We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food. Decent portion size. Medium price tag. Service requires attention”

Samurai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #377 of 2,073 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Samurai Restaurant is offering delicious Sushi and Yakiniku Japanese grills and orher Japanese Dishes since 2005 in Abu Dhabi.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tasty food. Decent portion size. Medium price tag. Service requires attention”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Samurai restaurant is tucked away in the busy old MENA area. MENA is scattered with some of Abu Dhabis oldest apartment buildings tightly packed together which means parking can be a nightmare.

Once you find Samurai which is very close to the Capital Hotel you will be greeted by a few members of staff who open the door for you to be seated in a rather cold outdated restaurant. However you go to MENA area you don't expect five star dining. As you get seated you are presented with a fantastic picture menu of Japanese food.

There are so many dishes to choose for. Anyone wonders how such a small kitchen can handle the number of dishes on the menu. I have been a handful ofttimes so I ordered the teriyaki salmon, grilled cuttlefish and eel. The food is very quick and prepared by good chefs. I did ask if there were any Japanese people present in the restaurant but the waitress said it was Pilipino only so don't expect them to have a vast knowledge of the dish they prepare for you.

Food here is tasty and rather affordable for a Japanese restaurant. The staff are not amazing and in general a little moody but this is acceptable considering the area we are in and he general level of customer service in this great land :). Japanese is notoriously expensive especially in Abu Dhabi so if you want affordable Japanese cuisine where there isn't a lot of choice I would place Samurai as Number One. Go check it out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COOPSTheNaughtyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I m waiting for the next time I will be there!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Amazing. We sent there this week it was the first time for me. Fresh sushis, personal very pleasent and good service. Number one of Japanese restaurant in Abu dhabi. Authentic !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine- Egypt- Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good sushi place”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

very cheap clean place with real sushi , always fresh and nice service, very small place , but very good because its veru calm

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelerNatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Little gem not to be missed”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The restaurant itself is very simple (decoration is minimal), BUT FOOD IS FANTASTIC!! Ok, here it goes - sushi, sashimi - the freshest fish, excellent cuts, very good variety. We like going to the two back tables with a grill, and cook our meats on the grill as well. Meats are very thinly cut, well marinated, so everything cooks within minutes, and my kid (9 years old) loves cooking on the table grill and serve us the food. Rice is sticky, as it is supposed to be. If you are looking for Japanese food (without the expensive atmosphere), this is a great place. The only problem is that it is not on a taxi route, so you will have to walk about 5 minutes to the big road (an impossible task in the middle of summer!) - but they also deliver!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Bursting with Flavor!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I tried several Japanese restaurants in Abu Dhabi but I didn't find one as good as little place. Although the "red everything" interior is not very atmospheric, they make up for it with the food. The menu is varied & the mismatched plates felt very homey. I highly recommend the Dragon maki rolls, the tempura is to die for!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsMedieval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samurai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Samurai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing