We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss”

Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #32 of 2,121 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cho Gao which means “rice market” in Vietnamese, combines the creativity, energy and senses of ancient Asian culture. Guests can experience an adventurous culinary journey through Asia with a menu that takes its inspiration from Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, China and Japan. The restaurant is an escape for all the senses as it blends the sights, smells, sounds and contrasting tastes of East Asian streets. From its dark wood décor reminiscent of a Hong Kong market, to its authentic cuisine, infused with the freshest herbs and spices, Cho Gao is one of Abu Dhabi’s favourite dining destinations.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

If only restaurants in Abu Dhabi would give us honest food! Cho Gao, unfortunately, wants to be Asian with a twist. Everything turns out wrong. Ingredients are inappropriately paired, and the tastes don't complemend. Instead they clash. Give this place a miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zolyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 476 of 536 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

We have lived in Abu Dhabi for a year and only just come across this place, Absolutley beautiful food, the best dim sum I have had outside the UK for a while.. Staff where very welcoming, food was piping hot, when the rice had gone a bit dry and stuck to the pan, the chef immediatley brought a new freshly made steaming hot pan of rice, he did not pour it onto the stale stuff, (which I have seen done in other places) . The restaurant itself is very cozy, we where there on a friday afternoon for the brunch, good value, the wine just kept coming, I never had to ask once for our glasses to be re-filled. The food was topped up as soon as required. Would highly recommend this restaurant, just wish we had found it sooner, will be back to try in the evening, and back next Friday brunch time for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, E-Commerce Executive at Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review of your dining experience at Cho Gao.
Thank you for giving us top scores on value & service and an overall perfect score.
We are happy that you enjoyed the food, service and the ambience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had a lovely meal here, menu doesn't have a lot to choose from but can't fault the food. We had mixed starter, beef rendang and lamb massaman all of which were great. Service was also very good. We started off at the Level Lounge which is the Crowne Plaza's roof top bar - wouldn't recommend this - seems to have been an afterthought just squeezed in, only us and one other couple at the bar despite it being free cocktails for the ladies, might be the weather though, it was still very very hot even at 8pm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adeandwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, E-Commerce Executive at Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your dining experience at Cho Gao.
Thank you for giving us top score on service.
Your comments will be shared with the management & colleagues.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Cho Gao, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Wow.... Ladies night - Saturday/Sunday free cocktails after 9pm for all ladies. Nice ambiance in this restaurant & staff are very attentive. Food was excellent. Would have been nice to have a longer break between courses.

    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, E-Commerce Executive at Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Dear Karen,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review of Cho Gao here on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Ladies Night, same with the ambiance, the food and the service.
Furthermore we look forward to welcoming you back at Cho Gao.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We ended up in Cho Gao about three out of the seven nights, purely because the food was so great. Based in the Crowne Plaza in Hamdan St, this place has a buzzy atmosphere and draws people in with its 2 for 1 nights and money off vouchers. The bar staff are attentive, great to chat with and remember your drinks even if you've not been there for a few nights! The restaurant serves a combination of Thai, Malay & Indonesian. Highlights were the tempura prawns, succulent and crispy. The chicken red curry was delectable though it may be hot for some people. The indonesian Beef Rendang left my husband speechless! Delicious! I only wish i'd had room for dessert of chocolate samosa and icecream! Please tell me if I missed out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, E-Commerce Executive at Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Jajit,
Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review of Cho Gao.
It is very pleasing to hear that you found your dine in experience a “great” one because of the food & the staff.
Recognition from our guests is music to our ears.
Furthermore we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back at Cho Gao.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing