We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very beautiful”
Review of Kan Zaman

Kan Zaman
Ranked #38 of 107 Restaurants in Damascus
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very beautiful”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

it's old house veryy beautiful become a resturent full of histories stories ..his food is imazing.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank lolo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Casual Outing”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The best casual place to meet friends and family. The food is ok and the atmosphere is great.

Helpful?
Thank HalaMejanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Rude Waiters, Bad Service”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I can't imagine how rude were the waiters, refused to let us inside the restaurant claiming that all tables were reserved! after trying to go there many times, i discovered that food was terrible, and service was very bad.
I went there couple of years ago, it was amazing, but now, i don't recommend it.
The only good thing about that restaurant is the old decoration.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anas_assad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
452 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“What Can you Say Bad About Bet Jabri?”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Nothing! This is still one of the top five restaurants in the Old Town of Damascus Syria!!

I only wish they would serve a full service bar, as with this top food you need a nice glass of wine or Arak to wash it down!!

The the Homus and Yougert,it is one of the best in the country!!

The atmosphere really is one of the best dinner sites in all of the Old City of Damascus!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ThomasfromDamascus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely informal cafe/restaurant in the old city of Damascus”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

You will need a map to find Bet Jabri which is tucked away down an inauspicious looking Damascus alleyway but it is worth hunting out. The restaurant occupies an enormous and very pretty courtyard of an old family home. It is bustling and pleasant and a good stop for a lunch, dinner or just a snack or refreshing drink. We thought the food was very good - it was possibly the best falafel I have ever had. We had a bit of a hiccup with service but I don't know if this was typical of Bet Jabri and there was much apologising after one of our dishes appeared to have been forgotten and had to be asked for a couple of times. Ultimately it didn't spoil our experience at all and I would definitely recommend a visit to Bet Jabri.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixie_dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kan Zaman also viewed

 
Damascus, Syria
 

Been to Kan Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing