We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite possibly the best fajitas I've ever had.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Sombrero

El Sombrero
Ranked #205 of 2,020 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $70
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Spice up your nights with great Mexican food and lively South American music. Serving the authentic flavours of Mexico such as fajitas, chimichangas, tacos and enchiladas, El Sombrero is a firm favourite amongst Abu Dhabi's residents. Live entertainment: Sun - Fri. Happy hour: 6pm - 8pm, Mon - Wed.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best fajitas I've ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was, quite simply, excellent. Huge choice of food, reasonably priced, friendly staff (who doted after my two young kids), nice atmosphere.

I ordered the beef fajitas and they were absolutely perfect, simply delicious and quite possibly the best I've ever had.

Strongly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at El Sombrero, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Kevin,

Many thanks for your kind review of our Mexican Restaurant “El Sombrero”.

I was very happy to read that you had a wonderful meal and that our associates took good care of you and your family.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in either of our several restaurants

Warm Regards

Yves

Yves Tarabout
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    66
    24
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Incredibly friendly staff, nice atmosphere, great Tex-Mex in huuuuuuuge portions. Take your friends to the Friday night all-you-can-eat, a total bargain at 175Dhs pp. and more than worth it. My favourite restaurant in Abu Dhabi by far.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mizri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at El Sombrero, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Mizri,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of “El Sombrero” our Mexican restaurant on tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your comments in general and that you rated “El Sombrero” it as your favorite restaurant in Abu Dhabi.

It is indeed a fantastic option for Mexican food and our Chef Demian takes great care and pride in preparing dishes as he used to serve them in Mexico. I will of course share your comments with our team. The all you can eat night has been very popular and I am looking forward to meeting you there in the near future.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with all tripadvisor readers.

Warm regards

Yves

Yves Tarabout
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“is any veg option thr?n how was it?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

i m a fan of tacos nachos but being a vegetarian,want to know whethr good option for vegetarians or nt?????
plz sugg as i wanna go tomorrow for my birthday

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vipsy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at El Sombrero, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Vipsy21,

Thank you for your request and considering El Sombrero for your upcoming birthday.

We do offer several tasty vegetarian options such as Burritos, Fajitas and even Enchiladas and I am sure that you will find something to suite your palate.

Please do contact us directly to proceed with a reservation as the restaurant is quite busy and do not forget to mention the occasion you are celebrating.

Once again, thank you for considering us and warm regards

Yves
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“For the mole alone...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Seriously, I didn't expect to find well-prepared mole (pronounced mole-eh) in the Middle East at all. It's good. Maybe the margaritas make it better than it is in reality. Go. Take friends. 'Nuff said.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mixchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location for a touch of the latino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The food is presented on simple white crockery to complement the bright colorful mosaic tables. Food is very good and resonable price. Menu Prices already include service charges and tax. The band add a touch of latino to the evening. Great palce to meet with friends for an informal catch up - in between songs!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cocobean09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at El Sombrero, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Cocobean,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Mexican Restaurant in tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your experience with us and that our associates managed to make you feel welcomed.

El Sombrero is indeed the perfect location to spend an evening with friends and I hope that we will have the pleasure of receiving you again in the future in one of our other many restaurants.

Once again, thank you for your time and warm regards

Yves
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing