We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #22 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Fully recommend this hotel
The standards of this hotel exceeded our expectations. The friendliness and efficiency of the staff was exceptional. The location of the hotel was good but visitors should bear in mind that Abu Dhabi is a very large city in area

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Rex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 2,755 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just home after a week at The Fairmont with my husband. We had a wonderful stay and this was down to the hard work of the staff. All staff have constant smiles and just want to make your stay perfect.
The entrance and reception are stunning, we had a easy check in and went to our room. The room was large with everything you could need. We didn't have a mosque view, but even the front was pretty at night when all lit up.
We had the buffet breakfast and buffet evening meal which was always a good standard - great runny yolks on the poached eggs. We went to Frankies on the last night, great meal and made to feel very special by the manager Coco
The pool area was clean and pretty, plenty of beds and umbrellas. The pool guys work hard at getting you in the right place with a ice bucket and water.
The beach area is the only area that looks a little tired and could do with a facelift
A wonderful holiday and would love to return

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Tracey H,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review.It was a great pleasure to share your compliments to our entire team especially to Coco who made your holiday a memorable one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is an outstanding hotel. Located about half an hours drive from the Corniche it isn't bang in the middle of Abu Dhabi. But as most of the hotels are spread out, this isn't a problem, especially as taxis are so cheap. We regularly traveled into the city and the average cost was 40 AED (about £6). The travel time is about 20 to 25 minutes, so you can see that taxi's are not expensive.

We arrived on an early mornign flight and I had requested an early check in. A room was being prepared when we arrived at 8:45am so we had breakfast whilst we waited. We had a room with breakfast included and this is a must, it is exceptional. A huge and varied choice of international buffet food. The standard of food was very high. You can sit inside or outside and the service was fantastic every day.

Once we checked in our room had views of the creek and the Grand Mosque. The room was huge, with an enormous bed, separate sofa, desk, HD Television and a walk in shower room with bath. Everything was spotless. The hotel is modern in design and very contemporary. It has 2 celebrity chef restaurants (we ate in Frankies, see separate review), a Lebanese restaurant, bar/nightclub (busy on Thursday for Ladies night where it is free drinks for the women), chocolate factory and tea room and it's own buffet restaurant with al a carte option. We ate out most nights but the standard of the food we ordered around the pool (which came from the buffet restaurant) was fantastic every day.

The pool is large with a swim up bar service half price cocktails between 4pm and 6pm daily. The beach is also large with plenty of sunloungers. This was perfect for us as we were after a relaxing week in the sun. If you're looking for a resort type holiday, this is the hotel for you. There was a nice atmosphere, with people relaxing and enjoying the pool/beach. Service at the pool was brilliant, complimentary water when you arrived, ice buckets and your towels laid out for you. Nothing is too much trouble. We even had our lunch served to us on the beach on one of the days.

Whilst visiting it was my wife's birthday and the staff delivered a complimentary chocolate birthday cake! A nice touch.

The one thing that make the Fairmont really stand out is the service. Every member of staff is polite and friendly, nothing is too much trouble and one of the concierge's, Daryl, is a truly outstanding member of staff. He knew everything and arranged trips for us and helped with advice whenever we needed anything. He deserves special praise!

The hotel does not have free WIFI, which seems to be the norm in Abu Dhabi (and in today's day and age I think this is a shame as it is 100AED (about £15) per day. However, when I enquired at the Concierge about WIFI, I registered as a Fairmont President's Club member and this gave me complimentary access around the hotel. There are conditions to join (not financial) but it is worth doing if you're eligible. I found the WIFI to be consistent and could even pick it up on the beach!

We've been lucky in the last couple of years to have stayed at some amazing hotels, but the Fairmont is the best we have stayed in. I cannot believe this hotel has not won a Tripadvisor service award yet and I expect this to change this year as we have never experienced service of this standard before.

This is an outstanding hotel, stunning location and views of the Grand Mosque, beautiful pool area with a relaxed atmosphere, fantastic breakfast and poolside food and amazing service. If you are heading to Abu Dhabi, don't worry about location as taxis' are so cheap, stay at the Fairmont and experience a truly fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a view over the creek and the Grand Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear James T,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we were able to turn your moments into lasting memories. I will ensure that your kind compliments will be shared to our entire team epsecially to Daryl. It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again for another great experience in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed at the Fairmont Bal Al Bahr twice this month and enjoyed my stays. I was impressed with the large and comfortable rooms with all and more you could expect from a luxury hotel.

I slept well after a long overnight flight from South Africa and the view across to the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque was fantastic.

Locals enjoy the large pool area and bar and it was fun to interact with people.

The restaurant served a fantastic breakfast buffet, and the hotel coffee bar had excellent expresso.

The white sandy beach was inviting and there was always something to watch.

I attended a function at the hotel and the meeting rooms were inviting and large. Internet within the meeting facility did not work properly, but it was ok in my room.

Room Tip: The hotel is spread out a little. I enjoyed staying close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eTurboNews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Ilove this hotel but I don't like the prices for food in room service no wifi and no cloub for kids but every think was amazing .........................................................................

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Umzayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I love returning to this hotel. My Abu Dhabi home. It is an ideal location with a free transport service between the hotel and central Abu Dhabi. Don't be put off by the temporary construction sites of current development in the area. Eventually this will help enhance the surrounds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank GTatCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear GTatCC,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your loyalty and patronage as a valued guest of Fairmont Bab Al Bahr. It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again for another great stay in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have a great week in this hotel! Everything is super! The pool was super for kids and staff is very helpful and nice. The restaurands are very good, rooms are big end clean. We recomend this hotel to famillys.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank AlenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,126 reviews
4 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $129 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing