We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not tasty at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My first experience at the restaurant was x.mas dinner.the service was bad and food didn't have any taste at all.
Theh we went for lunch 3 days ago.same thing.
I think the problem is that the chef doesn't know Arabic or European cooking.sorry to say that.but that's the truth.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zoubida o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,455)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,657 - 1,663 of 2,455 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

I flew overnight from Mumbai to Abu Dhabi, arriving at 7am. In order to have immediate access to my room upon arrival, I reserved (and guaranteed) the previous night, in addition to the next night of my stay. When I arrived the reception lady started with the perplexed stares at the computer screen so I knew something was wrong. After 10 minutes or so she said that my reservation had been cancelled since I was a "no show." I told her that surely I was not the first customer to book the night before in order to get to sleep ASAP upon arrival. Then I was told that I could have a room but would have to wait for it to be cleaned. Huh? So it became clear that they had given my room away to another guest. I began to get testy ( a lot of time had gone by at this point) and lo and behold there was another larger room available, that they would give me. They had this room all along......why torture me? Especially since it was their screw up that caused the problem.
Then, when I got to my room and I called for laundry pick up.....nobody answered any of my calls. Laundry, Operator, Reception. Maybe I was blacklisted for being "difficult" like Elaine on Seinfeld. To be fair, I just ordered a Salad Nicoise from room service. It came fast and was excellent.

Room Tip: Creek view. Nice view of the water, beach and the huge mosque.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooklyn-Jared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to learn that your check-in experience did not live up to your expectations this time. We do appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the relevant departments.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

one of most luxury hotel I had visited ,Price was reasonable, the view of sheikh zayed mosque was great ,also the room was big and very clean ,valet parking was free. i will recommend my friends to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayman_S_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

excellant location,new hotel with ultra modern lobby and modern style interiors ,spacious, helpful staff,very good gem and nice 50 meter pool over looking sandy beach but no spa in hotel yet , slow internet.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The room is quite spacious, beach and pool facilities are amazing - perfect for a gateway. But far from the city... Close by you will find a souq called qaryat al berri; you can have dinner there overlooking the marina.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salwa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband, two year old son and I stayed at this wonderful hotel in November 2012.
This is the second time that we were staying at the Fairmont. However I never got around to writing a review.
We absolutely love this hotel and it's brilliant team of staff. I have never stayed at a hotel where the staff are so friendly, professional and dedicated. When we asked our little son where he would like to go on holiday , without thinking he said" I want to go to my Abu Dhabi hotel!"
I would like to say a big thank you to Coco ( breakfast buffet and restaurant), Tendai from housekeeping and the pool team. You guys have made our stay memorable.
We hope that we can come back soon! And please open up a Fairmont in Doha! They are in need of a fabulous hotel like yours.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr recently.

The hotel is spectacular and has a brilliant view of the Grand Mosque. The grounds are lovely.

The breakfast is the best I have ever had. Brilliant buffet and an absolute must. They also have a good steak house.

There's really nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Needless to say, the service is efficient and friendly.

If you are staying in Abu Dhabi for a short time, stay here. Perfect for short transit trips when you need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MXKBrisbane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share this review. Your positive feedback regarding our hotel is greatly appreciated.

I, along with the entire Fairmont Bab Al Bahr team, are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.7 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,390 reviews
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,222 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $122 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing