We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #34 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“love this hotel”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Love to stay at Traders--but stay on 9th floor with exec floor privileges. Staff very friendly and rooms are great. I love staying here and always look forward to seeing the friendly faces--but sad Kahn is gone--he was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    471
    100
    20
    33
See reviews for
353
564
125
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here for five nights in February 2014, after researching many hotels in Abu Dhabi. It was my first trip to A.D., and I wanted a relaxing place with a beach, that was near a souk with dining options. For those unfamiliar with Traders, it's the hipper, lower-end sister of Shangri-La, and a good choice for those who want comfort, without paying for over-the-top luxury. I paid about $US140 per night, which felt just about right. The weather was cooler than I realized, so I didn't hang out at the hotel's small, private beach or bask by the pool on the 1st floor (2nd floor, for us Americans). Traders is next to the Souk Qaryat Al Beri, which is an expensive boutique mall, built in the style of a dark-wood fantasy souk with labyrinthine corridors and high-end, canal-front restaurants. The souk also has a grocery store, Lavanda, which is good for necessities and DIYers.

Pros:
-Clean, modern design...everything works as it should
-Seamless, complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel, a MUST for business-friendly hotels.
-Small but workable gym and swimming pool
-Free limited shuttle to major points in town, such as Marina Mall & Sheik Zayed Mosque
-Friendly service, especially the hostesses at the breakfast buffet
-Complimentary golf-cart shuttle and/or abra transport to neighboring souk and Shangri-La
-Easy access to Public Bus #32, which has a stop directly across the street.
-Well-prepared breakfast buffet with Indian and Chinese choices, but not many Arabic ones.
-TimeOut Abu Dhabi magazines in each room; helpful for planning
-Nice, shaded room balconies, perfect for a relaxing read or chat.
-Close to Sheik Zayed Mosque, a must-see for first-time visitors

Cons:
-Location is far from center of town, though free limited shuttle will take you into town in the morning, and to Yas Island as well. Taxi to mid-town Abu Dhabi (Central Bus Station) will cost about $US8-10.
-Front-desk person seemed perplexed when I asked about public bus, which I later discovered stops directly across the street.
-No spa at hotel, but guests may book at the pricy CHI Spa at the Shangri-la.
-Only one restaurant at Traders, which limits options for non-buffet meals.
-Next-door Souk's restaurants are relatively pricy, and only other options are eating at Fairmont or Shangri-La, which are even pricier.
-Saw birds attacking a just-abandoned breakfast plate on the outdoor terrace of Afya restaurant; maybe some bird control is needed.

Great value, delivers what it promises

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank DKYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear DKYoga , thank you very much for posting your feedback about your stay at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and services. Please rest assured that your kind compliments and as well as my thanks will be shared with the entire team. On the other hand I am disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met in a few occasions. Be assured that we have taken your feedback in a positive note and we will use it as a key to assist us in determining where additional efforts will be directed in order to maintain the standard that you have come to expect from the Traders brand. We trust that you will come back soon and the entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back then. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely modern hotel, great staff, great value. We stayed in a Club room with breakfast inc and 6-8 pm complimentary nibbles and ( alcoholic ) drinks in the lounge . A good selection of restaurants are a buggy ride away down at the main Shangri-la hotel. Great little beach. All drinks and food ,much cheaper than Dubai!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doyleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Perfect Attendance Of Staff, Room Service, High Management Skills , Warm Pool With All Available Handy Tools For Your Full Satisfaction..... Morning Buffet At The Cafe Restaurant Is Great & Healthy ..... Crystal Memories...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us for and taking the time to post your review and observations through Trip Advisor, Sam M. I am extremely pleased to learn that you had a 'perfect escape' with us and It is indeed my pleasure to share your most encouraging feedback to the entire team for the high standard of customer services they have extended during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We saw advertised a number of events when walking past this hotel on the way to the souk.

We decided, on the basis of what was advertised, to go return to the hotel at our expense, to view one of the events.

When we arrived the advertising was still in place and we asked to be taken to the event. However we were then informed at the event was not being transmitted and was not available. We explained that that was unacceptable based on the fact that we had seen it advertised answer had made a special effort at our own cost to come to the hotel to see the event.

We were then told that basically it was tough luck. And despite the advertising the hotel would not be showing the event, goodbye.

What awful customer service, they advertised an event that they had no intention of showing. They refused to apologise to me and my wife and others who had amassed.

Management and security staff then arrived, did nothing and left without and explanation of what they were intending to do.

After 45 minutes of complete inactivity we left with no apology or even an offer of a drink or food.

Shoddy management and terrible customer service. Felt like I was a second class citizen. I would not recommend anyone going to this hotel if they expect to be looked after on holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dm170171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel - staff couldn't be more helpful. We were given use of the executive lounge because it was our honeymoon and there was a beautiful (and delicious) 'happy honeymoon' cake waiting in our room when we arrived. We stayed three nights on our way home from Australia. What a lovely place - will definitely be back for a longer stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Joanne C, we are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your honeymoon get away at Traders Hotel Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi. Thank you for your choosing to stay with us and for your kind compliments on our services and colleagues who have made your stay a special one. We look forward to welcoming you and your loved ones back soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in the Traders Hotel in Abu Dhabi from 22nd to 28th November 2013. (due to pressure of business I have not made a report yet) The Hotel was absolutely excellent:

The rooms spotless, the beds very comfortable, the wi-fi worked perfectly, the bathroom was superb (great shower, fluffy towels, sound system, phone, high class toiletries. perfect).

The staff were super professional, helpful, and did everything they could to make us comfortable. We were totally amazed at their dedication.

The beach is wonderful, especially as you can have cocktails, relax and eat there in the evening. They do barbecues to from time to time. Food is superb.

During the day he beach staff are so attentive, they provide you with a towel and seat immediately and a cool box to keep any drink you have cool. They make sure you have every comfort.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It is superb.

I am going to Singapore soon, and we have decided we will be staying at Traders in Singapore.

Room Tip: We changed our room so we could have some view of the sea. As we booked in at short notice we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADD331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property, ADD331. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay in Abu Dhabi with us and had an excellent experience all around. Thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments on the hotel services, facilities and colleagues for their helpfulness and attentiveness. There is certainly nothing more motivating to a service provider than to be acknowledged for a job well done and it's also my pleasure to share your comments as well as my thanks with all the team members. Once again, thank you for choosing Traders Hotel and we are all looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Abu Dhabi. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
9.9 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
11.0 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#41 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
9.7 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,644 reviews
11.2 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#33 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi is a contemporary luxury hotel in Abu Dhabi situated ten minutes' drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and city centre. The hotel features 301 well-appointed rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern and contemporary style. Rooms start at a spacious 32 square metres and for travellers requiring the highest levels of service and attention, the hotel also offers 93 Traders Club rooms and suites with a dedicated lounge on the 9th floor. Additional benefits of staying at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi include the ease of access to a whole complex, including cross-signing privileges for CHI, the Spa at Shangri-La and Shangri-La operated restaurants and bars. All areas can be accessed by club cars, while just a short stroll away is the Abras (Arabic gondola) waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing