We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rather bad experience”

Sahara Hotel Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Abu Dhabi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sahara Hotel Apartments
Ranked #112 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Positives-
Umm..need to think hard..
maybe just location.

Negatives-
Room size
Cleanliness
Quality of air conditioning
Smelly and leaky bathroom
Breakfast spread- only bread on offer
Price considering what was on offer and comparing with similar priced hotels across the road offering much better quality

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Manan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for almost 4 months, 2 months with family. This hotel location is in Electra street which is in the heart of the Abu Dhabi city. The only disadvantage I had was with car parking. It was difficult to get a parking infront of the hotel as the hotel doesn,t have its own parking area for those staying less than 6months contract. Else all other things were fine, the room service were excellent, furnitures were good. If you are from India, the TV channels will be very less and there were no South Indian channels.

Room Tip: If you are not interested to see the night views of the city, choose a room of the other side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Praveen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a pretty old hotel apartment in Abu Dhbai. I believe the location is fine - though it hardly matters in Abu Dhabi. Basically you cannot walk anywhere in that city and you should take a taxi to practically everywhere.

The room - or the apartment - is just too big for one and even two people. It might be good for a family who are planning to stay long. It is not bad to have a spacious apartment for that price, but it gets undesirable when they fail to clean it properly because of its size. There is a pretty big living room in which you cannot do anything but watch TV, while the TV is too small to watch from the other end of the room and in my case, the remote control was broken as well. The apartment was really smelly as well. The TV in the bedroom did not work properly either, and the bedroom in general was not clean - one could not take off his shoes there. The bed was smelly and uncomfortable and the room was not sound-proof so you could basically hear everything going on in the street. The bathroom was OK but not very clean and the toiletries were very basic and of low-quality. There was a big kitchen for which I had no use, but most appliances did not seem to work.

I have nothing against the staff - they were normal. Not as clean-cut and polite as you can see in most Abu Dhabi hotels though.

There was a room for using internet (not free). It was smelly as well. I don't know why, but everything in this hotel smells funny. You could not spend a long time in that room, seriously.

All in all, it is NOT a suitable hotel for businessmen, solo travelers and even couples. I would not stay there again. The price is low but you can find much better options in Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: I guess rooms in higher floors might be quieter. Lower floor rooms are really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have stayed here for months for one my project ib abu dhabi. They have chains of hotels but these service apartments instead of a hotel.The rooms are spacious and offer all the facilities required for living their as opposed to staying there. You shouldn't need to rely on the staff too much. Being in abudhabi, once can be in any of theri brancehs since its a smal place and taxis will be available everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhawalkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed at one of the 12 Sahara apartments for approximately 3 weeks. Nice one bed apartment with solid furniture. However, it ends there. The appliances don't work as it is supposed to. I could not work the washing machine/oven. The rent of 375Dhs per day was a bit too steep for the facilities offered. But then this is the cheapest you can get in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ram111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Difinitely apartments rather than a hotel. I stayed for 2 weeks. The rooms are spacious and offer all the facilities required for living their as opposed to staying there. You shouldn't need to rely on the staff too much.

Good Abu Dhabi location. There is parking but it can be a wait looking for a space. 15 minute or less walk from the Corniche and a pleasant part of town.

They have internet facilities and a gym. I didn't eat at the restaurant so I cannot make judgement on that. Generally, decent facilities in unfortunately quite a souless building.

Recommended for the longer-time stayer.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Progressive1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed at the Sahara residence for 1 month with family members, the building is perfectly centrally located. Basic does not even begin to describe this place, the rooms were ok, but the furniture was old and not very clean. Although they have a daily housekeeping service the cleaning staff, I can only assume, was not very well trained! I saw one of the cleaning ladies use the same cloth she used to clean the bathroom in the living room. I was shocked and had to ask them not to clean my room anymore, I bought my own cleaning products and did my own cleaning. (this is following complaining on at least 3 occasions without change)
The wifi never worked, even though they pride themselves with having a fully functioning cyber cafe on the 1st floor. And yes everyone smokes in there, so forget trying to enjoy 30 mins of internet time breathing clean air.
Scattered old furniture (not even the cute antique kind) don these apartments, and it's not the case that I had a bad apartment. NO!! They're all like this.
The staff at the front desk are incredibly rude, anytime I ask for something (like a spare key) they would chatter amongst themselves in their Tagalog and make it sound like I asked them to climb Everest. Any request no matter how big or small was received with a "do I really have to do this" kind of attitude.
We paid 12000 DHS for a 1 bedroom ($3200), This was more expensive than services apartments I lived in in Europe and the US. Not worth it at all!!!

And yes the Gym can hardly be called a gym!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0rldC1t1zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
City Seasons Al Hamra Hotel Abu Dhabi
9.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
4.5 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,327 reviews
14.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#27 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Hotel Apartments

Address: 2nd St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing