We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to leave if you don't want too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #25 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the moment you arrive at this hotel you know you are staying at a classy Hotel! The entrance is beautiful and the attentive staff are waiting on hand to assist you in whatever you need! The location of this hotel is a little out of town but if you are just into chilling by the pool, dining on some quality food and enjoying a nice vista then this hotel will serve you well! The staff were so helpful at this hotel from the guys down at the pool setting my wife up with shade and the concierge going out of his way to get me hooked up to the wifi when my phone was playing up! We chose to have breakfast in our room overlooking the temple across the harbour and the view was awesome. The rooms are luxury and included a huge bath and rainforest style shower. But most impressive at this hotel are the bar and dining areas along with the pool and leisure facilities. I had the pleasure of working out in the gym with a personal trainer and the equipment was equivlant to working out in my gym back home! The restaurants are varied and really provide everything you need in one place. The pool is pretty cool with abundant space to chill out and enjoy the heat of the desert! If you want a couple of nights or even only one when travelling to Europe then this hotel will serve your needs on a ridiculously cheap budget! We had an awesome room for the price of a dodgy hotel in Sydney. Enjoy

Room Tip: Utilize one of the many quality restaurants if you get a chance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,631 - 1,637 of 2,574 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was our first time in Abu Dhabi and we are already missing it. The Fairmont Hotel was a great choice. We got a room with a perfect with to the Mosque. Thanks to the recepton ! A really modern hotel with a familiar touch. The pool is amazing, the food is delicious and the employees are perfect. Big thanks to Karen and Daryl, the best concierges ever. No matter what questions we had, they had the answer. No reason to book another hotel in Abu Dhabi.

Fairmont Bal Bahr rules.

Room Tip: Book Sea View, the grande Mosque is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eisik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear eisik,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share this overwhelming review. It was pleasure to share your positive feedback to the entire team especially to our brand ambassadors Karen and Daryl .

Once again, thank you for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and we are all looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Sep 11, 2013 6871danjewl
This hotel was amazing we have stayed in so many this one in Abu Dubai is just perfect. We stayed there 3 nights the rooms were clean and overwhelming the staff were on hand and feet to help with whatever we needed, they organised tours, taxi's, transfers no matter what was needed they were there to help. They have a few restaurants we ate at a few the Italian was great there pasta's and pizza's we amazing again the service was excellent. We had the breakfast included in our stay I have to say they have so much variety. I would recommend this hotel highly.
We are from Australia.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6871danjewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear 6871danjewl,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this great review and recommendation. It is my pleasure to pass your compliments to our entire team that made your recent stay with us a memorable one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and can't fault the hotel or service. Dined in frankies on our first night, found the food there to be a little heavy (veal chop) however very attentive service. The In-room dining was very good and both times the waiter was well informed and had impeccable timing. Overall the Hotel is very much at the luxury end and offers fabulous service. Check in and out was very efficienct, personal and importantly fast. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatFood-DrinkWIne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've been to the Fairmont for brunch and drinks and a main meal in the restaurant. Marco Perrier White. Not sure I can put into words what this place is like....... The brunch is amazing to see, the detail to each item of food, the chef's are so skilled and patience. The food doesn't just look good but taste is far better than what your eyes can see. Go hungry and eat everything!!! the brunch has free flow wine etc... so enjoy, relax and take it all in.
The actual hotel is clean and has a great view, please sit outside in the evening at least. Breath the warm air, while drinking a cocktail or two. candy floss cocktails try it, drink / eat one of them and you'll want other. Service is great and your glass will never be empty at brunch. Can not love it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear rachel j,

On behalf of the entire Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this positive review. Your compliments are greatly appreciated especially regarding our Friday Brunch. We are delighted that you had a great dining experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed twice at the Fairmont, both occasions for a rest and for 10 nights, stayed in a Gold room each time and thought the service was some of the best we have ever had in any hotel, the staff are a credit to the Fairmont and Abu Dhabi, the gold lounge really is a bit of self indulgence that was well worth it for the peace and quiet it offered, dedicated staff who could not do enough for us.



The hotel is a little out of the city but to be honest we were there for a rest and a bit of peace and quiet and the trip in by taxi was cheap quick and a change of an evening, went out for dinner a few times which was nice.

The pool area was busy on a Friday with it being the weekend and many local beach club members turning up, not a problem just get down earlier and bag yourself a bed!

Food choice was poor at the poolside for lunch to be honest, good but basic choice.

Rooms spacious modern and creek view were good and well looked after with twice a day service to keep the room tip top.

I have no complaints about this hotel and look forward to staying there again sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnapperWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear GourmetTaff,

Thank very much for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay at Fairmont Gold and our entire team was able to turn your moments into lasting memories. Your Poolside feedback is also greatly appreciated and I have shared it with the relevant departments.

Once again, thank you for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and we are all looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Really cool interior, super modern and quite funky. Front desk staff were great.

Room was pretty big (king room) and we had a spectacular view of the canal / mosque with huge windows. TV was too small and too far from the bed which made it difficult to read the on-screen menu. Extremely comfortable bed and a good night's sleep. Shame there was a 'brew-fest' going on in the tent outside which was blasting music until 1am. I had to complain twice and was informed that several other guests had also complained.

Lovely big bath & shower room but slippery granite floor (they should have either used non-slip tiles or provide a bath mat of some sort).

Outside, the pool was very busy (Friday afternoon). The general outdoor area is huge and they should utilise it better. It seemed that all the guests were crammed into one small area, i.e. the pool and beach just next to it. Pool was FULL of kids. Would be nice to have a separate 'adults only' pool further along the beach at the other end of the hotel.

Swim-up pool bar was very good (limited drinks at happy hr 4-6pm) but the food was distinctly average and overpriced. Nacho's - yuck, plastic fake cheese. For 50+ dhs you'd at least expect proper cheddar cheese. Pepperoni pizza - the meat slightly undercooked so it tasted like dog-meat.

We ate at Frankie's in the evening. They got our order wrong a few times (we were in a group of 10) however they knocked their meals off the bill total. Food was 'good', not excellent. My lamb was half meat, half fat and I expected better from a restaurant of this calibre. Chocolate cake made up for my earlier disappointment though - amazing.

Breakfast - there seemed to be a lot of choice but a very strange mix... eg they have 'maple baked beans' which had a strange taste and not what you'd expect as part of a full English. The beans were next to Kebbeh and other hot arabic food. There's no pork served at all so the 'bacon' was some floppy beef ham that looked unsavoury. Our whole group ended up selected a random mix of food that didn't gel well together.

Generally the hotel is excellent so although it looks like I'm complaining about a few things, I'd still return there.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the water and mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Louise92,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post this review. We are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. We value all your comments and I have shared them to the relevant departments. On your next visit, my Executive Assistant would be delighted to assist you with the hotel arrangements and ensure that your next stay with us is seamless. Please feel free to contact her directly by emailing therese.alvano@fairmont.com

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,045 reviews
8.1 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,209 reviews
8.7 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#27 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $153 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing