We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was attending a conference at the hotel and decided also to stay in the hotel. I got a suite on the so called 'Gold Floor'. The suite was amazingly big, a living room, a dressing and make-up room and a sleeping room. Two restrooms and a nice bath with rainforest shower. Floor to sealing windows with a fantastic view to the water and the big beautiful Mosque. The Gold Floor also offers a 1 button service and all problems are taken care of. Included is access to the Gold Floor lounge with breakfast, lunch canapé, happy hour with free drinks and a business centre. The hotel itself was very big and nicely maintained and decorated to the coming Christmas with Christmas trees and decorations despite the fact that you are in a muslim country. Service was great, food outstanding and a lovely pool area. 15 minutes in a taxi to the city centre. Not much to do in the area around the hotel though.

Room Tip: If you have the budget - go for the Gold Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kommandousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share this positive review. It is my pleasure to pass your compliments to our entire team that made your stay at the Fairmont Gold amazing.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,811 - 1,817 of 2,595 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have stayed three times and each time I still get a wow with the design and lobby. Rooms are well designed, though make sure you enroll in the loyalty scheme to get free wifi otherwise they will charge for this, and expensive if they do.

Positives are the fantastic rooms and views of the creek and mosque. Good room sizes and working space. Fab baths and beds are the most comfy I have slept in. Good range of dining options in property.

Room Tip: Ask for a creek view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curryandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had the scenic view room and although it wasn't cheap ca 256 EUR for the room per night plus another 100 for food and drink per night or so, but it was worth it as the view from the room was spectacular and the service didnt lack anything. Mind, that getting to the city/corniche would mean 30 min drive, but Sheikh Zayed Mosque is close. Airport as well. Liked poolside bar. Nice sunsets. Class

Room Tip: get the creek view room. Dear, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zolotoy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Fairmont celebrating my birthday. I booked through expedia and then checked via email that they had my reservation, which they promptly replied that they did. I did book a gold club suite but didn't know that there was a view option. I was disappointed to find out that we did not have a view of the beautiful mosque, but instead a view of the rather drab car park. I would have hoped that as I was there for four nights and they knew it was my birthday that they could have arranged this. I did ask if i could move but was told that it was only possible for one night and then I would have to move back again, so I didn't bother. To there credit they did send up a mini birthday cake which was a nice touch. On a plus point, as I arrived at 4am, they gave me a room at 50% of the standard rate so we could check straight in and not wait until 2pm.
We didn't have a chance to eat at the hotel, apart from breakfast in the club lounge, This was nice enough but not anything really special and choice was a bit limited There was a chef however that could cook eggs to order which was nice, and we were able to get a table with a lovely view of the mosque (see the theme here). i did eat at a Frankies restaurant in Dubai which was great.
The room itself was a good size and nicely furnished. Location wise it was midway between the airport and the Corniche and was fine - taxis are very reasonable for wherever you need to go.
I would not mind staying at the Fairmont again, although there are so many nice hotels to choose from I may want to test out a couple more. As I said, it was a great hotel but somehow it just misses the "It was fantastic and we must go again" badge.
.

Room Tip: ask for a mosque view, i think it makes all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you for staying with us on your birthday and taking time to share your feedback. We are sorry to learn that your room did not meet your expectation. We do appreciate all your comments and have shared your review with the relevant departments.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is new and modern with good services. However, it doesn't quite make it yet. While the staff are friendly and willing to oblige they forget to follow through and take too long to serve breakfast. Little things let the hotel down as well, eg the bathroom door that would shut properly, and the automatic taps which couldn't dispense anything other tan luke warm water into the basin. Location wise it's in a dead area of Abu Dhabi ( though that might describe the whole city....) being a good 15 to 20 minute can ride from the down town area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerryPattetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We do appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the relevant departments. We are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A truly quality hotel, with pleasant staff and great food!

We had a gold club suite with views of the grand mosque and water, it was stunning.

Frankies, and marco Pierre white restaurants were fantastic, and there was an excellent seafood buffet which offered great value one evening.

The pool and creek area was lovely and pool staff attentive, the pool bar food was delicious.

Club level food was great with enerous pours on the drink side every night.

By far the nicest creekside property in the area, others are too large and busier.

Room Tip: Choose gold level rooms, try the hotels restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilllytravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you very much taking the time to share this review. Your positive feedback regarding our hotel restaurants, room & staff is greatly appreciated.

I, along with the entire Fairmont Bab Al Bahr team, are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Have just had 6 fabulous days staying at this wonderful hotel.

We had a Gold View Room which was superb. Extremely well put together with every little detail covered.

The staff on the Gold level were outstanding and couldn't have been more helpful and polite. We particularly liked the nibbles and drinks in the evenings. The drinks were always served promptly and by smiling friendly staff. The breakfasts were excellent.

The pool area is fabulous again with wonderful service. The lunches served around the pool were also great with a good choice on the menu.

Beds were very comfortable with excellent quality sheets and pillows. The bathroom amenities were also a good quality.

Everything about this hotel was wonderful from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.

This hotel ticked all our boxes and would have no hesitation in returning.

If only all hotels were like this!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a Gold Level Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

On behalf of the entire Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this great review. We are delighted that enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold. It is a pleasure to pass on your compliments to our entire team that made your recent visit perfect in every way.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
8.7 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
11 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,354 reviews
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $147 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing