We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Damascus”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Seasons Hotel Damascus
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Damascus”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

This is a proper world class hotel and a very welcome addition to the Syrian hotel scene... hopefully the first of a good bunch, since a Movenpick is currently being built and Kimpinski should be starting building soon!

After not the best introduction to Syria with the airport and journey to the hotel, it's great to arrive at the grand lobby and be greeted by good looking men and women staff. Service is what you'd expect from a five star hotel and the rooms are more than adequate. I had a great view over the park and city from my room.

I've been several times to the restaurants in the hotel, which are decent quality but very expensive, particularly relative to Syrian prices. The buffet breakfast is good, but a shame that it's not included in the room rate.

The Damascus mall just around the corner has a good selection of quality shops and cafe's, with more to come... you can also walk to the Old Town, which is great if you're only visiting Damascus so don't have a car.

Beware of taxis trying to rip you off outside the hotel... be very insistent that they switch on the meter! And if you value safety, pay extra for the hotel taxis over the yellow taxis... the hotel ones should have seat belts in the back. If you need help then don't hesitate calling one of the helpfull bell boys over to explain in Arabic.

Regarding the pool, it's true that it doesn't get sunlight all day, but I enjoyed sun to 6 pm when I stayed. The pool quickly gets cold though.

I really enjoyed my stay here and it's a very pleasant way of getting familiar with Damascus. It's undoubtedly the best hotel in Damascus (and Syria) at present (although I've heard there's a nice boutique hotel in the old town...).

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnymaserati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    31
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
26
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Always the same rooms all aroud the world with a cold lobby. Could be more creative. No plasma or LCD, strange for a four or five star. However this is the only hotel in Damascus that reaches the international standard.
Conclusion: No surprise and no adventure but consistency.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulysse_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Second visit to Syria- the previous occasion was in 2001 when hotels weren't quite up to European standards. All change now- this was outstanding in every respect. Friendly, helpful staff, excellent comfortable rooms and overall high service quality. A choice of restaurants with a lounge serving the best mint tea on the planet.

It's very busy- the lobby is clearly somewhere to be seen in- so not ideal for a quiet getaway- and it's obviously international in flavour. But overall probably the best hotel in Damascus.

  • Liked — Excellent service quality
  • Disliked — Very busy
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Where do I start? We booked this for one night and it turned into six nights! We thought we couldn't check in until 3pm but this wasnt the case - we checked in around 11am. After staying one night at the Safir Zeinab this came as a gorgeous treat. Shiny polished floor, immaculate appearance of all the staff, friendly and so professional. We were upgraded to executive suite which had the greatest balcony (we were on the 8th floor) overlooking the Tekiye Suleimaniye mosque. Our room was luxurious with everything (ok no tea/coffee making facility). We even asked for an iron and got one along with an ironing board. I collected all my l'occitane toiletries to bring home! Only downside was that my husband asked them to have rose petals on the bed and they didn't do this until an hour after we had checked in. So I got the surprise but from coming out of the bathroom lol! They did arrange a lovely candle lit dinner for us. We simply ordered a take away (cheaper) and they put it altogether for us. The highest point was the chocolate cheesecake along with flowers and fruit cocktail my husband asked them to arrange. Sami and Fadi, thank you so much! Nothing was too difficult... we tried to go to another hotel and called through the concierge. They even called KFC to ask if their chicken was imported or not! (don't ask!). It is pricey although we got a deal with being upgraded but it's so worth it. After a long day walking it's lovely to come back to the serenity of your room. You can see amazing views from each side of the hotel - love the one with Mount Qasioun. Breakfast was great but the same everyday (ok, so now i'm nit picking!). Don't try to get a taxi from outside, they'll over charge. It's usually only around 100 liras to the Old city. Do go for a taxi ride to the mountain at night to see the city and check out the small arts and crafts market left of the Tekiye Suleimaniye as they sell authentic arts, crafts and silver. I miss Damascus sooo much!!

  • Liked — s
  • Disliked — No free Internet! Stuck up residents!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank onetinywish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Level 6 Contributor
1,151 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

This is the best place to start and possibly finish a trp to Syria.
Here is a short review:

ROOMS
absolutely topnotch, roomy, no AC noise, great view, good wet-room area

BARS / Breakfast
XO Bar- a bit expensive, but vying to be an international congnac bar. Excellent staff. Breakfast was a wonderful trip - the freshly squeezed OJ will stick for a while, a superb mixture of East and West.

FACILITIES
pool is a bit small (15x8 maybe), but apparently little used by the clients; we had it pretty much for ourself. Brand new equipment in the GYM, which has good trained staff.

RECEPTION
Ueber-friendly, like on a mission to convince you, the guest, that they are the best; and Yes, they are the best; got a fw good restaurant recommendations (Cafe Orient) and it all worked well.

OTHERS
While you can observe this Hotel to be the Nr 1 place to do business in Syria, its not necessarily uncomfortable for tourists on a Syria-tour. Its also worth the money.

Go!

  • Liked — Desire to deliver Syria as a freindly, worthwhile country to visit
  • Disliked — to pay for internet, a small charge
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I was glad we had opted for the Four Seasons at both start and end of our Syrian adventure, upset tummies made it a welcome haven at the end. The staff were helpful and friendly, ok so the extra prices are a bit hefty but our exec room was superb if a little noisy from the road but the balcony helped baffle it a bit. Opposite the National Museum and in a good area, three very good restaurants and superb breakfast selections. Their BMW service to the airport was well worty while for the help there getting through the chaos. Bed most comfortable, top French toiletries, super quality sheets. Only minus the smoking .

  • Liked — superb standard of food and quality rooms
  • Disliked — the smoking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

This was our first visit to Syria, starting in Damascus , then into the desert and on to Aleppo. The Four Seasons is not cheap but worth every penny. Magnificent cool lobby and warm welcoming staff. Breakfasts were exactly ;what you should get at a 5 star hotel\; almost bewildering in the variety of food available, with charming service. The hotel provides a welcome retreat from the hectic dusty streets of Damascus, and the excitement of the souks in the Old City, a short taxi ride away or a 15 minute walk. We loved Syria and this was the perfect start; sadly the other hotels did not compare with the quality we enjoyed at the Four Seasons. Avoid Cham hotels if you can.

Arnold, Manchester

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Damascus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Damascus

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Damascus
Address: Shukri Al Quatli Street | PO Box 6311, Damascus, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Damascus 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Damascus
Four Seasons Damascus
Damascus Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing