We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Brunch, small Pool, Pay for internet per device”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #22 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Brunch, small Pool, Pay for internet per device”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here during the Eid holidays, so it was a bit last minute. We wanted to try this hotel and relax by the beach and the pool. Let's start with the good stuff: Rooms were spacious, great amenities (toiletries, teas, coffee, etc.), very comfy bed, and great room service. The Brunch had a great selection of seafood and variety. Will come back for the Brunch. Breakfast buffet was OK, limited selection compared to other hotels. The Cons: Internet was NOT included in the room, which is strange, considering this is a Business hotel, and most hotels have this included now. Also, you have to pay PER DEVICE (i.e. laptop, iPad, etc.), which made us feel like they're making a business out of it. The pool was rather small, considering the size of the hotel. We came during Eid break, so the hotel was packed with families and kids--including the pool.. My point is--we wanted to relax, and it didn't work. Loud kids by the pool and parents yelling at their kids next to us, as we lay by the sun. This has nothing to do with the hotel, so I think it was just the Eid holiday. Last, the beach itself (part of a canal) looked nice from a distance, but when you get in the water, it was a bit dirty, and had a foam and residue film floating...we didn't swim, but Kayaked instead. Also, when we checked-out, they made a mistake, so make sure to double check! No steamroom or sauna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvainAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,619
    453
    136
    49
    49
See reviews for
606
854
87
391
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We did a stopover at the Fairmont for three nights en route back to UK from Australia. OK, neither Abu Dhabi, nor Dubai are my favourite places on earth, but the stay at the Fairmont was a very pleasant experience.
Plus points are the location/views(provided you upgrade to a Creek view room, you must); service, we found the staff all very helpful, some of the best service we have experienced; grounds, pool and ambience all very enjoyable; breakfast was good, didnt eat at restaurants otherwise, so no comment.
Minus points; no spa; 20-30 mins from town centre(so what? There's not a lot in the town centre apart from car showrooms, banks and shopping malls), anyway there's a shuttle bus.
For a 3 night stay the Fairmont was a very good choice, and if I had to go to Abu Dhabi again, I would stay there
Tip; it is worth the extra upgrading to a "Gold" room, check it out. rates are a little negotiable.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Creek view room, and get an upgrade to the "Gold" floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikebrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Lovely fragrance as I entered the lobby. Trendy. Very manly with its black, white, and steel interiors. Spacious room. I love the window as well. The place is ok for business travelers but not advisable to stay for holidays. I asked one of the staffs for Spa and I'm surprised that they don't have. She suggested Chi The Spa, which is 10-min walk from the hotel and 2-min by car.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoudiraJamila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stopped here for 2 nights on the way back to Melbourne from New York in October 2012. We had a Deluxe Creek View Room which was a huge beautifully equipped room with a magnificent view to the Grand Mosque. We spent a lot of time by the swimming pool which was far too warm for our liking, it was more like a warm bath than a refreshing swimming pool. The restaurant and all facilities were beautifully maintained although somewhat expensive.
My major criticism is the attitude to women. When my wife and I walked through the hotel or used the facilities the staff were always courteous and helpful to me, but on most occassions my wife was ignored. To be greeted by "Good Morning Sir" when the 2 of us were going to breakfast is not acceptible. This was the general case with most male staff, there were a couple of exceptions. I understand this is more of a cultural issue than anything however if this hotel is to appeal to westerners a gentle word with staff would not go astray.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARRENDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Wow, this hotel gets top scores for comfort. The best bed in Abu Dhabi! The amenities were great. The staff were a little hit and miss. Some were helpful, some not so. The restaurants are good but a little over priced. The location is a little far and requires to be in the crazy cabs for far too long. If you want to stay in a great place and be pampered, this place is for you. But if you want to be based in the City, it may be a little far.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank throsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, breaking up journey back to UK from China. Arrived around 8am but room was available and upgraded. Whole hotel, rooms, pools, restaurants all match its 5 star rating. The marco white restaurant was excellent - but of course expensive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gipsona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am very pleased with the Fairmont Bab al-Bahr hotel. I stayed at the Gold floor, the room was impeccable with very nice decor and layout. The breakfast buffet at the same floor was very good as were the 2-5 pm snacks. The staff were extremely friendly, nice and professional and they would even call you by your last name regardless if it is the first time they see you.
The restaurants in the lower ground level are all excellent. But the thing I loved the most was the pool, don't know if it was the water temperature combined with the colors and heat outside and of course the view of the Mosque but I couldn't get out of the water!!
I highly recommend this hotel if you're going on business, alone or with your partner. I think however that it might be a little boring for children.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RiadSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11.2 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing