We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The National Museum of Damascus
Save
Review Highlights
Very nice garden and museum

I enjoyed the walk in the garden and loved the museum. If you're a history lover then it's a must... read more

Reviewed June 22, 2016
Ahmed A
via mobile
See the "Cradle of Civilization".

I visited Syria in 2012 from 10 May - 22 August '12. Yes, indeed it was a very long visit. Yhe... read more

Reviewed March 28, 2013
Aziz I
,
Dhaka Division, Bangladesh
Read all 42 reviews
  
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
11
8
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
8
1
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

From its entrance related to the original facade of "Qaser el Kheir al Sharqi" till the amazing sinagoge inside of Doura Europous, it's amazing to discover this museum h Damascus !!! Remember that you are going to see here the first cuneiform alphabet of the WORLD founded in the city of Ugarit ( Latakia ) ✌

1  Thank alfonz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Being here is your chance to go back in time
I enjoyed seeing the old stuff and learning about old times in Damascus
You have to visit this when you are in Damascus

Thank Georgemarrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017

Although only the garden exhibition is accessible and also this part, besides the museum and its annexes, would urgently be in need of maintenance, I give here an 'Excellent' overall rating for this amazing Syrian historical heritage site, which is located about a kilometer north-east of Omayyad Square adjacent to Barada river. The reception at the gate was very courteous and friendly, and given that only the garden area is currently accessible, they have waived the entrance fee. It's a beautiful very old garden with numerous ancient shady trees and bushes and a pond with a goose family, which seemingly enjoys the peaceful environment. Near the entrance there is a coffee shop were people meet for a chat and have a rest. The garden with its vast exhibition and its countless very old and different precious pieces from various eras is a real treasure for history interested visitors but also for persons who just like a peaceful, green environment in the center of a busy and at times noisy city. Its a place to relax, seat on one of the many available benches, or walk around also when it is sunny and hot [...] the park is spending shade and moiste and time flies by. However, Syria with its great capital Damascus has certainly seen and experienced a whole lot in the past centuries, and after more than six years of difficult times, all its inhabitants really deserve now that the time changes and gets better, and may peace finally prevail for this country to get back on its feet in one piece in order to approach once again a bright, prosperous and 'golden' future.

2  Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed the walk in the garden and loved the museum. If you're a history lover then it's a must visit for you.

Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016

It appears that the museum proper has been closed for most of the past four years, but the garden surrounding it remains open with an entrance fee of 750 Syrian pounds. There are several archaeological bits and pieces dotted round the garden but sadly none of them are labelled so it's difficult to know what period they come from. The garden has an air of total neglect, which is a pity as even under the present conflict situation so many of the public areas in Damascus are surprisingly well maintained. Unfortunately not really worth visiting at present.

2  Thank Lissacaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016

I visited in summer 2010 and was very impressed with the collection in this museum. They really highlighted the different eras of history in Syria. It was very nice to see.

Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

We travelled to Damscus during Christmas 2009. The National museum was definitely one of the highlights of the trip . Staff were extremely helpful especially one particular security personnel who showed us an unexhibited mosaic of Alexander the Great . There were a few un catalogued Roman statues in the garden. It's a pity tourism has come to a halt.

Thank Wishdocbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2015

When I visited it in 2000, it was very interesting to discover so ancient pieces which remain parts of the human history. Syria was known as a country where people from different cultures and religions were used to leave together in peace. Hope this will be again the case in future.

3  Thank 270GianlucaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2014

Excellent museum with world class collection of sculpture and artifacts, the building is impressive as well specially the façade which was the gateway to Qasr al-Heer al-Gharbi

2  Thank WassimSyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I visited Syria in 2012 from 10 May - 22 August '12. Yes, indeed it was a very long visit. Yhe museum is located between Damarose and Four seasons hotel at Shoukry al-Qouwatly St, Damascus, Syria. Here you can sense the dawn of civilization....how it started. If my memory does not betray me, then you will be able to see old relics as old as 5000-10000 years and more beyond. the museum is not arranged in a very flambouyant style, but you can really see "history itself", much oldier than the Egyptian one. I liked lot of things there and also those were at times "eye openers" for me. I hope the authority will rearrange and decorate it more nicely once the fighting is over. The people of Syria are so friendly that you will like to stay there few more days. I loved them. I always pray to the Almighty that they are free from the curse of war. Thanks to all of you who read this review. (I hope to post some photos later)

7  Thank Aziz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews