We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yas Island Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yas Island Rotana
Ranked #51 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

So we were staying at the hotel from the 29th of July to the 2nd of August. Unfortunately we didn't even think about Ramadan and one of the main attractions for us, the pool bar, was closed. So were a couple of the hotel restaurants. In fact pretty much everything was closed up until 7:30pm in the way of alcohol. Need to take that into consideration when booking in if you’re a drinker. Very disappointing but that would probably be the only problem for the trip.
The hotel itself was overall fabulous. Rooms are very clean, beds are super comfy and the bathrooms are very nice. We got 2 adjoining rooms with a door in-between which is great if you’re travelling with kids. Kids loved the room-service. We loved the facilities, breakfast buffet was reasonable and the staff were GREAT. The restaurants that were open, we thought were a bit pricey, but you can just go and visit the other hotels nearby and try their cuisine. The Y bar was pretty good value though as it had a happy hour, but it is very smokey.
A couple of little nice to haves would be a power outlet in the bathroom and maybe an emergency toothbrush in the vanity kit. Also, TV’s were a bit of a struggle but otherwise very happy overall. Would recommend in a hearbeat.
Oh, one more thing. The complimentary Yas island express takes you around the island all day so you can get to Yas waterpark which was the highlight of the trip for both kids and adults. This was the one good thing with Ramadan. When we rocked up to the venue there were only 14 other people waiting to get in! The place filled up a little but absolutely no waiting time on any of the rides.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear MelbourneRocky,

Thank you very much for choosing Yas Island Rotana and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We acknowledge that Ramadan is a period where things are unusual for the typical traveller, and we shall note your valuable comments regarding the availability of services and restaurants.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you and your family had a memorable time and that the rooms, the facilities, the food, and the service. Please note, for future reference, that we in fact have a power outlet in the bathrooms and toothbrush/paste, vanity kits, and shaving kits are available with the Guest Services team.

I am also pleased to know that your family enjoyed the Yas Waterworld, we hope that you will have another opportunity to discover some other leisure activities taking place on the island.

Once again, thank you for choosing Yas Island Rotana. Please remain in touch whenever you will be able to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    459
    108
    45
    35
See reviews for
422
296
67
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked a 3 night stay here for myself and my husband on a short trip to AUH.

We stayed in a lovely Premium room overlooking the pool area and the Yas marina circuit.
The room was lovely and large and very comfortable.
Although the hotel is along the flight path for departures from AUH I found that this didn't affect our sleep at all. As long as your balcony door was shut there was barely any noise and we stayed on one of the higher floors.
The staff at the hotel could not have been more welcoming and during our stay we found that we were pretty much the only guests using the pool. We did travel early May however once it reached midday many people left the pool area. Its a lovely area although when we went it did loose the sun around 3:30pm.
The only thing that might disappoint you here is the aircraft noise... great for plane spotters however if you want a quiet relax around the pool I imagine all the hotels on Yas would experience this.

We did eat in the Y bar one evening and the quality of the food was fantastic and we found not really overpriced when you consider hotel restaurant prices around the rest of the world.

My only regret was not staying longer! That said I hope to be back early next year.
Definitely worth the money and a great base if your going for the F1, Ferrari World or the new waterpark.

Room Tip: If your concerned about aircraft noise you want a room overlooking the plaza.. however you wont get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_babe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Beach_babe87,

Greetings from Yas Island Rotana!

Thank you very much for giving us your valuable feedback, and we are happy to know that you had a memorable visit to our hotel.

Your comments about the room, the pool, and the service at Y Bar will certainly be shared with the team, and I can assure you that you will find the same level of service and facilities in your future visits.

Thanks again and hope to welcome you back very soon, best regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a trip to Abu Dhabi with a kid and stayed at Yas Island Rotana hotel on July 25-28. In spit of Ramadan time and strict fasting everywhere, we ordered food to the room and it arrived unexpectedly so fast, like in 10 mins, in a nice table, very hot and delicious. We had a dinner at the first day in the restaurant Choices in the hotel, it was Iftar dinner - breaking fasting. Though it was a little expensive, but the choice of the food is amazing. My son enjoyed his time in the pool though they 'kick' kids at 7 pm but pool is open until 9 pm. The room was nice and clean, the AC saved us in a hot and humid city. Staff is very friendly. Would love to come back to this hotel one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sholpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Sholpi,

Thank you very much for choosing Yas Island Rotana for your short weekend vacation and we are so pleased that overall your family enjoyed the stay.

I have noted all your valuable comments and will share with the team. We wish that you will have another opportunity to visit us so you can experience more of our dining options and to spend some more time exploring Yas Island.

Kind regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Oh dear, we booked the weekend before Ramadam, with two rooms and tickets for Ferrari world . The deal was good, but maybe this made the hotel too full! We had to wait an hour for check in, not the ideal way to start a relaxing weekend! Staff were rushed and offhand. Pool was too full, again not relaxing, breakfast again too full and we were glad to be seated in an alternative restaurant which was much nicer. Had a much better experience in Park Rotana 2 weeks later!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jop1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Jop1003,

Thank you very much for choosing the Yas Island Rotana for your family weekend getaway and for your continuous support for Rotana.

I appreciate your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you were not given the level of service that you come to expect. It is true that the week before Ramadan we were very busy, however this should not impact your experience with us. All your comments shall be shared with the team.

We hope that you will be able to try us on another occasion, please let me know and I shall be pleased to make your reservation and arrangements for you.

Thanks again and best wishes,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The bar staff are fantastic and ever time I go I feel very welcome . On My last visit I was served by Kat and she introduced me to lots of new drinks and entertained me during my stay . The food is very good but I think the menu is dated and needs updating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Ian B,

Thank you very much for choosing Yas Island Rotana and the Y Bar and for sharing your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We are certainly very pleased that Kat made your visit memorable and we are proud of the whole team's professionalism and courtesy. I will certainly pass on your compliments to the culinary team as well.

With regards to your feedback about the menu, you have hit the nail right on the head: we are in the process of refining our menu and introducing new items... give us a month and you will certainly notice the difference! In addition, we will be signing up a new DJ for the next season.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future, best wishes,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a 14 hr stop over in Abu Dhabi, we were tired and didn't want to wander around in 42 degrees so booked into this hotel

Next to F1 track, it's a good quality hotel, good Internet and TV - web watched British Open Golf all afternoon

Clean, neat and contemporary

A nice hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear rjslittledownend,

Thank you very much for the feedback, we are glad that you and your partner chose Yas Island Rotana for your stop over in Abu Dhabi.

I sincerely hope that you will take the opportunity soon to discover what the hotel and indeed what Yas Island has to offer.

Thanks again and best regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Felt like a 5 star hotel but for much less $$ (we booked a Ramadan special rate). Staff were all very helpful and friendly and especially good with our 2 year old. Breakfast was included and was amazing ... Best buffet I have ever seen! Also the iftar buffet was amazing. Only downside of this hotel was not much to keep a busy 2 year old occupied... The pool was good but being July it was too hot to enjoy during the day and was closed to kids after 7pm, likewise the small outdoor play area was too hot to enjoy during the day. Altogether a fantastic experience though, cannot fault the staff or the room at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyvmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Hollyvmoore,

I would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Yas Island Rotana for your family visit to Abu Dhabi and for giving us your valuable feedback.

It is great to know that the service and the food exceeded your expectations, we strive daily to make your visit memorable and to ensure your time with us is well spent. With regards to the play area, we are currently looking at some options to keep our little guests entertained during the summer.

We all hope that you will revisit us on your next visit to Abu Dhabi, until then wishing you and your family all the best,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.1 mi away
Centro Yas Island Abu Dhabi by Rotana
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#4 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yas Island Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Island Rotana

Property: Yas Island Rotana
Address: Golf Plaza, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yas Island Rotana 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yas Island Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Island Rotana Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing