We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice of Etihad to put us up here due to delayed flight”
Review of Yas Island Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yas Island Rotana
Ranked #48 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our flight from Nairobi to Abu Dhabi was delayed a few hours so we just missed our connecting flight to Sydney. Etihad kindly paid for us to stay at this hotel overnight before we took a flight the next day to Sydney. It was a welcome surprise after a very long and difficult day of travelling.

We were not at the hotel for long but the rooms were very large and spacious with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Breakfast in the morning was yummy and a HUGE improvement over what we had experience in Tanzania over the last two weeks.

Didn't get a chance to check out the pool or any other facilities but the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrooveJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear GrooveJunky,

It is indeed a pleasure to receive your comments, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel! We are especially proud of our kitchen brigade who prepare a delicious breakfast.

We certainly hope to welcome you back for an extended time, this way you can discover what our hotel, what Yas Island, and what Abu Dhabi has to offer.

With Best regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,649)
There are newer reviews for Yas Island Rotana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

a truely fantastic hotel.from arrival to departure,could not fault anything with the hotel.
staff very friendly and helpful.the food from the buffet was secound too none,with a different selection nightly for dinner.
the breakfast was great,a large variety of food too choose from.

pool side was great,the service at bar was immense,the lifeguards always around pool,and watched the children very carefully when they went into water.very professional.
the seating poolside is wonderful.

i will definately return

Room Tip: any room is great,and the higher you go you can get better views of racetrack and marina. also ferr...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asa101269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear asa101269,

Thank you very much for your kind words and praise, which will be shared with all of our colleagues. We are proud of our recreation and food and beverage team as they consistently provide excellent service to our guests.

We hope that, on your next visit to Yas Island Rotana, you will be able to discover the recently-opened Yas Waterworld and the Yas Beach.

Best regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hotel is excellent, rooms are extremely comfortable and a great choice of restaurants. Gym & pool facilities are very clean and well equipped. Hotel also has free Wifi. Like previous reviewer, I would agree that customer orientation at reception needs improvement. My last check in in January took approximately 20 minutes to be seen and another 25 minutes before I got to my room. I cant complain too much as the Hotel Management upgraded me from a Premium King room to a Premium Suite. So other than reception, all else great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Poolside & enroll in Rotana Rewards Exclusive Membership to avail of discounts and...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Aidan M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and we are pleased that you enjoy staying at Yas Island Rotana.

Please rest assured that we are taking steps to improve the time it takes to check in and I hope that on your next visit you will find a noticeable difference.

In addition, you are very right to say that the Rotana Rewards membership brings you a host of benefits and exclusivity. You can enjoy this privilege at Yas Island Rotana, Centro Yas Island, and all the other Rotana properties worldwide.

We look forward to welcoming you back, with best regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good hotel, great rooms (size and views), excellent restaurant options (Indian, American grill, Bar, Coffee shop!! Good value for money too!

The only thing that needs improvement is the customer orientation at the reception and housekeeping! Otherwise, a great choice on Yas

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, General Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your kind compliments about our location, facilities and dining outlets. We are happy that you consider us a great choice for accommodation on Yas Island.

Your insights about reception and housekeeping service have been well noted. Please know that our primary aspiration is to ensure that our guests’ expectations on service quality are fully met and exceeded, and it is your feedback that brings us closer to this goal. We are very much looking forward to your next visit, so that you may enjoy the many other features of our hotel.

Again, thank you and kind regards.

With Best Regards,
Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Yas Island Rotana and Centro Yas Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This quite new large hotel is right across the road from the Formula One track and that has to be its reason for existence as it’s some distance away from Abu Dhabi city centre and there is nothing but the F1 track and ‘the du arena’ nearby (Paul McCartney performed in the arena within the last year and Metallica will be there on 19 April 2013). There is a scenic drive but honestly that’s a joke. A water park is about to open and it looks like one for adults with some hairy chutes – it should be fun. Yas Island is in the early stages of its development as 2013 opens, I would say. We stayed in the middle of the winter (mid-January) when the temperature was around 23 degrees C, which is comfortable for British visitors. The beds were supremely comfortable, the rooms large and well-furnished and the restaurants excellent – we sampled only the Indian one and it was very good – I hear the Steak Restaurant is the star and has won awards. Breakfast was well up to standards for this type of hotel. There are drawbacks. The bathroom we had although large was poorly designed and the toilet and bidet were so crushed together that the bidet was almost unusable. The orientation of the building (facing the F1 complex) means that the winter sun hits the pool area only in the morning and after that, even at 23 degrees, lying out is not really on as it’s just not warm enough. The pool is still OK though as it’s heated and very comfortable to stay in for a long time but then getting out with no direct sun means straight indoors for me. The pool is also very small so when the hotel is full (especially when the F1 is on) it will be very crowded. Maybe in the summer the sun impacts behind the building better than in the winter.

Room Tip: You choose - Do you want a view of the Formula One complex or of the pool area?
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLDGIT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, General Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments about our location, services and products. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay in our rooms, and that you had found our facilities and dining outlets up to your standards. We are happy to inform you that Yas Waterworld and Yas Beach have now been opened for you to enjoy on your next visit, and that the all new Yas Express is now available to conveniently take you to many other leisure destinations on Yas Island for no additional charges.

Your feedback regarding room amenities have been well noted. We strive everyday to make every little part of our guest experience a positive one. We are very much eager to see you on your next visit, and hopefully you are able to enjoy the activities and new destinations on Yas Island.

Thank you and best regards.

With Best Regards,
Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Yas Island Rotana and Centro Yas Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at the Yas Island Rotana Hotel whilst on business in Abu Dhabi and had a fantastic experience there. The customer service from the start to the finish of my stay was second to none. As a young woman travelling on my own, I was made to feel very comfortable and welcome by the staff, who were very helpful in helping me to arrange a visit to the Grand Mosque and remembered my name! The room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean and the dining options available were very good, varying from a la carte, to buffet, to cafe style and would suit a variety of budgets. I would definetely stay at this hotel again when on business in Abu Dhabi. It was conveniently close to the airport and being placed by the main roads made accesibility to other parts of the city very easy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, General Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments about our location, products and services. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable, and that you were pleased with the personalised brand of service from our staff. Further, we appreciate that our rooms and dining outlets had met your expectations.

We are very much eager to see you on your next visit, this time hopefully for leisure, so that you would have more time to enjoy the many other facilities at our property. Again, our thanks and best regards.

With Best Regards,
Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Yas Island Rotana and Centro Yas Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is an excellent 4* hotel. The service is always top notch. The dining options are exceptional, yet very expensive for the ala carte restaurants. I have never tried the buffet restaurant, but the choice looks impressive. The breakfast buffet is quite nice. The bar is expensive and has opportunities for improvement. I have never tried the spa facilities, so cannot comment.

The location is prime for airport access, Yas Links Golf course (highly recommended), and the Ferrari facilities.

The rooms are nicely appointed, with small balconies overlooking the F1 track and Viceroy. If you are there during F1, it is fun to watch the race from your room, while the TV has the simultaneous live coverage on. You need to book the room at least 6 months in advance, and be prepared to pay several times the normal rate. Another word of warning, if you are staying during F1. All the restaurants at this hotel have a fixed price menus only, which are limited in choice, and very expensive. I do not know, if that is the practice at other hotels on Yas.

This is a highly recommended hotel for both business and pleasure. If you choose to stay there regularly, sign up with the Rotana Exclusive Rewards.

Room Tip: Go for higher rooms during the pools season. Can get pretty loud.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ania626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, General Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive feedback about our location, facilities, our dining outlets and the overall service at Yas Island Rotana. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay during the F1 Grand Prix.

We sincerely appreciate your insights from your recent visit, particularly on pricing. It is our goal ensure that our guests receive maximum value for their money for all service and products offered at our hotels, and that we are highly competitive with what is available not only on Yas Island but in the whole of Abu Dhabi.

We do hope that you are able to visit us again, and we would like to sincerely thank you for your kind review.

With Best Regards,
Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Yas Island Rotana and Centro Yas Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.1 mi away
Centro Yas Island Abu Dhabi by Rotana
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yas Island Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Island Rotana

Address: Golf Plaza, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#44 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $81 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yas Island Rotana 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yas Island Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Island Rotana Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing