We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice comfortable hotel but nothing in Yas Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
Ranked #42 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable hotel but nothing in Yas Island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed 5 nights here on business. The hotel is very nice with plenty of luxury. Rooms are modern, bed is excellent and the swimming pool is great. Staff are all very helpful. However there is nothing in Yas Island except a few hotels, the F1 track, IKEA and Ferrari World (avoid) so unless you are there for the F1 race in Nov then you are a 25 minute taxi into Abu Dhabi for entertainment.

Rates are reasonable at 505 AED a night. Room service food was poor and way over priced - same applies to the hotel bar. Head to the Y-Bar in the Rotana Hotel across the street for something to do in the evenings as a decent atmosphere in there. Great on a Thursday night.

Decent hotel but only stay here if Yas Island location is suitable for your trip. Research it first.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djorkaeff1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valued review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, but would be very interested to hear more about your experience with our Room Service and Bar as we constantly strive to provide the very best service to every guest. Please do email me with any comments or issues you have and I will share them with the team here.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    483
    119
    32
    35
See reviews for
334
414
58
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Nice hotel in Yas island. Room was good and clean, staff was friendly. Swimming pool was big and heated, health club had what you needed, plus a small sauna and steam bath. Can not say anything about the food and restaurants since never hate there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emigras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your valued review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities our hotel has to offer.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

i stayed at this hotel as part of a business trip. The hotel offers all the usual amenities for the business traveler: lounge, internet access (wireless and via LAN connection), etc. Internet connection is good.

The hotel offers two different restaurants. The first offers a buffet that changes from day to day and has an Asian fusion theme which should appeal to most nationalities and tastes. The second is a Lebanese restaurant offering traditional Lebanese cuisine while being entertained by belly dancing. In addition to the two above restaurants, there is a bar that has dancing and a DJ on the weekends.

The hotel itself is located on Yas Island which is where Formula One racetrack is. It is also very convenient to Ferrari World, a car based theme park. One side of the hotel affords guests with a water view while the other faces a cul-de-sac where the other hotels are.

For a little variety you can stroll next door or across the street to several other hotels that offer different restaurants and bars. There is also a links style golf course adjacent to the hotel. For those wanting to stay at the hotel, there is a pool with a pool side bar.

Downtown Abu Dhabi (The Corniche) is about a 45.00 Dhirams (approximately a USD 12.00) cab ride away on very modern roads.

Room Tip: Top two floor are reserved for club members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhK, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valued review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your business stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Niamh Keohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed in January of 2012 for 6 nights on the 8th floor, on the club level.The hotel is very good and everything's brand new. The staff is very polite and attentive, always eager to help. The wifi is good and it's a short distance from the airport (15 mins). Check in and check out was also very fast.

The minus points are:
1. hairdryer: the cable is way too short, so much so that in order to blow-dry your hair you need to sit on the bidet with your head down.
2. The restaurant on the ground floor is over priced, and although there is a big selection, the food isn't that good. That isn't really a problem though because on -1 floor, there is a Lebanese restaurant called Barouk that is by far the best Lebanese I've ever had, and the value is excellent.

Overall, it's definitely a hotel I would choose again.

Room Tip: Only deluxe rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fairysugarpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed here for five nights. My conference was halfway between YAS and downtown, but decided on the Crowne based on prior reviews. Very glad I did! A quick ride from the airport (taxis are very affordable in Abu), and right next to Ferrari World, the hotel is superb. Wonderful, attentive staff where nothing is too much trouble. I got a room on the 7th floor (Club Level) facing the Gulf, where sunrise every morning streamed in - just beautiful. Great, spacious room with little touches like free water and snacks. The Asian buffet was pricey at about $45 but very good. Convenient free shuttle to downtown as well. All in all, one of the best hotels I have stayed at!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed there at Oct 2011. The Hotel itself is luxurious with great facilities to it. But on a personal expereience, i was there to attend a concert at the Yas Arena. So besides attending a concert at the Arena (which is AWESOMEEEE btw),the only other reason to be there would be to experience the Ferrari World. Other than that i see no reason to stay at the Island as there's no restaurants,malls etc yet. So,if you decide you dont want to eat at the hotel for any reason you would pretty much have to get outisde of the Island and look for something in the city. Sorry for that introduction but had to bring that up to notice :)
Back to the hotel,its a very good hotel,4 stars,the beds are very very comfortable with some oils next to it,to help you relax and have a goodnight sleep. Furthermore,its quiet,clean,and the breakfast buffet was very good with a very wide range,everything is almost there ! So,to conclude if you're there for any of the reason(s) i mentioned above,its a nice place to stay.

My only negative feedback would be that upon arrival to the hotel,we were greeted by the receptionist and informed that we have to pay a deposit of 300AED per night.,which is so ridiculous,but we solved the issue and got ourselves out of paying this amount,and the receptionist was understanding. They basically just want to know that you have enough money incase you used the mini bar. Another thing the WiFi in the rooms is poor (signal is very weak) .

That's it,hope you find this review useful :))

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank --Solid_v_Snake--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We knew that Crown Plaza was not a five star hotel thus we didn't have too high expectations, but still got dissapointed at different occasions. After all, it is four stars!

The first room was dirty and somebody had smoked in it. I know this is not the fault of the hotel, but when you arrive with a baby you certainly don't want a room in this stage. It had only been half cleaned. Toilet was dirty, floor was dirty - it was just disgusting. The hotel decided to move us to Club Level, but didn't really see the difference. Yes, we were at the club level floor, but the room was the same and we were not allowed in the Club Level lounge. It took like for ever to move us and we had a very tired daughter in the end, who just needed to sleep. It kind of ruined our first day at the hotel!

This said, the room was fine, small, but fine. Bathroom nice as well, and we liked the big window :)

The pool was nice as well, but what's with the sun beds? It was impossible to get a sun bed. People went there early to put their towels and then they stayed away most of the day blocking several beds. Also the personnel, did not move dirty towels from the beds, blocking even further beds. This is just not okay. Our daughter enjoyed the baby pool, but not the ongoing water feature taking up half of the pool. This is maybe okay for the older children, but not all small children enjoy this!

We had dinner at Stills both nights and it was good, but expensive. We ended up paying 25 dhs for a glass of milk for our daughter. What a rip off! Can't recommend the mussels at Stills. They didn't taste of much!

The break fast buffet was excellent the first morning. The second morning, where it was no longer weekend it was terrible. All the nice things from the day before were no longer available, it was really really lousy. I tried ordering a decaf latte three times and got coffee in many funny ways! In the end I found out all the staff was new and they had no idea what decaf was. This happens, but it's not okay that all new staff work together at the same time! They so needed more education.

On our last day we usually like to stick around the pool area and enjoy it, but this time we decided to leave early. No sun beds any ways!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maikench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.1 mi away
Centro Yas Island Abu Dhabi by Rotana
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yas Island Rotana
Yas Island Rotana
#51 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#4 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island

Property: Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
Address: Yas Island Yas Leisure Dr, Abu Dhabi 41880, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#35 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#35 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#39 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuse business with leisure at the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island hotel, located in the UAE's electrifying sports and entertainment hub.Leave your car with our complimentary valet and enter the vibrant Lobby at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island, with its deep blue, turquoise and gold design. Relax in the lavish spherical booths hanging from the high ceiling. A vista of verdant mangroves stretches out from our 24-hour Lobby lounge, or you can head to your room or Suite for a soothing rest in our luxury bedding.Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island is next to Yas Links golf course and minutes' walk to both Yas Marina Circuit, home of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, and Ferrari World Abu Dhabi theme park. You're 10 minutes' drive from Abu Dhabi International Airport, while our complimentary shuttle wings you to city-centre souks and shopping malls in 20 minutes.With 10 meeting rooms and a wealth of dining options, our hotel is primed for business and banquets. The Kids' Club will entertain the children while you energise in our Fitness Centre or squash court. Swim up to Sundowner bar for a cocktail in our pool as the sun sinks into the Gulf.Your Concierge can book tickets for Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre's year-round events calendar. Join us for gourmet dining during the Grand Prix and be sure to treat Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Yas Island as your second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing