We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its affordable and tasty”

Samurai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #377 of 2,073 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Samurai Restaurant is offering delicious Sushi and Yakiniku Japanese grills and orher Japanese Dishes since 2005 in Abu Dhabi.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“its affordable and tasty”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

i used to live in abu dhabi, and now i just visit abu dhabi on a monthly basis since i'm in doha now. I like their selections of different maki, sushi, sashimi and their bento boxes. its affordable yet its tasty, the service staff were all good and accomodating. the only problem is the parking.. well whats new? its abu dhabi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good sushi and Japanese food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants for Japanese food in Abu Dhabi. Unlike the glamour restaurants in the big hotels, Samurai offers a simple yet pleasant setting and most important good food, decent prices and friendly staff.
I personally do not like going to a hotel to have dinner that is why I prefer the stand alone restaurants in the city.
Try the butter fish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielZamfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“japanese food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

if you want good and affordable japanese food in the city. try this one. sumo is better but it is located in masdar city. this one is closer

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoshCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tasty food. Decent portion size. Medium price tag. Service requires attention”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Samurai restaurant is tucked away in the busy old MENA area. MENA is scattered with some of Abu Dhabis oldest apartment buildings tightly packed together which means parking can be a nightmare.

Once you find Samurai which is very close to the Capital Hotel you will be greeted by a few members of staff who open the door for you to be seated in a rather cold outdated restaurant. However you go to MENA area you don't expect five star dining. As you get seated you are presented with a fantastic picture menu of Japanese food.

There are so many dishes to choose for. Anyone wonders how such a small kitchen can handle the number of dishes on the menu. I have been a handful ofttimes so I ordered the teriyaki salmon, grilled cuttlefish and eel. The food is very quick and prepared by good chefs. I did ask if there were any Japanese people present in the restaurant but the waitress said it was Pilipino only so don't expect them to have a vast knowledge of the dish they prepare for you.

Food here is tasty and rather affordable for a Japanese restaurant. The staff are not amazing and in general a little moody but this is acceptable considering the area we are in and he general level of customer service in this great land :). Japanese is notoriously expensive especially in Abu Dhabi so if you want affordable Japanese cuisine where there isn't a lot of choice I would place Samurai as Number One. Go check it out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COOPSTheNaughtyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I m waiting for the next time I will be there!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Amazing. We sent there this week it was the first time for me. Fresh sushis, personal very pleasent and good service. Number one of Japanese restaurant in Abu dhabi. Authentic !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samurai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Samurai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing