We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“True luxury”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We arrived extremely tired after a very early arrival from Colombo and unfortunately, our room wasn't available. However, we were offered to freshen up in the gym/pool area and then to move onto a complimentary breakfast whilst we were waiting for our room to be ready. When we then got to our room, we couldn't believe how nice, clean and modern it was. We were also given complimentary fruit and drink. The hotel is indeed quite a bit away from Abu Dhabi City but with taxis always being available and the fares very low, it didn't really matter to us and we had a fantastic stay exploring everything Abu Dhabi had to offer.
MM

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mon_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,588
    442
    134
    49
    46
See reviews for
590
838
86
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Reception was extremely excellent in presentation and communication in fact they were very kind to upgrade my room and with a beach view.


The rooms are luxurious and are crisp clean. The bathroom and shower was an experience and actually preferred spending more time in the rain fall shower than in the room.

Internet connection was adequate.


The restaurants for breakfast and dinner are good offering a wide variety of Arabic and European breakfast choices.

I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: High floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lost_dogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you back with us in the future.

Regards,

Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I cannot imagine why anyone would build a hotel in this location.Convenient for the mosque but absolutely MILES from downtown Abu Dhabi.I don't normally write reviews for fairly average hotels but I will make an exception in this case. Why is this hotel so well reviewed? A complete mystery - and because we decided to visit based on Tripadvisor reviews, I decided to write to save others from disappointment. It is very much a business hotel, not really suited to other travellers.
The concierge service and reception are perfectly fine but the pool and restaurant staff are totally hopeless! We asked 4 times for coffee at breakfast and waited 50 minutes for poolside food. The food at the hotel is not very good. The rooms are a good size and well appointed with a really comfortable bed and pillows but I hated the open plan bathroom and glass door lavatory. Construction sites abound on all sides. I wish I could say that it will all be marvellous when finished - but I can't, this is not the prettiest part of Abu Dhabi! The hotel beach is almost laughable - a scrubby bit of sand looking out onto a grubby estuary with views of a building site - the mosque is visible in the distance though and it is lovely.
Good points - go and visit Ferrari World, the best fun! If you want to experience an exceptional hotel go into the desert to Anantara Qasr Al Sarab - stunning location, exceptional service and a truly 5* hotel! Otherwise, would recommend any of the iconic hotels in downtown Abu Dhabi such as the Palaceand you will enjoy a memorable trip to Abu Dhabi. Why waste money on this energy sapping, mediocre place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsetter-bonvivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. As you can read from the other reviews we are an outstanding luxury hotel that offers five star service. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The Fairmont Abu dhabi is just perfect for a winter get away from the UK perfect weather and not unbearably hot. Whilst the hotel is buisness orientated it is also very welcoming for those on holiday. The staff on the Exec floor went beyond the norm to look after us and as we celebrated a birthday whilst here we were suprised to have lots of treats supplied and provided by the staff and the hotel....nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms overlooking the fabulous Mosque had amazing views over the water. We enjoyed the food three of the four restaurants we tried and also enjoyed walking along to the Souk in the evening and had a change of scenery eating there and in the Shangri la.

Highly recommend the hotel although did not find a lot do experience other than the Malls...so if its just a rest and sunshine in a very welcoming and luxury hotel is what you need in Dec Jan Feb this is the place !!!!

Room Tip: Pool view Executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romeyyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr during the Abu Dhabi Film Festival mid october. Whilst watching a great european movie at the openair cinema at the hotel made it almost too perfect, we will certainly return there at the next occasion. The hotel design is sophisticated without falling on the tacky side, the view of the grand Mosque is impressive, the pool area is really great. Our room was well designed, although looking to the entrance / car park (worth picking one facing the grand mosque), the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good (but not amazingly good) with a very wide choice. Frankies, the Italian restaurant is highly recommended. Also, don't leave without taking a hot chocolate at the Chocolate cafe.

Nicolas (Dubai)

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the Grand Mosque.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Review based on a Fairmont Gold Room stay from 18th -21st November.
Although we arrived at breakfast time, the team made a great effort to get our room ready before the official check in time of 3pm. The room was indeed ready by 12.30pm, but by then we were at the superb pool enjoying the excellent facilities. Great touches like an ice bucket supplied with bottles of mineral water, plus cold towels and fruit cocktail made the beach/pool experience feel luxurious. The room was large, spotlessly clean and fitted out with everything you could ask for. Great turn down service with extra water, slippers and mat placed by the bed! Floor to ceiling glass wall made for a good view from the room. Complimentary bar in the lounge in the evening from 6.30 - 9.00pm with small snacks was a lovely touch in a very relaxing atomsphere. Breakfast was taken on the Fairmont Gold floor too (seventh floor) and was a laid back, mellow start to the day with a good choice of offerings at the buffet with eggs cooked to order. We tried both the Frankie's and Marco Pierre White's restaurants in the hotel, where both service and food were very good.There is also an excellent, well equipped gym with views over the creek, a nice start to the day if you want! In conclusion, a superb experience here at the Fairmont with brilliant staff keen to please and serve effortlessly. Special thanks to Marichu Lacson, Fairmount Gold Asst. Manager, and her entire team for taking care of us and making our first trip to Abu Dhabi so special.
at The Fairmont with brilliant staff who are delifghted to serve you effortlessly

Room Tip: Try and get a Creek View room with views of the Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasonedtraveller071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2011

During my stay last week, I was really pleased with the Hotel ......the staff, the service, the rooms , the pool. Everything was really good and had a very enjoyable stay there. The only thing I was disappointed with was the food..... it was quite tasteless and the menu didn't have enough variety.

Room Tip: Choose one with the creek view .... Spectacular view of the creek & Grand Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zainab K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,013 reviews
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11.1 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: Fairmont Bab al Bahr Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Rd, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing