We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent a great 5 days at the Fairmont in June while attending a conference. The hotel was fantastic, great views of the Grand Mosque. Really good pool with a great swim-up bar! the man made lock is a little strange to swim in and is extremely warm - almost hot actually. the bar prices are a little on the steep side but I guess this is the price you pay in a 5* hotel in the UAE. A place to visit and relax in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobDebenham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear BobbyDBexley_Kent,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. It brings us great pleasure to know that you had a great time during your conference at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,455)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,541 - 1,547 of 2,455 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent a week at the Fairmont for a bit of 'winter sun' and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is really sleek and modern with well appointed, spacious and comfortable rooms. We opted for one of the 'creek view' rooms which offered us a marvellous view of the hotel grounds, the creek and the Grand Mosque.

The service at the hotel was great and all of the staff very friendly and happy to help, assisting us with restaurant bookings outside of the hotel and advising on tourist attractions. On one occasion the concierge even managed to get us a table at a restaurant that had claimed to be fully booked. It's also great that the hotel operates a shuttle bus service towards the city, which we took advantage of a couple of times to get around.

We tried out most (if not all) of the restaurants at the hotel (as well as a few in the souk down the road - it was great that there was so much choice in the area) and enjoyed all of the meals we had - particular highlights at the Fairmont were some of the Lebanese flavours at the Cedar Lounge, some of the Italian dishes at Frankies, and I know my husband enjoyed his steak & chips at Marco Pierre White. We also enjoyed several cocktails in the outdoors lounge bar, and delicious coffees, teas and sweet treats at the Chocolate Gallery.

The pool/beach area was nicely maintained and generally there was enough space (and enough sun loungers) for everybody except on Friday, when it was super busy. It was only a shame that the jet skiiers were so noisy, making the beach a less relaxing place to chill out.

The fitness facilities were not bad - the gym was a fair size and had the usual range of machines. It got very hot in there when the sun was pouring in, but otherwise a good facility to have.

The only thing that let this hotel down for me was that it didn't have a spa. I would have expected a hotel of this level of modernity and luxury to have one and was really surprised when I realised I clearly hadn't done my homework properly before booking! It wasn't the end of the world because there was a spa at a nearby hotel we could use but it's just a shame there wasn't one in the building.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrufflesSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a good place to stay in Abu Dhabi for 1 or 2 nights, between the marina and the ferrari park and next to the Sheikh Zayed Mosque.
The room was large and clean with all the amenities. We stayed in the Gold section and felt it was worth the extra price for the lounge access (good selection for breakfast).

The staff was always helpful and gave us good tips to explore the city.
Nice pools and restaurants as well.

Room Tip: Gold section worth the price
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georges_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Georges_AS,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this positive review and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Fairmont Gold and our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent a really enjoyable week at this hotel in the winter; extremely comfortable room with a super view of the mosque, nice selection of restaurants (particularly recommend Frankie's), good facilities (pool and gym) and helpful and friendly staff all added up to a great stay - would gladly return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllerRetour2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Took the wife for a weekend away from the bustle of the city and since the hotel sits at the border of Abu Dhabi it was the best shot for someone booking a room during a bank holiday

Had a gold room booked with a mosque view (totally worth the extra $$$) ,the gold lounge was OK , nothing special compared to other places ive been (think Royal Fairmont gold Cairo)

tip:if booking on a bank holiday then book gold , saves you two hours of waiting time to check in , and if you add the breakfast and taxes this comes very close to a normal room especially if you account for the snacks available at the lounge that would probably save you a meal

Room Tip: if booking gold then take a room as far away as possible from the lounge since the lounge is not tha...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abood S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Abood S,

On behalf of the entire Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Team, we would like to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post this review. We are delighted that you had a great weekend getaway with your wife and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I do recommend this hotel for Abu Dhabi visitors. It has its own private beach with nice swimming pools as well. Very friendly staff who are will willing to serve you all the time.
Try their Fairmont gold rooms. You have your own floor with special reception.

Room Tip: Choose Creek view rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Aref A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Only stayed here for one night as a mini-break from Dubai. It's a nice hotel, well designed and has nice gardens and beach to look at. Our room was great, huge windows with a view of the mosque. They brought fresh fruit in the afternoon which was a nice touch. The pool area was a bit over-run by families, but the end with the bar wasn't too bad. The only thing I'd say is that they have tons of space, yet don't seem to use it - they should keep an area of the beach seperate for adults only who don't want to listen to screaming kids.
The restaurants were very pricey but otherwise good. Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lighter023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Lighter 023,

On behalf of the entire Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your one night stay with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I have shared your feedback to our relevant department .

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.7 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,390 reviews
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,222 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $122 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing