We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go try it ...... you will love it”

Swiss International Omayad
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss International Omayad
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Damascus, Syria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“go try it ...... you will love it”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed in Syria for 8 days , and in Omayad Hotel for 2 nights .
Rooms are clean and big , staff are all friendly and always smiling .
Restaurant is very good.
Location is perfect as city center .....
I recommend this hotel very much , we fall in love with Syria, and Omayad hotel was one of the reasons

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mariachahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
13
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is the fourth time I stayed at the Oamyyad Hotel during my business trip. I very much like the rooms and find them spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The bed is firm and provides a great night sleep and there is a nice variety of Arabic and foreign TV programs. The front desk staff has always been pleasant and efficient and the Internet service has significantly improved in terms of speed and coverage. I was able to stay in touch with my US university the entire time I was in Damascus. The hotel location is excellent and there are so many restaurants and shops nearby. I had a great stay and would definitely stay there during my next visit to Damascus.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
16 Thank malbatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Hotel is ideally situated both for business and leisure trip (15 minutes walk to the old city)
Rooms are clean, quite big, beds are confortable and Wireless internet works well in the room
Panoramic restaurant is nice, with a great view
Breakfast is correct
Service is good, check in /out fast and efficient
I will surely come back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank François S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Very comfortable and friendly hotel, well situated for business and tourism

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank terryff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel was wonderful. Friendly staff and beautiful grounds.The owner was at the property and made sure that all the guest were having a nice time while staying at the hotel. Location was great and easy to get to. We will be staying at this hotel anytime we are in Damascus again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
53 Thank italiadamascus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Top quality /price ratio in damascus! Omayad hotel offers huge rooms, good wifi connection and perfect location for business travellers also 10 min walk from old town damascus.

Service is very friendly and always looking to help. Breakfast is more of a brunch, offering a large variety of arabic and european specialties.

If you get a chance to discuss with the Director and go through the hotel's gold book, Omayad hotel will take you through Syrian historiy starting in the 50s. Today, Omayad hotel is also famous for its very good restaurants (including Whisper on ground floor) and "Z bar" a must see top roof bar which takes Damascus awake until dawn. This mix of old style/new style together with great guest care makes the hotel a great place to say.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank valettej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I have stayed at the Omayad several times and is is fast becoming part of the pleasure of my trips to Syria. The only real gripe I have as a business traveller is the problem every time with the internet system, which is probably more to do with Sytel than the hotel. It is a pity that can't be fixed. The staff really are helpful, if sometimes just a little unsmiling, and will do anything to solve the prblem and I like staying there as a result. The Dedeman is a more expensive, polished, hotel if you want to spend the money, and the 4 seasons is there if you have a high budget - but the Omayad is solid, reliable, and worth investigating, with some interesting architectural features, and loads of Italian Carrera marble that they have tried to keep authentic. The owner is hospitable and friendly and tries to sort any small problems if he is around. I have arrived early morning and they have always organised a room for me.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jeremy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss International Omayad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss International Omayad

Property: Swiss International Omayad
Address: 1 Brazil Avenue | PO Box 7811, Damascus, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss International Omayad 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 Star Deluxe Hotel owes its name to the great Dynasty of Omayad Caliphs, whom established their Capital in the historic city of Damascus. Swiss International Omayad has long been the choice of Senior State guests; as well as prominent Arab and International figures from the political, social and artistic world; making it an important and distinguished hub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Omayad Hotel Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing