We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget-style hotel for Damascus”
Review of Afamia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Afamia Hotel
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“good budget-style hotel for Damascus”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

On both of our stays at the Afamia, we were upgraded to a newly renovated triple room, which was much roomier than the doubles. The rooms were basic, but were a good deal, given Damascus standards. We found the staff to be helpful, and the breakfasts were good. The location was about 15 minutes from the Old Town. We would highly recommend eating at Al Kawali restaurant on Straight Street in the Old Town. Normally, we like to try different restaurants when we travel, but this one was so good and such good value that we had dinner there several nights, trying different dishes each time, and all were delicious.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
39
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2010

As we were planning to have an early arrival at Damascus airport (4 am), we made a reservation for the night of arrival to get some sleep after a tiring flight. It turned out that the hotel was fully booked at arrival despite our reservation and they suddenly "couldn't find' our reservation in the bookingsystem. They told us to try to get some sleep in the lobby so they could try to get us another room in a few hours after somebody else had checked out. After a few hours we still hadn't heard anything and went to ask if there was a room available. The hotelmanager replied rudely: no booking, no room, and laughed at us. So we had to leave after hours of waiting and had to find another hotel. Our experience with Afamia was really bad.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avellino, Italy
Level Contributor
259 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Forget the atmosphere of a boutique hotel. Afamia is hosted in a modern concrete building and has no atmosphere to offer, but the rooms are comfortable, wth A/C TV and good WC, they serve breakfast and - most of all - the hotel is perfectly located behind the Main Post Office, 50 metres from Hijaz Square and 5 minutes walk from the Souq, the Old City and the Citadel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photos_On_The_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

clean and basic, within walking distance to the old city, they also arranged transportation to Baalbeck for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Location is OK - quite far away from the old town (say 15 min to the citadel, 20 to the Omayad mosque. And I walk pretty fast - there's no chance you'll make it in 10 min as others claimed here.) though. Still, it's quiet and with restaurants / food stalls and shops nearby.
Rooms are pretty derelict though - old & broken furniture, dirty carpets and the first room I had came with a bathroom that was only 6'2'' (while I am 6'4''). "Low" also describes the bathroom in general pretty well.
Breakfast was good.
It seems there are one or two floors which have been renovated - the rooms there are probably better.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We originally planned to stay at the Afamia for a total of 5 nights, using it as a base to return to from trips to other cities, and from Lebanon. When we unexpectedly needed a room for an extra night, it turned out the hotel was going to be full. However, Afamia's owner, Mr Akbik, offered us a room at his other, 4* hotel at Afamia's 3* price. (This hotel, the Beit AkBik, opened this year and is a dream of quality service and fantastic rooms, review elsewhere!)
The Afamia is in a brilliant location: ten minutes walk to the Old City Souk and less than that to the Central part of town, with lots of banks, pharmacies and modern shops. The rooms have dark, heavy furniture, but are very clean and well-looked after. The staff are unfailingly helpful, polite and good-natured. We would certainly stay again - a bargain, given location, staff and cleanliness!
(Just one thing to note: there is a decent place to eat just around the corner, very close to the ( now closed) picturesque Hejaz Station - otherwise, walk down to the Umaayad Mosque and eat at Leilas' with it's licensed rooftop restaurant.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Finding a hotel room in Damascus online was not an easy job so as soon as we found this hotel, we reserved it. We were a bit scared they wouldn't respect our reservation but we confirmed two days prior to arrival and everything was fine. The room was perfect and very clean. Breakfast was alright. The staff was polite and helpful, except for the guy who walked us to our room - he carried my husband's suitcase but not mine. What a gentleman!
The location was great, halfway between the souq / old city and the new city. There were banks, pharmacies and restaurants nearby. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHeikkinens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Afamia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afamia Hotel

Property: Afamia Hotel
Address: Furat Street | Omayad Square, Damascus 5565, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Afamia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing