We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Damascus”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Seasons Hotel Damascus
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Reviewed January 25, 2012

...for sure.
Stayed there in September 2010 for five nights.
Location is very good, rooms are nice.
Food is absolutely great, especially in the Syrian restaurant. They do have a good wine selection and do know how to make good cocktails.
Staff is what really makes the difference, they were all great, true proof of Middle Eastern hospitality.
It was not cheap but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreea2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 141 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed here one night in December but have eaten here many times over past few years.

I got a very good rate on the room, which is not surprising given the current circumstances, however meals etc are very expensive, set at top international rates in a country where such rates are approaching extortionate. Although the food and service are very good, I'd recommend popping round the back of the hotel to the mall for coffee and breakfast or the handful of food restaurants in the side streets beyond the mall if you're on a budget.

What the hotel lacks is an indoor pool (it's only warm enough to swim in the summer) and the pool area is generally a bit small.

Overall though, great hotel and I'll miss the friendly and helpful staff and hope they will pull through the current bad times and flourish at the end of it!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonnymaserati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I have visited this property four times in 2011 and each time, given the challenges facing the staff, everyone, and I mean everyone, works tirelessly to be of assistance; to anticipate and be kind. From the moment you arrive at the airport in Damascus, where a representative awaits to when you arrive at the hotel and the staff shares a warm greeting, the Four Seasons Damascus delivers a quality experience. The restaurants are great- traditional Syrian cuisine and Italian along with international selections. When I showed an interest in a pasta dish, but also wanted to have fish, the waiter asked, not suggested, if he might bring a small portion of the pasta and then the fish.... anticipation of desires is what makes a good hotel staff.

The concierges are amazing! They are always seeking to create the most interesting experiences- whether by walking, car, train, or aircraft. They also have access to the best tour guides.

My Virtuoso-affiliated agency, New Act Travel of Los Angeles, handles my reservation. I am always upgraded. The rooms are incredibly comfortable.

Knowing of my interest in trains, my room once had a huge chocolate cake shaped like a train. On another occasion, a battery-operated train was circling the coffee table as I entered the room.

The Spa is fantastic too. The therapists are from various Four Seasons properties, so there is always an interesting mixture of experiences. The spa staff is immensely kind.

Four Seasons Damascus should be on everyone's list....

Room Tip: All of the rooms offer great views- the higher the better. Suite 709 is a favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnKavulich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at the Four Seasons Damascus in 2011 for 5 days. I think the Four Seasons is the only "real" Five Star Hotel in town. Location is great. We used to walk to most attractions in the city. Food was great, especially in the Syrian restaurant.
There is also a kind of a small shopping arcade just next to the hotel with cafes.
the staff at the hotel were very friendly and every day we got some syrian sweets or speciality treats in our room in the afternoon. I also enjoyed the view from the hotel room over the entire city, especially at night. Spa prices were over the top, so we didn't use it.
If I ever went back to Damascus, I would definitely stay there again. Internet use in the hotel is also very expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiIbnbattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

From the perfect location facing the national museum & the suleimaniah to the amazing food selection, it's almost guaranteed that you'll enjoy your stay!
The lobby has an amazing good vibe & conviviality feel...The staff is very friendly & English litterate
Al Halabi restaurant offers famous traditional dishes from Aleppo, breakfast buffet is one of the best I've seen throughout my travels.
If i would change anything in the hotel, it would be banning the smoking section.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

we have been there four wedding it was really nice , we had nice time there and every thing was orgnized as it has to be , the food is great .. but the location is so bad for traffic

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loshi_meslemani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Nice hotel, awesome breakfast, very good Four Seasons quality standard service. Facade of hotel is a bit ugly, but thats neither here nor there. This hotel is Four Seasons quality on every level. Beware of multiple exchange rate conversions on check-out- they'll claim thats enforced upon it by the authorities (they're probably right), but disclosure with respect to the implication to the quoted rates is not clear- you'll end up paying meaningfully more than you bargained for if you're a dollar customer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrekker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Damascus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Damascus

Address: Shukri Al Quatli Street | PO Box 6311, Damascus, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Damascus 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Damascus
Four Seasons Damascus
Damascus Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing