We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Everything ...except for Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #22 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Good Everything ...except for Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

During my stay last week, I was really pleased with the Hotel ......the staff, the service, the rooms , the pool. Everything was really good and had a very enjoyable stay there. The only thing I was disappointed with was the food..... it was quite tasteless and the menu didn't have enough variety.

Room Tip: Choose one with the creek view .... Spectacular view of the creek & Grand Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zainab K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,592
    447
    135
    49
    46
See reviews for
594
841
86
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

We loved the basic category room, it was very comfortable and well appointed. We had a complimentary upgrade to a view room, which we appreciated very much; my children loved sitting by the full length window, watching the sun go down, or the boats/jetskis go by the creek. Our stay was a very very comfortable one.

Location out of the city centre was great, very quiet, and easy access to the Grand Mosque (beautiful view too). Taxis were easily available, though its quite a drive away from the main malls (about 20 - 30mins) but inexpensive. The hotel also provided mercedes bicycles for loan if you want to explore the surrounding areas on bikes. Jogging towels and amenities also provided at the lobby. They also have a 24hr gym.

There was an art gallery/exhibition on at the lobby as well, which offered contemporary interpretations of Abu Dhabi city, very beautiful.

My review is a slightly biased one as my preference is for cosy, intimate boutique hotels with traditional design/decor. Fairmost is more a stylish, contemporary option. I stayed here with my family and found this hotel more suitable for stylish classy couples, or business executives. My family with two noisy babies just did not fit in :) They did try though, they have a nice kiddy splash area at the pool, and service staff was attentive to my toddler at breakfast. But overall, we enjoyed our stay, even if its not our usual type of hotel. Will recommend Fairmont to family and friends, especially those who appreciate style :)

Room Tip: Choose a view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ummumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Greetings from Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you for your great review. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guest enjoyed their stay with us. Although it is a stylish, contemporary hotel we are also very family orientated with our childrens pool, play area and kids club. We appreciate your feedback on the art gallery and this has been a huge success for us. We look forward to having you back soon.

Kind regards,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Room was very spacious with a modern and pleasant décor. Room was very quiet, bed was very comfortable. Food ordered through room service was delicious. Service was impeccable and all personnel very nice. This is now our preferred hotel in Abu Dhabi and we would rate it higher than the Emirates Palace (better overall value and more importantly better rooms). Only downside is the location, but finding a taxi from the hotel is very easy (never waited more than 3 minutes).

Room Tip: Gold room on the seven floor are large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of our hotel. We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

During my previous visits to Abu Dhabi I had stayed in the older hotels either on or close to the Corniche. Since availability was low due to the Grand Prix, this was the best available option. I was impressed. The hotel has a striking contemporary design with rooms to match. My spacious room had a comfortable seating area, large bathroom, with wet room, and the usual king size bed that one expects to see these days. Internet access was included. The only drawbacks: the long walk to the lobby, and the fact that there was never any hot water from the overhead rainwater shower: the tub did have plenty of hot water. I was too buy to complain about this so I cannot say what they would have done about it. I used the fitness room (more than adequate), jumped in the pool (impressive) and ate in three of the restaurants. I highly recommend breakfast outside by the pool if the weather is moderate: this side of the hotel does not get the morning sun. If one's day is busy, it may be the only opportunity to take advantage of the weather. The Italian restaurant and the Lebanese restaurant were also very good and seem to attract a healthy but not excessive of out of hotel guests. Portions were large: my rocket salad at the Italian restaurant could have fed three people. The hotel's location, in the region known as Between the Bridges, is much closer to the airport than the corniche area, but can 30 to 45 minutes from the older center of town when traffic is heavy. On the other hand, many businesses are now located farther away from the Corniche closer to the hotel, and it is easy to get on the highway to Dubai. It is not worth visiting the shops at the nearby Qariyet el Berri unless one is looking to buy a hookah, though the restaurants may be good (I did not try them). One evening, I took a taxi to the corniche, about 15 km away, for my usual jog. The fare was only the equaivelnt of USD 10.60 each way, including a tip. It is possible to jog in the area immediately outside the hotel. In fact, the hotel gives out route maps. But there are not many others on the streets, while I knew the Corniche would be busy with other joggers, walkers etc.
All in all, I highly recommend this htoel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. All of your great comments will be passed along to the departments mentioned.
We look forward to having you stay with us in the furture.

Regards,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Fairmont is a great hotel in Abu Dhabi. It's about 15 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from the city. The hotel is fairly new. The service is excellent and staff go out of their way to help. The rooms are amazing, very spacious and modern. They thought of all the little things like international plugs and amenities in the bathroom. The bathroom is spacious with an amazing rain shower and spa bath. If you happen to be at the hotel on a Friday, I highly recommend trying the brunch. It is absolutely amazing. Even though it is buffet (which I am generally not a fan of) this buffet is different. The food is made in small quantities and refreshed regularly. Since Fairmont is a Canadian chain, there are many Canadian flavours which was brilliant. This really is an experience not to be missed. The pool and beach is great. They have a ladies and mens only gym and a unisex gym. I highly recommend this hotel if travelling to Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: If sharing witha friend or colleague, I suggest asking for a room on level 1, if staying on your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. All of your comments have been passed along. In regards to our Friday brunch we have won awards for "best brunch" in Abu Dhabi so we appreciate you mentioning your great experience. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Regards,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed at hotel in for four nights 2nd to 6th November this year. Room was very spacious and had every thing you could possibly want in a room. We were on a short break holiday and we didnt want to do much except lie by the pool. The service in all the restaurants was impeccable and quality of the food very good. Not much in the way of entertainment though.
Only negative point was the 24hour alcholol and music ban that was enforced between 1800 Friday to 1800 Saturday. The hotel did not have any notices about this and they did not bother to inform anybody. You could have alcholol in your room if you wanted, but we dont want to sit in the room to have a drink!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate all of your feedback.
We look forward to having you back with us in the future.

Thank you,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Ideal for business, the club lounge and the breakfast served was much better than most club lounges I have experienced. Rooms had nice decor, fresh fruits, good room service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11.1 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: Fairmont Bab al Bahr Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Rd, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing