We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, very well priced but a bit off the beaten track”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One to One Hotel - The Village
Ranked #81 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Friendly, very well priced but a bit off the beaten track”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have just returned from a one-week business trip where the client booked me into this hotel. It is a very pleasant hotel and the layout, about 10 linked blocks, each with half a dozen rooms, makes a pleasant change from the usual high rise, high flash, high boredom factor of luxury hotels. Most of the individual blocks have a small splash pool on the upper floor and there is also a somewhat larger public pool in the adjacent dining/entertainment area known as The Village - of which more later. We got a very good corporate rate, which included full board. The only downside was that we were limited to eating in one of the several restaurants on-site and to the local style buffet served in that restaurant. I don't want to criticise the buffet because it was actually quite nice, but eating it seven days in a row got very boring and in the end we persuaded the management to give us an allowance against eating in one of the other restaurants. We have suggested that this would be a much better approach for future guests in our position.

It is a little bit off the beaten track and essentially surrounded by wasteland or building sites on three sides, but a taxi into the heart of the city will only cost you about two pounds. Every single member of staff was extremely helpful and congenial and I can only offer praise to all of them. On arrival, the receptionist looked at me (I'm 6' 4" and somewhat overweight) commented "our standard rooms have only got a single bed" and instantly upgraded me to a superior double room. This room was excellent. A king-size bed with high quality linen, a couple of chairs and sidetable and a very useful work area (see photograph); nibbles and minibar were expensive as usual and I was unable to get the air conditioning to warm the room up-perhaps it was designed purely to cool the room in this particular climate? The large bathroom, designed as a wet room, had a six-foot shower area that one end and all the usual facilities that you would expect.

Breakfast in the designated restaurant (they have five!) Resto!, comprised of a wider range of local and international dishes, pastries, cereals, fruit, hot items, cold buffets etc then we could sample even in a week and is thoroughly recommended. As I said above our dinner was supposed to be in The Village which is a very nice large and partly covered area clearly extensively used by locals the vast majority of whom were smoking shishas and playing cards, backgammon, chess or whatever with equipment provided by the hotel. A very informal atmosphere in this 300 seat area was supported by perfectly adequate entertainment each evening and if you really wanted you could watch football on the two massive screens at either end of the covered area. The local buffet, which as I said above, was unchanging from night to night, was a range of salad items and local dips, a selection of good breads, baked potatoes, assorted local and international vegetables and meats consisting of chicken kebabs, mutton kebabs, frankfurter style sausages, roast chicken, salmon, veal ribs and a couple of other items. Desserts were the usual range of sweet and sticky items that you expect in a hotel with the one delightful addition (my nightly favourite) of Middle Eastern bread pudding known as Umm Ali. The buffet is actually quite good but night after night it became boring.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel as a change from the usual big chains that leave you waking up one wondering where on earth you are this morning.

Room Tip: If travelling alone, the 'standard' room may only have a single bed - no good if you are 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeoffR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    149
    66
    57
    17
See reviews for
76
95
85
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is my second year to stay in this hotel. The ambience of the hotel is nice. Hospitality of the house keeping staff is excellent and very much appreciable. Cleanliness is well maintained. The rooms are big, nice and with all required amenities. Small supermarkets are within 7-8 minitues walkable distance and one big mall is within 5 min drive (AED 6) only from the hotel.

The only bad thing about this hotel is the receiption guys at night. They should learn something from housekeeping staff about the hospitality. They don;t greet the guests upon check in/out and also do not bother about the guests. The management should seriously review the receiption staff attitude to enhance the overall quality of hospitality of the hotel. I could have rated excellent if i could have seen the good hospitality from the receiption staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirish2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Very interesting setup
A small closed street with villas on both sides
The setup is very cozy, but the rooms are very plain with no view, also the hotel doesn't serve alcohol (their license expired according to staff)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Driving a car from Dubai, I was looking for a place easy to access with plentiful parking. No problem on either count. The Lebanese managed resort is both well run and low-key. Rooms are spread out among adjoining "villas". I was given a large but slightly dark irregularly-shaped room with good amenities. It was clean and the bathroom well-outfitted. It did have wireless internet access. I never did find a pool, but did not have much time for leisure. I got a very good internet rate and found it excellent value for money. Service was top notch. A surprise was the "beer garden" next door (obviously under the same management) which had a great vibe more typical of laid-back Beirut than sometimes rather uptight Abu Dhabi. Lots of Egyptians, Lebanese and Syrians smoking hokahs and yes, having drinks outdoors. The restaurant was wll-priced and food very good. Will attempt to stay when again in Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a brighter room via online enquiry or at reception. If available, I'm sure they wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed in On to One before and as always very helpful staff and very well furnished rooms. Got an upgrade as a returning guest. Breakfast was included in rate ( my rate anyway ) Would recommend it as a really nice hotel tucked away.

Room Tip: No real tip but since it is divided into "blocks" each one with about 8 rooms on (I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOTEL-CALIFORNIA-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hotel is laid out in the format of a number of buildings or Villas. The rooms seem a bit disjointed but the overall layout works and the rooms are large with all the normal amenities. Some of the rooms and particularly the bathrooms feel a bit old when compared to other modern hotels in the UAE. Service is very good and the rates were quite reasonable. Unfortunately some of the bars and restaurants were closed as they have not received their alcohol license yet. Internet access via wifi is free but limited to the reception areas only. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers staying a short time in Abu Dhabi and looking for value for money. If on holiday rather look at a resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to reception or in the same building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We recently stayed at the One to One hotel for a few days while the Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix was on. I would highly recommend this hotel as a good base for anyone visiting Abu Dhabi.

We arrived at 7am and thankfully our room was ready and waiting and there was no charge for the early check in. The rooms are very clean and confortable.
There are several resturants located in the complex so there is plenty of choice for food or you can just use the 24hr room service. If you are only staying for one night I would highly recommend the stake house resturant the food was fantastic.

The hotel is not located in downtown Abu Dhabi but it is very close to Abu Dhabi Mall and only costs 10 dhms by taxi to get to the mall from there you can grab a tour bus or go shopping. All the taxi drivers know where the hotel is so its very easy to get around.

For anyone visiting Yas Island for the formula 1 a taxi to the track only costs about 50 dhms about 20 mintues away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaAsher, Public Relations Manager at One to One Hotel - The Village, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for your kind recommendation we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with One to One Hotel. Yes, our Hotel is uniquely designed and centrally located and its ideal for business or leisure visitors, as either interest areas are just 10 mins away.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,
Jessica Asher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
6.5 mi away
Bin Majid Nehal
Bin Majid Nehal
#73 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
131 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
#85 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
354 reviews
6.3 mi away
City Seasons Al Hamra Hotel Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown
Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown
#53 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
699 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ramada Abu Dhabi Corniche
Ramada Abu Dhabi Corniche
#61 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
466 reviews
6.6 mi away
Swiss Hotel Corniche
Swiss Hotel Corniche
#115 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One to One Hotel - The Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One to One Hotel - The Village

Property: One to One Hotel - The Village
Address: Al Salam Street | Eastern Ring, Abu Dhabi 46689, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#67 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — One to One Hotel - The Village 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One to One Hotel - the Village, a tranquil urban sanctuary in the thriving heart of Abu Dhabi. This Abu Dhabi four-star hotel has opened its doors as a unique home-away-from-home for both high-profile business executives and weekend leisure travelers. Contemporary decor and casual ambiance evoke a liberating atmosphere of relaxation, creating a sense of calm throughout 128 guest rooms, world-class dining venues and modern meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One to One Hotel - The Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 To 1 Hotel - The Village
One To Hotel
One To Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing