We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and filling”

Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #31 of 2,111 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cho Gao which means “rice market” in Vietnamese, combines the creativity, energy and senses of ancient Asian culture. Guests can experience an adventurous culinary journey through Asia with a menu that takes its inspiration from Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, China and Japan. The restaurant is an escape for all the senses as it blends the sights, smells, sounds and contrasting tastes of East Asian streets. From its dark wood décor reminiscent of a Hong Kong market, to its authentic cuisine, infused with the freshest herbs and spices, Cho Gao is one of Abu Dhabi’s favourite dining destinations.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have been to this restaurant twice, once before Ramadan and once during Ramadan, and we have found their meals to be very tasty. The service is very good and the price is affordable. I had the tempora as a an appetizer and it was the best I've had. I highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zenford M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Zenford M,

Thank you kindly for sharing your Cho Gao Asian Experience with the local crowd.

Your review is exactly what we aim for, affordable delicious meals served in a warm venue with great ambience.
Do visit us this month and next as we are featuring delectable Vietnamese cuisine for your exploration pleasure.

Kind Regards,
Ivor E. Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 354 of 525 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

I go there almost every day. It's the best business lunch in town! Delicious food, super service, great atmosphere. Am about to ask the chef for his recepies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jaiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Jaiwana,

We would like to thank you for your kind words, your time to review us on TripAdvisor and most importantly in trusting us to cater your lunch almost everyday.

Chef Sonthaya will be very happy and proud to assist you with your favourite dish recipe, just ask us the next time you come.

Kind Regards,
Ivor E. Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice and relaxing,chilled out and cool place to visit. attentive staff keen to help, food was tasty ,portions not huge though.

Thank johnniepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear JOHNPK,

Thank you very much for your review on our Cho Gao as well.

We have just celebrated Cho Gao’s 3rd birthday in January, so it is very good to know that it still looks new to our guests and that you enjoyed your experience there.

We do hope to serve you more delicious portions again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Ivor E. Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

great food, great service. As a vegetarian, I was spoilt for choice. The food was very tasty, and the service prompt

Thank Sanjeev_Shukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Sanjeev_Shukla,

Thank you very much for sharing your apt review with the Vegetarians in Abu Dhabi.

Every second month we change the featured country in the restaurant, therefore you will have the chance to savour many more variety of vegetarian dishes in Cho Gao.

We hope to welcome you again in Cho Gao very soon.

Kind Regards,
Ivor E. Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Cho Goa is right in the middle of abu dhabi in the crown plaza hamdan street making it very easy to get to. The food here is great, in addition to their regular menu they often include seasonal menus(thai during me most recent visit). The crispy duck is definitely worth a mention, but all the dishes are pretty good. The cocktails here are the best, they also run a ladies night on a sunday and monday where ladies drink unlimited free cocktails from 9-12 which is well worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Lynne K,

I must say firstly, WOW thank you very much for being a spokeswoman for Cho Gao.

Secondly, I would like to personally thank you for advising our great outlet; its food, cocktails and also the Ladies Night on Saturdays and Sundays from 21:00 – 01:00.

We do hope to find yourself and friends very often in the restaurant.

Kind Regards,
Ivor E. Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing