We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort Style Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #35 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort Style Location”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Myself and Wife wanted a resort style holiday with a bit of winter sun and this fitted the bill.

Located a long a stretch of 3 resort hotels Traders is located in the middle between the Fairmont and the Shangri la. There is a nice walkway that links all of the hotels together along the creek front. In between Traders and the Shangri la is a small but nice Souk with a good choice of restaurants, a small supermarket a Starbucks and various other little shops. This feels like a little luxurious area and has good views of the Ritz Carlton and the Grand mosque.

With the combination of the Souk and the various hotels there were plenty of restaurants to choose from which was good as Abu Dhabi itself is about a 20 min taxi ride away. Taxis are cheap in Abu Dhabi though so even this wasn't too much of a problem. It cost around 30 - 40 AED to the corniche/malls.

Thanks to tripadvisor we choose a Traders club room and wasn't disappointed. The room itself was huge had a partial see view and a lovely bathroom with separate bath and shower enclosure. it was very comfortable and clean. it is probably aimed more to the business traveler but it suited us perfectly.

The benefits of a Traders room are well documented but very worth it and i would urge you to pay the extra and enjoy the benefits especially if you will be sticking close by. Breakfast was good, we took full advantage of the free soft drinks throughout the day and the drinks and nibbles in the evening we very welcome.

The little beach was lovely and the service was great. As we headed to a lounger someone would dash to lay down a towel and bought us a cool box with some free bottles of water in it.

We ate at the restaurant one lunch time and had room service on the first night after a late arrival. it was very reasonable and also of a good quality.

The gym was good, the pool was small although we choose to sit at the beach and didn't actually use the pool. Shame it doesn't have things like a sauna, steam room etc. but i guess the idea is you go next door to the Shangri la, unfortunately the spa facilities/treatments were a bit out of our price range ther!

Room Tip: Go for a traders room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Iain M, thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking the time to post your review and observations through Trip Advisor. I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the on line travellers' reviews have assisted you to plan your holiday. Thank you for your kind compliments especially on the beach service. Rest assured that your feed-back and as well as my thanks will be shared with the Team. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back to our hotel soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    469
    100
    20
    32
See reviews for
346
561
125
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ronchi dei Legionari, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Good location, they made an upgrade room to us and we stay at 9th floor in a very big and comfortable room. Cleanness excellent and great valuie for the money.
It's a four star hotel but definetly can be a five star hotel!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were constantly amazed by the excellent service we received at Trader's. One morning they asked us to fill out a card about how they could improve the (already excellent) breakfast buffet. We suggested putting a glass of water on the table when someone sat down. The next day we sat down and they put water in front of us - pretty impressive! The concierge staff was also terrific as were the guys who drove us in carts to Shangri-la or to the Souk and the bell staff.

The pool isn't too great at this property but there's a small beach and you can also use the beach or the pools at the Shangri-la which look fabulous! This location is somewhat far away from almost everything so you will need to take quite a few cabs or coordinate better than we did with the free shuttle schedule!

The food we had - breakfast and a couple lunches - was very good, fresh and flavorful. The pizza was really a great snack for two.

Although we had requested a sea view a good 6 weeks before arriving we were not able to get one. We did like that their non-smoking floor lived up to its name!

Our only complaint is that the front desk staff was very slow and did not seem to be very skilled at either check in (which took inordinately long) or check out where they forgot to charge us for that day's breakfast and so we had to get back in a very slow line to pay once more.

Aside from that issue we would very willing stay here again - great value, clean, attentive and roomy!

Room Tip: Try hard to get a water view room - the other views are not very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear KEDBoston, thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your kind comment with our colleagues at the restaurant and concierge for the impressive service they have extended during your stay. On the other hand, please accept my most sincere apologies for a few service issues that you have encountered at the reception. We are indeed disappointed and very concerned about the service issues you have raised. Your feedback is key to assist us in determining where additional efforts will be directed in order to maintain the standard that you have come to expect from the Traders brand. In the interim, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mythe
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

What a wonderful hotel, the staff where very helpful and the rooms extremely clean and very well maintained. We came to the traders after a 3 stay in Dubai, we stayed for 7 nights, we had room and breakfast so eat out every night mostly at the souk within the complex this was easy as a regular buggy service was available at the reception,the time of year was scorching weather so walking was best avoided, there was a number of very good restaurants within this souk so a different meal was experienced each evening, we also found the shopping very good offering everything from high end jewellery to silk or cotton throws. We will happily return to this area of Abu Dabi. Relaxation was the order of the stay and we returned home chilled and feeling pampered.

Room Tip: We had a sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Love to stay at Traders--but stay on 9th floor with exec floor privileges. Staff very friendly and rooms are great. I love staying here and always look forward to seeing the friendly faces--but sad Kahn is gone--he was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here for five nights in February 2014, after researching many hotels in Abu Dhabi. It was my first trip to A.D., and I wanted a relaxing place with a beach, that was near a souk with dining options. For those unfamiliar with Traders, it's the hipper, lower-end sister of Shangri-La, and a good choice for those who want comfort, without paying for over-the-top luxury. I paid about $US140 per night, which felt just about right. The weather was cooler than I realized, so I didn't hang out at the hotel's small, private beach or bask by the pool on the 1st floor (2nd floor, for us Americans). Traders is next to the Souk Qaryat Al Beri, which is an expensive boutique mall, built in the style of a dark-wood fantasy souk with labyrinthine corridors and high-end, canal-front restaurants. The souk also has a grocery store, Lavanda, which is good for necessities and DIYers.

Pros:
-Clean, modern design...everything works as it should
-Seamless, complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel, a MUST for business-friendly hotels.
-Small but workable gym and swimming pool
-Free limited shuttle to major points in town, such as Marina Mall & Sheik Zayed Mosque
-Friendly service, especially the hostesses at the breakfast buffet
-Complimentary golf-cart shuttle and/or abra transport to neighboring souk and Shangri-La
-Easy access to Public Bus #32, which has a stop directly across the street.
-Well-prepared breakfast buffet with Indian and Chinese choices, but not many Arabic ones.
-TimeOut Abu Dhabi magazines in each room; helpful for planning
-Nice, shaded room balconies, perfect for a relaxing read or chat.
-Close to Sheik Zayed Mosque, a must-see for first-time visitors

Cons:
-Location is far from center of town, though free limited shuttle will take you into town in the morning, and to Yas Island as well. Taxi to mid-town Abu Dhabi (Central Bus Station) will cost about $US8-10.
-Front-desk person seemed perplexed when I asked about public bus, which I later discovered stops directly across the street.
-No spa at hotel, but guests may book at the pricy CHI Spa at the Shangri-la.
-Only one restaurant at Traders, which limits options for non-buffet meals.
-Next-door Souk's restaurants are relatively pricy, and only other options are eating at Fairmont or Shangri-La, which are even pricier.
-Saw birds attacking a just-abandoned breakfast plate on the outdoor terrace of Afya restaurant; maybe some bird control is needed.

Great value, delivers what it promises

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank DKYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear DKYoga , thank you very much for posting your feedback about your stay at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and services. Please rest assured that your kind compliments and as well as my thanks will be shared with the entire team. On the other hand I am disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met in a few occasions. Be assured that we have taken your feedback in a positive note and we will use it as a key to assist us in determining where additional efforts will be directed in order to maintain the standard that you have come to expect from the Traders brand. We trust that you will come back soon and the entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back then. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely modern hotel, great staff, great value. We stayed in a Club room with breakfast inc and 6-8 pm complimentary nibbles and ( alcoholic ) drinks in the lounge . A good selection of restaurants are a buggy ride away down at the main Shangri-la hotel. Great little beach. All drinks and food ,much cheaper than Dubai!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doyleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
9.9 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
9.7 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#22 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,368 reviews
11.2 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
5.4 mi away
Al Raha Beach Hotel
Al Raha Beach Hotel
#30 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi is a contemporary luxury hotel in Abu Dhabi situated ten minutes' drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and city centre. The hotel features 301 well-appointed rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern and contemporary style. Rooms start at a spacious 32 square metres and for travellers requiring the highest levels of service and attention, the hotel also offers 93 Traders Club rooms and suites with a dedicated lounge on the 9th floor. Additional benefits of staying at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi include the ease of access to a whole complex, including cross-signing privileges for CHI, the Spa at Shangri-La and Shangri-La operated restaurants and bars. All areas can be accessed by club cars, while just a short stroll away is the Abras (Arabic gondola) waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing