We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun but way overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chamas

Chamas
Ranked #23 of 2,039 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $80 - $140
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Latin, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: For those of you who don't know what a Brazilian Churrascaria is, InterContinental Abu Dhabi invites you to experience Chamas Churrascaria & Bar. Think endless skewers of freshly barbecued meat and chicken served by enthusiastic and knowledgeable Passadores until you tell them to stop. Add to this a South American music performed by "Los Hidalgos", and you've got one of the liveliest atmospheres in the city. Located above Chamas restaurant is Chamas bar famed for its Caipirinha creations, bustling ladies nights and juicy meat platters.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun but way overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

It's always got a good atmosphere and it's a fun concept (they bring various meats to your table to carve), but it's just too expensive and they sting you on insanely priced local water (which I thought they weren't allowed to do).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Finbar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    254
    66
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meat feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Not for the faint hearted - great Brazilian meats ever replenished. Make sure you dont leave your appetite at home as they keep the food coming until you turn your card to green.

My fave side is the grilled pineapple.

Value for money if you are hungry - smaller appetites a bit off value. But always a great place to go if celebrating a birthday etc or a group. - great atmosphere and friendly staff - meat eaters paradise!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BJCushion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brazilian Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Not to show off my skills in writing awesome titles but this restaurant is great nonetheless. Through my travels I have had dining experiences in Brazilian style restaurants and I can tell that Chamas is one of the better ones. It is holding the true value of the meat on a stick style, eating till your full with a gorgeous salad bar and a musical band to set the mood right. One negative that I ran through while dining was that I had to sit in the smoking area that they offer which was my mistake for calling a late reservation; if you're a non-smoker and happen to run to a similar situation I would recommend changing your plans. By the way, expect a heavy bill; it's a five star restaurant after all. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abdul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Chamas is a great brazilian steak house and the selections of meat was great, although, they could have turned the music alittle down as it was hard for me to hear the waiter explain to me the meat he was holding up, also most of the meat was well done or medium well, and i like a lot of my meats to be moist and juicy for better flavor. drinks were great, i recommend the vanilla Mojito.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BareeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“If you can to a Feat to Eat Meat, then go there:):)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Well
That was me second visit to the place
It is a good place for Meat lovers
you will be served there with endless amount of meat of all kinds (Veal, Lamb, Baffallows, Ducks, Chkicken...... all types of cookings

Hey man you have to go there starving, you will get a really good a mount of food , good for a week

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kozomozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamas also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Chamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing