We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference hosting good, guest room bathrooms awful...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
Ranked #43 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
304 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Conference hosting good, guest room bathrooms awful...”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Starting with the positive.

The reason I was at the hotel was because I was attending a conference. The hotel did an excellent job in respect of the conference and I would recommend it as a conference venue. The staff were efficient and friendly.

As a guest I also found staff to be friendly.

Unfortunately I was less than impressed with the rooms and in the way my complaint relating to the room was dealt with.

The allocated room had a bathroom with an entire wall of CLEAR glass, covered only by a venetian blind placed on the outside. The sliding bathroom door was opaque glass and did not lock - it was immediately inside the bedroom door. I immediately phoned to ask for another room.

Then to cut a long story short, after been told that ALL hotel bedrooms had the same bathroom and been offered for someone to put up a fixed blind inside the bathroom (as is done for other guests who don't like the bathroom), I was moved to a smoking suite (no balcony). I had no desire for a suite, only a private bathroom.

This process took over 3 hours from when I had checked in and made me late for a business meeting. (I was asked if the new room was OK and I said that the bathroom was better). The bathroom was still bizarre, with half of it without a door and with powerful lights that disturbed sleep if switched on in the night.

Consequently, I cannot recommend this hotel. If my complaint had been dealt with more quickly, had I not been told lies about other rooms and had I not been moved to a smoking room, then I would probably have felt differently. I did not feel at all valued as a guest. The fact that I am a Priority Club member seemed of no importance.

Unless you are staying alone at this hotel, the bathroom wall is not acceptable.

To finish on a positive note, the bed was extremely comfortable and inclusive wifi was very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your conference experience but are disappointed to hear that the layout of our rooms did not meet your expectations. We hope that you would reconsider returning to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    491
    124
    34
    36
See reviews for
339
429
59
377
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza along with 4 of our friends for 1 night in connection with the Nelly Furtado concert in Yas Arena. The hotel had a super deal for AED 580 including two concert tickets and breakfast, which was cheaper than just buying the tickets, so basically we got the room for free! Coming from Dubai, the hotel was a bit difficult to find as there weren’t really any signs for it once we crossed the bridge to Yas Island but we figured it was close to the circuit. Valet parking and check in was a breeze, and our suitcase was promptly delivered to our room. We stayed in a superior room with king size bed and the room was a standard size. The room had a very modern and new feel to it and we really liked the furniture and colors. Even the hallways had a very chic and modern look, with the carpets/walls/lights all incorporating the same stylized flower theme.

There was a balcony with a nice view over the pool area, golf course and the water. I noticed that some of the rooms face the entrance/road, so you should try to request a room facing the pool area/golf course. The room had the usual 5 star items such as a flat screen tv, desk, seating area, WIFI internet and even an iPod docking station which was great. The bathroom is connected to the room by a window, which I personally like as it makes the room seem bigger. Of course if you are not as comfortable around each other as we are, you may want to close the blinds when doing your business! Unlike the Crowne Plaza at Festival City Dubai, the blinds are manual at Yas Island but who cares. There is a combined shower and bath tub and I have noticed that some people have mentioned difficulties getting in and out. I didn’t really find that to be a problem. My issue is the glass screen which doesn’t really prevent the floor from getting wet when showering. The bathroom looked new and clean and also had a modern feel to it. The usual amenities were provided such as shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and vanity set, which were of an average standard. There was also 1 pair of slippers and 1 bathrobe, which is kind of strange considering we were staying in a double room – 2 would have been nice.

The hotel has a nice pool area with nice sun beds, however as the hotel was completely full there wasn’t enough for everyone. This also meant that the pool area was very crowded as the pool isn’t that big. The pool also has a pool bar where you can order drinks – although alcohol is only served after 11:30…

We ate lunch at the Stills - Bar & Brasserie, and the food was nice although the portions were quite small. The service was friendly but extremely sloppy as the place was full. However that is no excuse for the food to arrive after 40 minutes (for fish and chips!), and for having to wait 25 minutes for the bill after asking 3 different waiters. Some of the Asian staff seemed to have difficulties coping with this many people and their attitude was a bit rude at times.

After the concert we ordered room service and we were pleasantly surprised. The cart had an inbuilt heater, so the food arrived nice and warm and the quality was good. Other hotels should take note of this. We also had breakfast in the Jing Asia restaurant, which was a standard breakfast buffet with the usual items. The scrambled eggs and veal sausages were not really that great, but the Chinese “char siew bao” were excellent. As this is a Chinese restaurant, I wish they included more Chinese dishes (i.e. yum cha) instead of just focusing on typical western dishes.

Most of the staff were all friendly, although the manager or supervisor of the Jing Asia restaurant was downright rude when we asked if the restaurant was open for dinner at around 5PM. “This restaurant is closed, go downstairs!” while wafting his hand basically telling us to get lost while walking away from us. A different staff member was quick to come over and tell us what other restaurant served food and pointing us in the right direction, but this guy really made a bad impression on us.

As previously mentioned here, the location of the hotel is outside the city of Abu Dhabi. There is not much close by, so unless you’re visiting the circuit, arena or airport I wouldn’t really chose this hotel. As the hotel is close to the airport, the planes do sometimes overfly the hotel. This can be heard inside the rooms, but it becomes especially bothersome when you’re lying by the pool. However if you are visiting the circuit, arena or airport, I would definitely recommend the hotel. Out of all the Plaza hotels, the Crowne Plaza hotel is definitely the best. The hotel is nice, new and modern, and we a great time for the one night we stayed there. Just stay clear of the supervisor/manager of the Jing Asia restaurant!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KennyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valued review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and please be informed that all of your comments will be passed on to our team. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for a Conference: one of my best-ever venues and hotel! Indeed, the hotel could not have been better, it has all one wishes for, the three restaurants are simply fantastic for the food they offer and the terraces for eating outside they have, the gymn is open 24 h. a day, the swimming pool has all one wishes for,and the service is one of the best I have had in the last years, therefore: a note of merit goes to the personnel: trained in the customer satisfaction they know how to make you feel important, and this is a plus I always look for, how as guests we are welcomed and cared of! The rooms are simply luxurius (and there is even an ironing board for a last minute need ...). Shall I have the pleasure to go to Abu Dhabi soon, no doubt I shall return to this hotel! I thus highly recommend it to everyone ... Besides, for those who might be interested: the Ferrari circuit is at a walking distance! XXX

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, The Management at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write this very wonderful review of Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. We Hope you had a successful conference.

Recognition from our valued guests is music to our ears. We are pleased to see that you gave us top scores on value, rooms, location, and cleanliness, service & sleep quality and are glad that you have enjoyed our products and services. We are continuously upgrading our facilities and services to meet our guests’ expectations. We will share your valuable comments with our colleagues and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I just got back from the Crown Plaza at Yas Island. I came to the Plaza to see the last F1 race of the season. The hotel is very close to the Yas Marina Circuit. The circuit is literally across the road and depending on where you are seated can take 5-15 miinutes walking or a few minutes by taxi. The hotel is a good 30 min drive from central Abu Dhabi which i didn't realise.
I had a suite and it was perfectly functional. The room lacked any warmth or charm. I couldn't understand why the suite had a kitchen sink in the lounge side of the suite. The room was large and sparcely laid out. There isn't much else to add.
The Ferrari team were in residence when i was there and the security was high. The hotel does a resonable breakfast buffet and i tried one of the buffet restaurants in teh evening. Again perfectly adequate. The service is quite bad as there are an awful lot of new staff from south east asia who tend not to understand english that well and i had to ask a few times for my order. Occassionally they just wouldn't come back to you.
As mentioned i was there for the race so didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. The hotel lacks charm and any warmth.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. We appreciate all feedback we recieve from our guests and are disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. However, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

The Formula 1 weekend has just finished and I had decided to visit YAS Island for a 3 day stay. After two nights I have found out that YAS is great if you're visiting the F1 circuit, Ferrari World or a concert at the YAS Arena, but not so much for visiting anything else... On top of that the circuit is closed for the public at the moment because all the teams are testing the new Pirelli tires for the new season...

Having said that: the hotel itself is wonderful! It has a great pool area and a squash court. The hotel doesn't have a SPA, but nearby hotels (Radisson Blu and Rotana, both a 2 minute walk away) have good SPAs. The hotel does have a salon, but I haven't and won't be using this facility.

Check-in: as I checked in during a holiday (Eid al Adha) the hotel was fully packed and that showed at the check-in desk. The elite desk had been transformed into a check-out desk and therefore there was no desk for gold- and platinum members. After quite a long wait, the rest of the check-in process went smooth and was dealt with in a matter of minutes. The check-in agent was friendly and efficient and asked if any help was needed with any luggage.

Rooms: being a platinum Priority Club member and despite the fact that the hotel was fully booked, my room was upgraded from a superior to a club room that included lounge access which was a pleasant and welcome surprise (room upgrades are usually only given based on availability).

The rooms are quite new have a balcony with a small seating area. The size of the rooms were decent and the bedding was excellent. Upon arrival a complementary fruit basket was delivered to the room with some chocolate dates on the side. Internet is free throughout the hotel and you can connect by WiFi.

On this trip I get the feeling that Crowne Plaza is taking better care of Priority Club elite members than its more luxurious sister hotel Intercontinental...

The bathroom is stylish and has a bath tub /shower combination; the bath tub does get very slippery and the positioning of the shower head makes for an inconvenient shower as I was constantly struggling not to slip... Maybe a anti slip mat would be a simple solution to the problem...

Furthermore there is a squash court in the hotel, and as I was traveling by myself and did not have a squash partner, one of the staff offered to play a game with me... Lost with 2 games to 0, but had a great work out! ;-) Fortunately there were some other guests who were willing to play and gave me an opportunity to win a few games... :-)

Breakfast was included due to the upgrade and could be taken in either the club lounge or the restaurant downstairs. Yesterday I had my breakfast in the lounge, I might just check breakfast in the lounge today. Breakfast in the restaurant was average to good with a decent selection of breads, omelets to order and the usual scrambled eggs, sausages and (beef /veal) bacon. There was also a selection of waffles, pancakes and french toast and a selection of healthy options.

The lounge is a mainly 'serviced lounge' which means that drinks were served; there was no fridge with soft drinks or juice dispensers. "Afternoon tea" had a selection of croissants, danish pastries and donuts and some fruits and nuts while the evening snacks were a selection of chicken nuggets, fish fingers, Arabic beef snacks, and more which were all very tasty. The lounge attendant was most helpful and very attentive. The lounge closes at 10pm but there's no alcohol and /or food after 8pm.

Restaurants: there's nothing in the area other than other hotels and the racing track, Ferrari World and the Yas Arena, so be prepared to either travel a long way into town or to eat in one of the hotel's restaurants. I had dinner in Barouk, which serves Arabic style food. A mixed grill + fries + 1 small bottle of water puts the bill to 120AED. Quality of the food was excellent and the service in the restaurants was average to okay. I traveled into town for today's dinner and might just eat indoors tomorrow; there's plenty of choice if you're prepared to pay the price (in comparison: a meal at a local restaurant costs 120AED for 3 persons!)...

Despite the crowds I feel that all staff in general are attentive and courteous and although it does take a while for requests to be responded to (it took 30+ minutes to get something simple delivered to the room; not room service) they do cope well with a full house.

If you need to be on YAS Island then this hotel is highly recommended otherwise check out the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi (Hamdan Street) or the Intercontinental near the Emirates Palace!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We will be sure to pass your comments onto our team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Firstly let me say that I only stayed in the hotel for one night and day. It’s a nice place clean, friendly, not too big. The pool area is super although I think there are too few sun beds if the hotel was busy, which it was certainly not when I was there. The issue I have is really with Yas Island rather than the hotel, its in the middle of nowhere, it seems that it was built to service the F1 race track nearby, other than that I saw a nice links style golf course which would be good, but that’s it, just 5 or 6 hotels, a race track and a golf course.
But as I said the hotel is good.
Handy for a lay over from the airport which is 10 mins away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fearmór
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valued comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We arrived here on a short break from Dubai. relatively a small property however the first impression was very high. namely, from the valet parking staff,check-in desk staff to the housekeeping staff within the 1st hours of our stay has been welcoming and friendly.

Rooms are of average size and very clean,given the dusty summer time of the year, we did not fine any trace of dust even on the balcony.

Amenities found in the room are of very good quality, and for the first time I experienced "2 mini solutions for better sleep" in bed, instead of standard chocolates which was a very nice touch.

Yas island crown plaza houses the longest bar-"Stills" in Abu dhabi, there were approximately 7 staff on duty at the time we stepped in and the bar was not that crowded,however we felt staff were running about the place without really being attentive to the guests. both the bar snacks we ordered were not available from the menu, and that to was revealed to us when we finally inquired what the delay was all about. very friendly staff member politely apologized and suggested other options.

"Jing Asia" restaurant was spacious, too bright and definitely too cold in temperature! we were explained temperature could not be controlled as it was the lowest level available. Selection of food were average and I wonder if it lived upto its promise of being an Asian restaurant, as I found a rather mix choice of continental/Arabic food.

There were obvious shortfalls in service, however what made us overlook those and enjoy the stay in this hotel was the helpfulness and mostly friendliness of the staff....after all who can get everything right at all times?,...its the attitude of service provider that matters (At least for me!).....and that's exactly why I leave this hotel in just under 2 hours with happy memories. Thank you Crown Plaza-Yas Island!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviatorDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valued feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our sleep advantage products. We have passed all of your much appreciated comments onto our team and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Niamh keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.1 mi away
Centro Yas Island Abu Dhabi by Rotana
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yas Island Rotana
Yas Island Rotana
#49 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#1 of 7 in Yas Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island

Property: Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
Address: Yas Island Yas Leisure Dr, Abu Dhabi 41880, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#39 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuse business with leisure at the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island hotel, located in the UAE's electrifying sports and entertainment hub.Leave your car with our complimentary valet and enter the vibrant Lobby at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island, with its deep blue, turquoise and gold design. Relax in the lavish spherical booths hanging from the high ceiling. A vista of verdant mangroves stretches out from our 24-hour Lobby lounge, or you can head to your room or Suite for a soothing rest in our luxury bedding.Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island is next to Yas Links golf course and minutes' walk to both Yas Marina Circuit, home of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, and Ferrari World Abu Dhabi theme park. You're 10 minutes' drive from Abu Dhabi International Airport, while our complimentary shuttle wings you to city-centre souks and shopping malls in 20 minutes.With 10 meeting rooms and a wealth of dining options, our hotel is primed for business and banquets. The Kids' Club will entertain the children while you energise in our Fitness Centre or squash court. Swim up to Sundowner bar for a cocktail in our pool as the sun sinks into the Gulf.Your Concierge can book tickets for Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre's year-round events calendar. Join us for gourmet dining during the Grand Prix and be sure to treat Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island as your second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing