We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and fabulous pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
Ranked #43 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Bahrain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and fabulous pool”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed for one night in interconnecting rooms with our 2 teenage sons. We had originally booked the Park Inn on Yas Is. but when we arrived the pool was too small so we went next door to Radisson and the pool was freezing so we walked on to the Crowne Plaza and the pool was a lovely warm temperature and a great size! To top it off there's a squash court and a great gym. The rooms were comfortable and we had a laugh with the bathroom blinds being on the outside of the room! Actually there was an advantage as I was able to watch TV from the bath by pulling the blinds up! There are many hotels close by so you have a fantastic choice of restaurants to choose from. Overall, an excellent stay, can't fault it...we'll definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahrain08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your valued review. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our pool and your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    493
    124
    34
    36
See reviews for
341
429
59
377
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Was travelling with my son, and staying there on business. Upgraded at check-in because of Priority Club status - given larger room overlooking pool, golf course and sea with balcony, lounge access, and breakfast. Staff very helpful. Room with twin beds good size. Swimming pool great for laps and gets sun from about 10 through to 4. Use of gym and squash courts was also a bonus for us. I've used several of the other Yas island hotels and this is highly rated in comparison. Will stay again.

Yas island hotels are good for the airport, Ferrari World, F1 race track, Yas Marina, and the golf course. The whole area is new and purpose built. It would wrong to expect a 'city' experience there. You will find world class facilites and services there, but no city life!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can welcome you and your son back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Niamh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

A new hotel with good size rooms, balconies, quiet and about 15 minutes from the airport. Yas Island is being developed for the F1 and other sporting events. There are about 5 other hotels but not much more in the vicinity. However taxis are very cheap and it is only about 1 hour from Dubai. Even if you have a couple of days in Abu Dhabi its worth considering as an alternative to the more expensive "downtown" hotels. We also stayed at the Hilton and it was about twice as expensive and there is not much around the Hilton either. Having said that the Mosque is essential viewing and should not be missed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the facilities we have to offer and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Niamh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
306 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Starting with the positive.

The reason I was at the hotel was because I was attending a conference. The hotel did an excellent job in respect of the conference and I would recommend it as a conference venue. The staff were efficient and friendly.

As a guest I also found staff to be friendly.

Unfortunately I was less than impressed with the rooms and in the way my complaint relating to the room was dealt with.

The allocated room had a bathroom with an entire wall of CLEAR glass, covered only by a venetian blind placed on the outside. The sliding bathroom door was opaque glass and did not lock - it was immediately inside the bedroom door. I immediately phoned to ask for another room.

Then to cut a long story short, after been told that ALL hotel bedrooms had the same bathroom and been offered for someone to put up a fixed blind inside the bathroom (as is done for other guests who don't like the bathroom), I was moved to a smoking suite (no balcony). I had no desire for a suite, only a private bathroom.

This process took over 3 hours from when I had checked in and made me late for a business meeting. (I was asked if the new room was OK and I said that the bathroom was better). The bathroom was still bizarre, with half of it without a door and with powerful lights that disturbed sleep if switched on in the night.

Consequently, I cannot recommend this hotel. If my complaint had been dealt with more quickly, had I not been told lies about other rooms and had I not been moved to a smoking room, then I would probably have felt differently. I did not feel at all valued as a guest. The fact that I am a Priority Club member seemed of no importance.

Unless you are staying alone at this hotel, the bathroom wall is not acceptable.

To finish on a positive note, the bed was extremely comfortable and inclusive wifi was very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your conference experience but are disappointed to hear that the layout of our rooms did not meet your expectations. We hope that you would reconsider returning to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza along with 4 of our friends for 1 night in connection with the Nelly Furtado concert in Yas Arena. The hotel had a super deal for AED 580 including two concert tickets and breakfast, which was cheaper than just buying the tickets, so basically we got the room for free! Coming from Dubai, the hotel was a bit difficult to find as there weren’t really any signs for it once we crossed the bridge to Yas Island but we figured it was close to the circuit. Valet parking and check in was a breeze, and our suitcase was promptly delivered to our room. We stayed in a superior room with king size bed and the room was a standard size. The room had a very modern and new feel to it and we really liked the furniture and colors. Even the hallways had a very chic and modern look, with the carpets/walls/lights all incorporating the same stylized flower theme.

There was a balcony with a nice view over the pool area, golf course and the water. I noticed that some of the rooms face the entrance/road, so you should try to request a room facing the pool area/golf course. The room had the usual 5 star items such as a flat screen tv, desk, seating area, WIFI internet and even an iPod docking station which was great. The bathroom is connected to the room by a window, which I personally like as it makes the room seem bigger. Of course if you are not as comfortable around each other as we are, you may want to close the blinds when doing your business! Unlike the Crowne Plaza at Festival City Dubai, the blinds are manual at Yas Island but who cares. There is a combined shower and bath tub and I have noticed that some people have mentioned difficulties getting in and out. I didn’t really find that to be a problem. My issue is the glass screen which doesn’t really prevent the floor from getting wet when showering. The bathroom looked new and clean and also had a modern feel to it. The usual amenities were provided such as shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and vanity set, which were of an average standard. There was also 1 pair of slippers and 1 bathrobe, which is kind of strange considering we were staying in a double room – 2 would have been nice.

The hotel has a nice pool area with nice sun beds, however as the hotel was completely full there wasn’t enough for everyone. This also meant that the pool area was very crowded as the pool isn’t that big. The pool also has a pool bar where you can order drinks – although alcohol is only served after 11:30…

We ate lunch at the Stills - Bar & Brasserie, and the food was nice although the portions were quite small. The service was friendly but extremely sloppy as the place was full. However that is no excuse for the food to arrive after 40 minutes (for fish and chips!), and for having to wait 25 minutes for the bill after asking 3 different waiters. Some of the Asian staff seemed to have difficulties coping with this many people and their attitude was a bit rude at times.

After the concert we ordered room service and we were pleasantly surprised. The cart had an inbuilt heater, so the food arrived nice and warm and the quality was good. Other hotels should take note of this. We also had breakfast in the Jing Asia restaurant, which was a standard breakfast buffet with the usual items. The scrambled eggs and veal sausages were not really that great, but the Chinese “char siew bao” were excellent. As this is a Chinese restaurant, I wish they included more Chinese dishes (i.e. yum cha) instead of just focusing on typical western dishes.

Most of the staff were all friendly, although the manager or supervisor of the Jing Asia restaurant was downright rude when we asked if the restaurant was open for dinner at around 5PM. “This restaurant is closed, go downstairs!” while wafting his hand basically telling us to get lost while walking away from us. A different staff member was quick to come over and tell us what other restaurant served food and pointing us in the right direction, but this guy really made a bad impression on us.

As previously mentioned here, the location of the hotel is outside the city of Abu Dhabi. There is not much close by, so unless you’re visiting the circuit, arena or airport I wouldn’t really chose this hotel. As the hotel is close to the airport, the planes do sometimes overfly the hotel. This can be heard inside the rooms, but it becomes especially bothersome when you’re lying by the pool. However if you are visiting the circuit, arena or airport, I would definitely recommend the hotel. Out of all the Plaza hotels, the Crowne Plaza hotel is definitely the best. The hotel is nice, new and modern, and we a great time for the one night we stayed there. Just stay clear of the supervisor/manager of the Jing Asia restaurant!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KennyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valued review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and please be informed that all of your comments will be passed on to our team. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for a Conference: one of my best-ever venues and hotel! Indeed, the hotel could not have been better, it has all one wishes for, the three restaurants are simply fantastic for the food they offer and the terraces for eating outside they have, the gymn is open 24 h. a day, the swimming pool has all one wishes for,and the service is one of the best I have had in the last years, therefore: a note of merit goes to the personnel: trained in the customer satisfaction they know how to make you feel important, and this is a plus I always look for, how as guests we are welcomed and cared of! The rooms are simply luxurius (and there is even an ironing board for a last minute need ...). Shall I have the pleasure to go to Abu Dhabi soon, no doubt I shall return to this hotel! I thus highly recommend it to everyone ... Besides, for those who might be interested: the Ferrari circuit is at a walking distance! XXX

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, The Management at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write this very wonderful review of Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. We Hope you had a successful conference.

Recognition from our valued guests is music to our ears. We are pleased to see that you gave us top scores on value, rooms, location, and cleanliness, service & sleep quality and are glad that you have enjoyed our products and services. We are continuously upgrading our facilities and services to meet our guests’ expectations. We will share your valuable comments with our colleagues and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I just got back from the Crown Plaza at Yas Island. I came to the Plaza to see the last F1 race of the season. The hotel is very close to the Yas Marina Circuit. The circuit is literally across the road and depending on where you are seated can take 5-15 miinutes walking or a few minutes by taxi. The hotel is a good 30 min drive from central Abu Dhabi which i didn't realise.
I had a suite and it was perfectly functional. The room lacked any warmth or charm. I couldn't understand why the suite had a kitchen sink in the lounge side of the suite. The room was large and sparcely laid out. There isn't much else to add.
The Ferrari team were in residence when i was there and the security was high. The hotel does a resonable breakfast buffet and i tried one of the buffet restaurants in teh evening. Again perfectly adequate. The service is quite bad as there are an awful lot of new staff from south east asia who tend not to understand english that well and i had to ask a few times for my order. Occassionally they just wouldn't come back to you.
As mentioned i was there for the race so didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. The hotel lacks charm and any warmth.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. We appreciate all feedback we recieve from our guests and are disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. However, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.1 mi away
Centro Yas Island Abu Dhabi by Rotana
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yas Island Rotana
Yas Island Rotana
#49 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#1 of 7 in Yas Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island

Property: Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
Address: Yas Island Yas Leisure Dr, Abu Dhabi 41880, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#39 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuse business with leisure at the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island hotel, located in the UAE's electrifying sports and entertainment hub.Leave your car with our complimentary valet and enter the vibrant Lobby at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island, with its deep blue, turquoise and gold design. Relax in the lavish spherical booths hanging from the high ceiling. A vista of verdant mangroves stretches out from our 24-hour Lobby lounge, or you can head to your room or Suite for a soothing rest in our luxury bedding.Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island is next to Yas Links golf course and minutes' walk to both Yas Marina Circuit, home of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, and Ferrari World Abu Dhabi theme park. You're 10 minutes' drive from Abu Dhabi International Airport, while our complimentary shuttle wings you to city-centre souks and shopping malls in 20 minutes.With 10 meeting rooms and a wealth of dining options, our hotel is primed for business and banquets. The Kids' Club will entertain the children while you energise in our Fitness Centre or squash court. Swim up to Sundowner bar for a cocktail in our pool as the sun sinks into the Gulf.Your Concierge can book tickets for Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre's year-round events calendar. Join us for gourmet dining during the Grand Prix and be sure to treat Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island as your second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing