We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Mosque” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheikh Zayed Mosque

Sheikh Zayed Mosque
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.00*
and up
City Tour of Abu Dhabi: Sheik Zayed Mosque, Emirates Palace, Marina Mall
Ranked #1 of 139 things to do in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
295 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mosque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is one of the nicest Mosques I have ever seen! Very clean, bright and friendly trained staff to take you around. Amazing place to take pictures to enjoy the luxury build quality. The staff are friendly and will explain to you everything about the Mosque without any cost. Women should wear long skirt or jeans with covered arms. They will provide you with head cover unless you bring your own. Men should wear long pants below the knee.

Highly recommended if you are visiting Abu Dhabi or Dhabi ( 50 min drive).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emirates_Arab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19,512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,678
    2,435
    304
    52
    43
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This somewhat jaded traveller was very very impressed. While the size of the Mosque gets your attention, the really stunning features are the intricate stonework, the glass, the colors and the use of water. If you are in the neighborhood, you must make time to visit this jewel. Even though we made a wrong turn, it was still an easy drive down from Dubai.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This mosque is certainly amazing, and not to be missed by any visitors to Abu Dhabi! The size of everything is overwhelming, particularly the chandelier inside.
Women must were an abaya before entering

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrissy118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“My bus tour started here....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you’re planning a trip to Australia, I would recommend breaking the journey for a 2-day stay (anywhere) en route. I chose Abu Dhabi only because there was a 2-for-1 (night) promotion at one of their hotels. After reading up on Abu Dhabi I looked forward to it as there was so much to do in this popular place! It was a splendid 2-day stop over…well worth it. Arriving at 2am from London in the humid night heat was a very pleasant but an incredible (culture) shock. I was whisked away to my hotel on Yaas Island in a very welcome air-conditioned taxi. I stumbled into the hotel…exhausted.
The next day (Mon).....I relaxed all day in the hotel by the pool.
Tuesday I had planned to take the Bus Tour of the city. You have to catch a shuttle-bus (11 am ) from outside another hotel (50 meters away) which joins the Main Tour Bus at Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque. I decided to visit the Mosque before leaving London….because I’d never been inside one before and because it looked so grand & majestic…….and indeed it was…..in fact it was more than that.
[Book your ticket for the tour at one of the hotels, but be careful because different hotels have different prices: they don’t tell you that …as well as the shuttle].
We sped along the motorway for the 20-minute drive to the Grand Mosque. It was an anticipatory and spectacular view as you approached it…..from any angle.
There are many superlative comments on these pages about the Grand Mosque. I shall add to them with:
Majestic, Magical, Mystical. It was an edifying experience. I particularly liked the rows & rows & rows of shoe racks.
As with any city bus tour it is hop-on-off with the next bus in 1 hr. I spent more than an hour there…...
We arrived back from the City Tour at 5.30 pm to catch the shuttle-bus back to the hotel. At dusk, again the Mosque looked majestic …which prompted more photo shoots from those on the bus.
Wed……off to Australia…what a lovely sunny morning for flying (14 hrs) ..I was alive, refreshed and looked forward to it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcnoel_005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

it’s a majestic trip I really love it . the mosque was really so blessed and you feel sentimental. I really advice every one visit Abu Dhabi to make that trip and make the visit to the mosque. It’s a life time experiences

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheikh Zayed Mosque also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Sheikh Zayed Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing