphere.
To start off i would like to say the food is interesting there. I will not make this long,but i would like to say the service was superb BUT. . . too many locals drunks who shout and scream in the bar are, and for sure you will feel very very uncomfortable there and for your advise its not a place for couples!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zigubigule C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best place in Abu Dhabi!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice now in the last two weeks and the service has been excellent and consistent!!
Quality of the food was the best I've experienced in Abu Dhabi and wine selection was great to accompany the food!
Great atmosphere with a live music makes for a memorable evening. This makes for a destination evening and will be coming back with family shortly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kieran_Mander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pushy, poor service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The food was acceptable, which is as far as am willing to go.
I have had better lasagne from restaurants that don't claim to be Italian.
Again, there was a fair push on the expensive alcoholic drinks.
When they realized we weren't,t interested in the expensive option the service quickly diminished into the 'poor' category.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spewy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie's also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Frankie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing