We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So Hotel, Nice Location”
Review of Semiramis Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Semiramis Hotel
Ranked #39 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The best aspect of this hotel was its proximity to the Old City of Damascus, just 4 or so blocks away from the entrance to the souk. And breakfast was pretty nice, particularly the made-to-order omelettes.

The first room I had had a very small shower, and accoustics such that I could hear a phone conversation from the room next door. The AC was not turned on at the hotel, despite temperatures outside up to 80. The only way to get the temperature down in the room was by opening a window and letting in all the noise and fumes from the traffic. This room had no hair dryer, and despite requesting one 3 times, I never had the use of a hair dryer.

The second room, on the 6th floor, was larger, but the without the AC working, I had to have maintenance open a window with their small wrench. Very inconvenient for temperature control. Again, issues with the traffic fumes, even at that height.

The business center offered 1 free hour of computer time, although the computer was extremely slow at times, both to boot and to use.

The hotel's Italian restaurant had OK mezzes, but the main courses were always cold. Our group ate there 3 nights, and that was the case each night.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 30 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2010

1/ at the recepion they dont respect you espasially the woman with bl...

2/ they never clean the carpet inside the room
3/ the only smile persons at the breakfast time
4/ at the restoran in the 1floor some one does not know what is politeness

Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
3  Thank pitsi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

I stayed for 7 nights at this hotel. The location is great, walking distance to the old city, Souk Hamidiyah and the Hamidiyah mosque. The breakfast is nice too. The rooms are big but a little faded, the beds are too soft and the tv shows only the channels of a free satellite provider. The only useful channel to a non Arabic speaker was BBC World. The front desk was quite unhelpful and had severe language problems with English (and no French or German either). The airconditioning was just too bad, the rooms were either too hot or too cold and one could not change the setting. One evening the setting was set to hot and the room was very warm, when I approached the front desk all that they could do was have a window opened but that was worse because of the roar of traffic and so had to be closed soon. Wi-fi internet access in the room was very expensive, billed by the hour. One terminal in the very small business centre provided free internet access but the connection was so slow that it was almost impossible to read or send e-mails. The other problem was with local money, the small amount of local money that remained with me at the time of check-out was not accepted by the hotel, they insisted on payment in Euros or US dollars and any change was returned in the local currency! All in all, I will not stay at this hotel again if I have a choice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indianguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

A large modern hotel with comfortable rooms, close to the National Museum and the western end of the Old City. The breakfast restaurant is fairly scruffy, and the pizzeria is not up to much. Apart from breakfast, eat out. Wifi internet available in rooms, at a reasonable price. Expensive. Most credit cards accepted.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank IanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

The problem occurred in the Chinese restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. I paid for my meal with a VISA credit card. The server took the card away, and it took a long time for the card to be returned - in itself not too strange in the Middle East where credit cards aren't widely used. By the next day, the information on my card had apparently been sold online and a fraudulent card had been manufactured and was being used in Montreal. As this was the only time on my trip that I used this card, there is no doubt as to where the theft of the information happened.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
3  Thank GattaMelata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

I agree with previous comments in that this hotel is a bit dated, but staff are OK; location is great but you need to insist on a room at the front to avoid the generator noise and rubbish piled up. I'd rate this as a 3+ star but not a western European 4 star and certianly not 5 star. Would stay again if in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

The Semiramis claims a 5 star rating, but sadly those days are long gone. I spent four days of a business trip there and, as other reviewers have pointed out, this hotel is largely unchanged from the 70's and feeling its age. On the plus side, the staff were generally friendly and helpful despite a few language problems (why do TA reviewers always assume hotel staff should have perfect English?), and the room spotlessly clean. Unfortunately, the air conditioning was very loud and my windows were sealed. The minibar didn't work at all.. The pools remained closed despite the heat, and there is nowhere to have a quiet drink - the restaurant charging a hefty cover charge for non-diners - so I never got to see the famous belly dancers!.. Despite the above the Semiramis has a certain quirky style that I quite enjoyed. Its location close to the old town and the souks is good and the National Museum, a few metres away, is worth a morning itself. All in all, at the prices charged, it feels churlish to complain.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Aval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Semiramis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiramis Hotel

Address: Victoria Bridge City Centre | P.O. Box 30301, Damascus 30301, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range: $130 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Semiramis Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Semiramis Hotel Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing