We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairmont living up to expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fairmont living up to expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This weekend my partner and I along with 5 friends stayed in the Gold rooms and suites for two nights. We have stayed in Fairmont Gold rooms elsewhere previously so our expectations were high and overall they were definitely met. Disappointingly our room wasn't ready when I checked in at 3.45pm but this wasn't the fault of the staff it was because the guest hadn’t yet checked out, it was ready before 4.30pm but I did notice that perhaps the housekeeping had been somewhat rushed since our friend's suite had a huge platter of fruit, chocolates and plenty water whereas I couldn't seem to locate the water so asked for this to be delivered. The staff on the gold reception desk were always very helpful and friendly as one would expect from a Fairmont hotel.

The Gold Suites are huge and tastefully decorated, it was a little odd that rather than a bathroom there is a wet room for the bath and shower, a separate room for the toilet and then the sinks are next to the bed, regardless it was still very nice with plenty of space to relax and lots of wardrobe space, the views from the suite were fantastic, definitely worth paying a little extra to be on the side of the hotel with views of the grand mosque, the only complaint with the room would really be the fact that we could never achieve total blackout as light came through the curtains but not too important.

The hotel overall is beautifully designed although on the 7th floor which is where the gold lounge is situated I found it unpleasant when walking to my friend’s room 817 that the corridor smelt of smoke then when I reached the lift there was an ashtray with 3 gentlemen stood around smoking, I found this surprising and think if a hotel must have a smoking area then it shouldn’t be in such a public place where non-smokers are subjected to second hand smoke inhalation, I thought this one small design flaw.

One complaint which is typical with service in the UAE was the slight lack of logical thinking with regards to the "privacy please" sign we placed on the door on two occasions, both times the concierge called the room phone and woke us up saying sorry they hadn't wanted to knock since they saw the sign - this was somewhat frustrating as common sense would dictate that a request for privacy would mean the desire to not be disturbed at all! I had a confusing incident also when a staff member came to fill up the mini-bar when I first arrived, I explained that I’d just checked in and hadn’t consumed anything yet then thanked him and closed the door, strangely the same gentleman then knocked on the door once more and said he needed to fill up the mini-bar, eventually he seemed to understand.
On Thursday we snacked on canapés in the gold lounge, I was disappointed to find that unlike other Fairmont Gold lounges they didn’t have Prosecco, we were offered a sparkling wine called Gosset but decided to stick to the wine which was ok. The canapés and cheese on offer in the lounge were delicious and they had a good selection of options at breakfast the following morning.

We lounged on the beach on Friday and had lunch at the pool bar, the sun loungers didn’t have any padding so weren’t too comfortable but the pool and beach area are very aesthetically pleasing and well maintained and water and ice are free-flowing which is a nice touch. The staff at the pool bar appeared to be having some troubles with the fridges and kept serving warm beer and trying to offer glasses with ice, my partner suggested they put a couple more cans in to ice to cool down for later in the day but this request seemed to be ignored as time after time he was given warm beer which he found frustrating, other than this the service was ok and the food was nice and reasonably priced.

We had dinner at Frankies on Friday evening and sat in the private dining room as there were 9 of us in total, the waiting staff coped well with all of our needs and the food was delicious, wine and cocktails were also fantastic, especially the Expresso Martini.

Upon checkout it took us 3 requests for someone to collect our luggage but perhaps they were very busy, checkout was very straightforward and problem free, we took the opportunity on our last day to sample the afternoon tea where we enjoyed a platter of sandwiches and scones – lovely.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieannsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear katieannsenior,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post this review. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and we are glad that you had a wonderful stay. We appreciate all your comments and have also shared your feedback to the relevant departments.

Once again, thank you for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and we look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,568
    433
    130
    48
    44
See reviews for
578
819
86
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
741 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stunning but not for leisure or beach holiday. If you have business in this area or an early morning flight it's good but Traders next door is cheaper.
Huge rooms with floor to ceiling windows but a drab view save the Mosque.
Whoever designed the bathroom needs electrical stimulation.
Fantastic Ugandan staff, so friendly, service orientated & speak the Queen's English.
Posh restaurants & a good Brunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Hooray H,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. We value all of your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was a gift from our daughter and son in law. The hotel has a very impressive entry and the lobby is amazing. Our room was massive, it had a king size bed with rose petals in the shape of a heart and a rose in its center. There was a couch, television, study table and the bathroom and toilet were separate from the main sleeping area. There were robes, slippers, a mini bar, shower and big bath tub. All soap, shampoos, lotions, toothbrush and lovely little extras are available for your comfort. The room has floor to ceiling windows and a beautiful view of the Mosque. There is a private beach and a swim up pool bar which is open till 6. The gardens are manicured and there are several fountains around. Grab a room on a higher floor for a better view and get one that overlooks the Mosque. All in all a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a view of the Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeeeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is generally excellent.
Firstly the room was well-sized, comfortable and impeccably kept and cleaned every day.
As for facilities, the hotel boasts several of the best restaurants in the city, while the Chocolate Gallery cafe is amazing - try the afternoon tea which is particularly reasonably priced too. The breakfast buffet was well presented and options numerous every day. The swimming pool is also a good size, and the gym well equipped.
The staff were all friendly and always helpful and willing to go out of their way for you.

If you are looking for something in the centre of the city mind, it's probably not the hotel for you - travel to the centre takes at best 25-30 minutes, and perhaps more than an hour in traffic which is not at all uncommon in the city; taxis are cheap and reliable nonetheless. Otherwise, for relaxation outside of the city, visiting the mosque and indeed shopping and enjoying eating out at the restaurants in the Souk next door, the Fairmont is a great choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water and looking out over the mosque are best if any are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Ciaran1982,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this positive review and recommendation. It was indeed a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Your compliments regarding our staff, restaurants and Health Club are greatly appreciated.

Our entire Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I highly recommend that the reservation ensure a back side room on an upper floor. The upgrade to have a view of the Shk Zayed Grand Mosque is well worth it. An amazing room, great service and a beautiful view.

Room Tip: I highly recommend that you ask for a back side room overlooking the water channel and the Shk Zayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Wonderful room,lobby ,restaurant and staff...the rooms facing the beach have a great view of the beautiful sheikh zayed mosque..the pool and the beach were extremely beautiful!..they have splash pad for kids with 2 kids pool for different ages...have very tasty and delicious food..they provide inroom free mashed meals for infants/babies!...I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JinaneSayad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear JinaneSayad,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your great experience at our hotel. I will ensure that all of your compliments will be conveyed to our entire team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Fairmont Bab Al Bahr is a very nice hotel. They had a very small issue checking me in and as a result they upgraded me to their "Gold" level rooms, a very nice upgrade. This is a 5 star spot in almost all regards. I've stayed at other properties around the world that might be more opulent or have a more 5 star location, but there is nothing to complain about at this property. The staff could not have been nicer. If I had to say something that resembled a criticism, it would be that the costs of food at this place was pretty out of sight. But hey, it always is at this level of property. The view from my room of the Sheik Zayed Grand Mosque was very nice. the pool and grounds are beautiful and again, the service is just outstanding. Highly recommended..

Room Tip: you certainly want a room that faces the water and the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handlebarmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear handlebarmike,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and for the kind compliments especially regarding our staff. We value all your comments and I have shared them with our entire team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.1 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
11.2 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
9.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: Fairmont Bab al Bahr Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Rd, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing