We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

What a lovely property to stay in! Me and my mum stayed for 3 nights for a relaxing break. It's not just the beautiful property that brings me to the fairmont, it's there attentive hard working team. I Could not fault my stay at all. Hotel rooms excellent, good choice of restaurants. We spent days by the pool and Maria looked after us every day in the sweltering heat, always smiling!! Great work fairmont Abu Dhabi I will be back again soon!

I wish they would open spa one day, it would be nice to have a massages available at the property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,455)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,352 - 1,358 of 2,455 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

the check-in process was chaotic and we had to wait for 2 hrs to have the room ready. the staff didn't care nor apologized nor kept us informed.
Breakfast buffet choicewas for a 5star hotel very poor, by 10am half empty and not re-filled until staff cleaned it up by 10.30am. The pool was overcrowded and kids where accepted into the pool bar serving alcohol.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Isabel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Isabel P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do appreciate your comments and have shared your concerns with the relevant departments. We are sorry to know that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. Would you please be able to get in touch with us directly by emailing babalbahr@fairmont.com so that we can learn more about your stay and can ensure that your next stay with us is seamless?

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

First off, it's worth saying we had a great 10 day holiday at the Fairmont and enjoyed the facilities it had to offer. However, there are some good and bad points to this hotel, which I'll detail below:

1) WIFI - contrary to what other people say, this IS free, but you have to sign up to the Presidents Club (free) to get onto it. Sign up before you go, and you will get a membership number which you can then use to log on. That's all well and good, but outside of the lobby the connection is terrible. I got 1 or 2 bars of reception on my iPhone and Kindle in the room and around the pool which is incredibly frustrating when I have to keep track of work emails. Fairmont - sort this out, as you are way behind other hotels. The Shangri-La up the road has ultra fast free WIFI requiring no registration at all.

2) Kids - there are simply too many of them. Be very careful not to book over any sort of long weekends. During our stay, a religious holiday meant that the pool area was absolutely packed with people and children, very loud and we almost moved hotels. During the week though it's quiet, and not too bad on normal weekends from what we can see. We would not return simply because of the amount of children, attracted by the big pool I presume.

3) Pool bar - a great swim up bar, but gets packed with people in the afternoon which was off putting for us. One thing that we really disliked is that the Poolside restaurant rubbish bins are near the bar at the bottom end, which STINK during the day in the hot sun. I don't know how other people put up with it, but we couldn't sit at that end of the bar and eat food or drink with that smell. Disgusting. Staff mostly are good at the bar apart from a few truly miserable bar staff. You can eat at your loungers, which is great, but found that plates and bottles etc got left lying around for hours - not enough attention from the staff in my opinion.

4) Prices - nothing abnormal for UAE, but for reference you should expect to pay about £15 for a burger with chips, £7-8 per cocktail (most of which were well made) or £5 for a beer.

5) Restaurants - we found the quality of food in the Marco Pierre White restaurant to be excellent but be aware cheapest bottles of wine are £30. Frankies restaurant was ok, but pizza we had there was quite poor. Substitution of pork products with beef just doesn't work for chorizo and they could make some far better pizzas without trying to imitate pork.

6) Rooms - excellent, very nice rooms but be aware that the frosted style glass does not provide much privacy if you're having a shower or using the toilet. You can clearly hear everything that is going on in the toilet from anywhere else in the room - so not a good place to stay if you haven't been with your partner very long!!

7) Shuttle boat - runs from a pier at the hotel to the Souk (restaurants / small mall), Shangri-La, Ritz Carlton every 20 minutes from 6pm to midnight. Excellent service and a great way to get around which we used a lot. Would recommend.

8) Taxi - FYI the fare is between 40-50 Dhs from the airport to the hotel. It costs the same to get to the main business district area of Abu Dhabi and we went to the Emirates Palace, Etihad towers etc.

9) Breakfast - very good selection but incredibly busy if you don't get there very early.

10) Spa - there isn't one.

11) Beach - do not choose this hotel for the beach/sea! Green water which we didn't swim in once. There is also a very ugly and unknown floating 'log' (I really can't describe what it is!) in the middle of the water which is very offputting. It's just not a place I would go in the sea.

12) Ladies nights - a good tip: Ladies nights are in the Ritz Carlton on Tuesday (wear RED if you are a lady for free drinks), Pearls & Caviar @ the Shangri-La on Weds and Fairmont on Thursday.

Overall the hotel is definitely a modern and quite well equipped place, but based on the number of kids we would look for somewhere else next time as a couple. However, I would say that we would certainly NOT choose the Shangri-La (which we had considered before coming) as the pool is so small there just wouldn't be enough room. The Fairmont pool is EXCELLENT and extremely large.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lovelyjubbly44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear lovelyjubbly44,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We appreciate all your comments and have shared your review with our relevant departments.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming once again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I went to Fairmont with my family to spend easter holidays. we started off with a smooth fast check-in and really happy welcoming. the rooms were big, clean and had pretty amazing views over the Grand Mosque.
Room service had great food to be honest, and breakfast had a good wide selection. we tried the arabic restaurant for lunch which was not really satisfying to be honest! but diner in the Italian outlet was amazing.
they have an incredible brunch experience on Friday where all the restaurants open up to each other and all! a must try!
overall great experience, great hotel, good staff and world class service.

Room Tip: get a sea view to enjoy beautiful views!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding.....check in was excellent and we arrived at 8am but we had an extremely helpful receptionist who arranged for us to get our room at that time after a long journey....room was lovely and spacious and so quiet so good insulation.....super comfy bed and quality linen and housekeeping excellent......our only annoyance was on Friday when the place was inundated with day visitors and it was impossible to get a lounger on the beach,,,,the beach staff were run off their feet.....and I think the breakfast restaurant is too small for the hotel.....3 out of 5 days we had to wait on a table......food was first class and excellent choice.....it was my husbands birthday and I had not said anything but we were surprised to find a chocolate birthday cake in our room...the beach is an inlet or water which is not tidal and as such looks dirty and possibly polluted with dead fish....but the pool is fabulous although super busy......pool bar needs to be bigger......laundry was pretty poor...my husbands shirts came back with double creases in the sleeves and a big mess........so dont use the laundry......be prepared to dig deep if you use the hotel hair stylist...90.00 UK pounds for a hair up that took 20 mins with no wash......all things considered its a lovely hotel but back to the Shangri la for us next time.....

Room Tip: Ask for Mosque view......
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosiePerth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Rosie506Dundee,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do appreciate your comments and have shared your concerns with the relevant departments. We are sorry to know that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. Would you please be able to get in touch with us directly by emailing babalbahr@fairmont.com so that we can learn more about your stay and can ensure that your next stay with us is seamless?

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were looking for a hotel with private beach and
close to the Frrari World and the Grand Mosque
All rooms were spacious with excellent view to the Grande Mosque
The bathroom design was outstanding somethingyou would not
build in your home if you have no regular servicing.
We were afraid a little bit that the sandy beach is not on the
see but on a river like channel but that was perfect with a poll bar
we have enjoyed very much. The in house restaurants were also
fine we have enjoyed most the Lebanese and Italian restaurant
while the steak house had the best food and the wosrt service level
Altogether a nice experience in a busy hotel where everything is big
and everything is working. Everything was clean with no complaint.
The design was also nice a comfort to enjoy but nothing overexciting
For the Wifi a fee was charged which was unusal for me as European

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are beachfront with mosque view maybe upper levels have more sight
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annebrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went for one night only but compared to my previous stay in Abu Dhabi at the Jumeirah Etihad towers, the Fairmont is a good 4 star hotel.
A great 5 stars hotel has it all, beach/pool/food/services etc...

Check-In: Started fine , one room ready out of 2, was promised to be sent the keys of the second room after 5min, i got nothing after half an hour so i went down myself to pick them up. ( only 1 person at the desk at 3pm... too few)

Beach/pool: Free drinking poor which is very rare. Plenty of places around the pool and beach. Pool was fine with a bar. Big Problem was the beach/sea, it was very dirty with cans, plastic glasses with cigarettes ashes etc.. i couldn't use this dirty beach at all. I wouldn't want to see kids in this dirty sea...

CuiScene restaurant: Had Diner there, had a Filipina waitress who turned out to be a liar and offered bad service. I asked for local water, to which she replied that they only have one type of water ( the expensive foreign one), i was surprised but said ok. A bit later to my surprise i saw all the people with Fairmont water. How can you be a 5 star hotel and have such a bad waitress who is a liar? It is know that hotels try to sell only imported water but this attitude is a disgrace.

The breakfast was like a full canteen, too many people in a small restaurant, maybe 4 waters who never bother asking you if you want a hot drink of something. Service terrible again.
A lot of food choices but quality is average.

Internet: It was free and reliable

Check-Out: Requested 2h extra and got them, although again after asking the receptionist never called me back and had to call 4 times to get the answer.

There are much better five stars in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Jad G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do appreciate your comments and have shared your concerns with the relevant departments. We are sorry to know that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. Would you please be able to get in touch with us directly by emailing babalbahr@fairmont.com so that we can learn more about your stay and can ensure that your next stay with us is seamless?

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.7 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,390 reviews
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,223 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $122 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing