We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected AT ALL!! DEVASTATING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have been to more than a 100 Hotels in the world and i'm confident to rate this disaster called 5 stars hotel as POOR! you'd be shocked why i rate this Hotel poor, but here is our experience! We booked 15 rooms at this hotel as part of a team business training, and we expected to get a special service but not at all. we went for drinks at their only club/bar and it was the most boring night of everyones lives, they did not arrange No DJ or program, and had started playing very old music, everyone was bored out of their brains and wanted to leave, we went to get some music to pump it up a bit, and the bar manager kept putting the volume at really low, it was really devastating, we've never been that bored! they didn't even let us stay 10 mins extra at the bar, although we were a big group and their bar was empty, at 1:00 sharp the manager went and switched the music off.
2 of us got really bored, went upstairs at night and asked if we could use the pool, they said we can sit by but we cannot swim, we sat by and got into our shorts, an Egyptian night manager came and told us he wants to kick us out of the hotel, although we didn't touch the water as they asked us, the guy was rude and was trying to act it out like he really cares, and answered back in a stupid manner, no sense of professionalism at all! he really made us feel low and cheap of ourselves! we just wanted to get out of there!
everything was extremely overpriced!
the bathroom in the room stank, and the shower was extremely noisy, we were shocked!
the Gym has no heat facilities (Sauna/Steam Room), i really don't understand how a 5 star doesn't have a heat facility to relax after a heavy work out!
the positive thing was that the design/overview of the hotel was attractive.
Frankly, i'll never ever stay there again, or advice anyone to do so! especially as a group. it was a HUGE disappointment.

Room Tip: trust me, don't be fooled by the look of the hotel! there are so many nicer hotels around it, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alaa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Alaa S

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

I am very sorry to learn of your experience and will certainly be reviewing your comments regarding the handling of refused guest requests with my team.

Although we would loved to have honored your request of a 4:00am swim, unfortunately, swimming outside the pool opening hours is prohibited, as no life guard is present at that time.

Thank you for your comments regarding the music in our bar, I will also be reviewing that to ensure appropriate music is played at all times.

Due to the strict licensing regulations within the Emirate of Abu Dhabi, we are unable to extend the opening hours within our bars nor are we permitted to continue to serving alcohol pass the legal curfew. I’m sorry we were unable to extend the timing for you.

I do hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Yas Viceroy for a more pleasurable experience.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,425 - 2,431 of 3,246 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Viceroy is a stunning hotel, service was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Only thing the hotel is about 30 mins away from the City Centre and there are hardly any places around to catch a bite. You can catch a taxi to to Ikea which is 5mins away, they have a restaurant inside, not much variety but the food is good. You can also catch the Ikea FREE shuttle to the city centre and back, it leaves +/- every 30 - 40mins.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear StanRam

Thank you for posting your kind review, following your stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that our colleagues were accommodating throughout .

I look most forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Abu Dhabi!

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here three nights Enroute to Australia ! Couldn't have had a nicer time! Spent a day being spoilt around the formula one track and another at ferarri world .. Mostly relaxing By the swimming pool. The staff couldn't have been better.. We wanted a balcony... Seems there having issues with the doors however they relocated us within 15 minutes of askin to move. They then explained to us how to use the enormous and heavy doors! Wasn't a problem to us and we understand it's an architectural issue

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauralou116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Lauralou116

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay en route to Australia!

I am delighted that your short time here was a pleasurable one, and do hope you choose to stay with us again.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

One of the best hotel i have ever seen. I stayed for tow nights with my family which was a nice hotel to stay in and get relax with modern design shape hotel that has all the facilities you like.
If you need to visit Abu dhabi don't miss it, you will definitely enjoy it

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadoonfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear sadoonfk

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with other readers on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable time here with your family .

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever been to, and I've been lucky enough to stay at a few great hotels. Although 25km outside Abu Dhabi City, the location is fantastic, with the Yas Marina and F1 circuit an integral part of the site, which is great if you love F1!

The hotel staff are really helpful and welcoming, with many of them remembering our names and welcoming us at the lobby door or throughout the hotel.

The quality of food served throughout the hotel was also very impressive. The breakfast buffet was very well stocked, with so many items to choose from. The lunch buffet was equally as impressive, and will leave you struggling to decide what to choose. You will end up trying everything, especially from the dessert section! We had dinner at the Arabic restaurant on each night of our stay, and again, the staff were incredible, as was the food and view.

The rooftop pool was great. Little details such as towels already laid out on the sun loungers and cold face towels and ice lollies being handed out regularly by staff add to the feeling of being pampered.

The rooms were really clean, with modern decor and hi tech lighting and tv. The view from the room was the marina and circuit, and I can only imagine how amazing F1 weekends must be sitting on the balcony watching the race. The only negative thing I would say about the hotel is the noise of planes. With the airport only 10 minutes away, and the hotel being under the flight path, you will sometimes hear a plane fly overhead. This isn't a big deal, and a really small price to pay for the pleasure of staying at such an amazing hotel.

I really cannot recommend the Yas Viceroy highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam3078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Sam3078

It’s a pleasure to read such a complimentary review following your stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

I am delighted to know that your time here was a pleasurable one and that our colleagues were warm and welcoming.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Here goes great hotel, 10 mins from the airport, great welcome, awesome modern designed hi tech room , great rain fall shower. Good TV channel selection, expensive but amazing spa attatched... simply out of this world. Great extensive buffet breakfast with that all important omlette counter... fresh omelettes the way u like them. A big thank you to Icha (at reception)whose politeness and courtesy was amazing . Would I reccomend this hotel....definitely 101% ... before I forget that all important part wifi is great everywhere and free

Room Tip: Ladies and gentleman get Icha to deal with your queries... she really is that good .... and hey go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hitenvachhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear hitenvachhani

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

It’s always a pleasure to read such delightful comments. I am grateful to know that your stay was an enjoyable one and have passed your compliments on to Icha, who has also been given special recognition by our management for ensuring you were well taken care of.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Yas Viceroy.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It almost feels like what living in the future is going to be like. The chic minimalist hotel is in 2 dome shaped buildings that illuminate at night - our approach to the hotel (in the evening) felt so surreal, akin to boarding a spacecraft. Kudos to the design team which I understand has won many awards for its design. It truly deserves it.

Besides the design, the Yas Viceroy scores highly on most points. Our pre check in correspondence with the hotel was excellent. Responsive & helpful, the reservations asst manager Raymond Cruz & concierge Jamail Kamarran ensured our requests were all taken care of. As we were celebrting a special ocassion, we were given a fabulous suite in the Marina Wing & a personalized card & cake. The PR manager, Eva Kolker was so welcoming & went out of her to make us feel special. Its the little human touches from the entire team (including their cafe staff at breakfast, rmembering little details of what we ate the previous day) that made our stay so special. Having travelled the world & staying at the full range of hotels from top to bottom, our stay here was very enjoyable & one of my best experiences.

Our suite was very comfortable & spacious. Everything was of the latest technology (it took a while to understand the fancy gadgtery & buttons on our remote). Amenities were 1st class & gels, shampoo etc came in a decent handy size (not the usual tiny miniatures that one always seem to struggle hen opening). My only feedback with regards the room would be the poor drainage in the large shower (the rainforest shower however, is one of the best I've used). Otherwise, everything was excellent.

There are several restaurants in the hotel - all beautifully designed. The swimming pool was a little on the small size for a hotel this big but was very pleasant. The gym however is located in a different wing from the Marina wing. We did not manage to try the spa but it looked very nice.

Overall - a great stay & with all the fancy choices of hotels available in Abu Dhabi, i would still choose to come back here - just because its so unique. (the hotel is located quite away from the city, on Yas Island. Most places are a 30 min drive away but the F1 track actually circles the hotel so you cn catch amazing views of the track from most rooms).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the roof bar in the Marina Wing. It probably costs more but definitely quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorpioshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear scorpioshanghai

Thank you for posting your delightful review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

I am always delighted to read such wonderful feedback as it gives me great comfort to know that our rooms, service and culinary offerings met with your expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Yas Viceroy, I look most forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
17.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,356 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
13.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,510 reviews
17.4 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $127 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Yas Island Abu Dhabi's premier hotel, Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi sets the standard for exceptional service throughout its 499 impeccable rooms and suites, 11 fantastic dining venues and lounges, and the luxurious ESPA at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Guests marvel at the incredible LED canopy that not only emits a concert of colour and shade but also embraces the exhilarating Yas Marina Formula 1™ Circuit, defining the Abu Dhabi hotel as a landmark across Yas Island and one of the world's most extraordinary destinations. Delight in the art of cuisine at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Choose from a colourful host of eateries, from the freshest seafood and sushi to rustic Italian, regional Indian cuisine, and a stylish array of bars and lounges. For fantastic cuisine throughout the day, we have the perfect Abu Dhabi dining spot for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing