We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very pleasant staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheraton Damascus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not very pleasant staff”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was there last month in 2010. A big hotel with nice architecture, long check-in and long check-out. Room was clean, bathroom also. Rich breakfast. Free internet connection only for 30 minutes in lobby. Some staff need education how is important

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    19
    16
    5
See reviews for
11
11
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

we were invited by some big company for a 24 hour stay in the sheraton Damascus and during our stay that lasted 17 hours i did manage to find many things going wrong in this hotel....

1- during a private party the tables were dressed in a very pleasant way on the pool, i dropped by mistake a fork on the floor, a few second later, a waiter came picked it from the floor and placed it back on the table!

2- My brother wanted a cup to fill in his during, we asked the barman if he can give him one, he had a cup filled with ice on his bar, we told him that we didn't want ice with it, he simple throwed the ice and gave us the glass without bothering cleaning it back!

3- i asked as waiter for a cop of coffee, and guess what was his answer:
keep it for later on!
i asked him is there was any reason why i should be waiting for later on
he replied that he had to go inside the hotel to bring it as this was not available outside on the pool! i waited for two hours and never received my coffee....

4- we had a lunch at the Italian restaurant , service was a little slow but still ok, i ordered a steak with some balsamic sauce and almonds, a few minutes later i was presented a steak with some mushrooms sauce... i placed some sauce on the steak and then figured out that it was not a balsamic sauce. after calling the server who was very friendly to the point of placing his hands on my shoulders in a friendly manner, he told me that i was right and that he was going to bring me back my correct order.
a few minutes later i was presented the platter with the same piece of steak (cleaned) and the balsamic sauce... i tried to find the almonds, but didn't find them....

5- during the private party and while the invitees were still having their lunch the 15-20 waiters decided to serve themselves with the invitees food, while these were still eating (at least the let the invitees start with the buffet)

6- i was inquiring about the internet costs and was unsure if i go with a 12 or 24 hours package, when they saw that the were fully invites by our guest, they told us that the guest is paying so there is no need to take the 12 hours!

7- at the checkout and as all our bills were handled by our guests, they told us that there is no need to check the rooms before the checkout! we were not even given the minibar invoice to sign and confirm!

8- I was sitting in my room when someone from outside the hotel ringed the door, he was looking for me (they gave him my room number without even notifying me) we had to support this guest for the rest of our stay!

9- we had to ask for teeth brushes so that these were supplied to us

Now the good points:
- i was surprised with the rooms although they are old, but these are clean and well maintained.
- generally they have friendly stuff that is ready to help you as much as they can
- check in and checkout process are done very fast
- we had a welcome gift at 5 o'clock a full basket of fruits
- i asked for an adapter for my laptop so i can plug it and was immediately supplied with this...

Room Tip: we were in rooms 527-526 and these were on the fifth floor, i think that these are very large rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Having worked previously in hotels, I have had a different expectation of a Sheraton and was in for a surprise. From dated bathrooms to dated bedrooms.... It was almost a B&B
I remember the breakfat which I missed coz I was Late by a couple of minutes and the Lebanese room service I ordered which was decent
Overall - a hotel to stay with a clean bathroom and a decent bed...don't know why one will travel otherwise to Damascus. the patisserie and the pool side is busy with the local expats working with UNTSO
Seems ok should you have no other place to live.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delhigirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratondamas, Administrative Assistant to GM at Sheraton Damascus Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear our valued Guest,

First of all thanks a lot for your feedback which we really appreciate even with its negativity, our Hotel is dated to 30 years and this will explain your surprise about the bathrooms and bedrooms furniture but we always try to make up this by our tip top service and treatment towards our guests.
However, your remarks were taken into consideration, and we do promise you to feel the difference in your future stays.

Best regards

Alia Asadiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The rooms are large and very comfortable and clean. Some rooms face the swimming pool (which can be noisy if there is a party) and some rooms face the mountains, which are beautiful. The service is excellent. The iftar dinner buffet was spectacular. There are about a half dozen computers in the lobby with high speed internet for guests to enjoy.

Some of the businesses in the lobby are a little over priced. And the walls are a little thin so a noisy neighbor above or beside you is very noticeable. But generally this is a very good and comfortable option.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratondamas, Administrative Assistant to GM at Sheraton Damascus Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Dear our Valued Guest,

First of all and on behalf of Sheraton Damascus Team, I would like to thank you for your expensive time spent in writing us your feedback.
It is our utmost happiness that your stay was beyond your expectations, and that you enjoyed each and every details in our premises.
Your other comments will be considered to be resolved in the near future.
We do thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Sheraton Damascus Hotel

Best regards

Alia Assadieh
Admin Assistant to General Manager of Sheraton Damascus Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

i've been staying at the sheraton almost once/month, the service is good, hotel is a bit outdated, certainly needs some renovation soon, but there is nothing missing, i tend to look at the electrical infrastructure in the hotel am staying in ( my kind of thing ), and in Sheraton Damascus it is NOT good, some really tired sockets in there, and very few as well, if you have multiple devices that need recharging like i do, keep a power strip at hand's reach ( my permanent travel companion ).

The food is average, i've tried almost all kinds of food in the restaurant ( Mehbaj ) and i had the feeling all the dishes taste the same, they can work on that i suppose, the presentation is ok, but the taste is just not there!!!!

Breakfast is good, the staff is over friendly, a bit nosy at times, specially since my native language is arabic, they are interested in maintaining long conversations with me for some reason.

Internet is a downside, but i suppose this is the case in all of Syria and not specific to the hotel, 1 hour is for 4$, but most VOIP services will not work, and many websites are not guaranteed to open, and the speed is low.

All in All, probably one of the best in Damascus, there are newer options like Dedeman or Four seasons Damascus, but for a short business visit, Sheraton is a good choice, no major downsides that you would avoid by going somewhere else.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms in the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naguizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratondamas, Administrative Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Damascus Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear our valued Guest,

on behalf of our entire Team, i really appreciate all your comments, and we are so proud to have a repeat Guest like you in our premises, knowing that we will take a good care of your mentioned details and we promise to improve the all very soon.

we look forward to welcome you again and again in Sheraton Damascus Hotel

Alia Assadieh
Admin Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

When we checked in, they gave us two rooms in the 3rd floor. In these rooms, carpet was dirty and rotten and the furniture were looking very bad and there was no view. When we were leaving the hotel we asked for a change. They gave us other rooms in the fifth floors. It seemed the room conditions were better and the rooms were refurbished. The hotel amenities were acceptable with good restaurants. The hotel windows are awfully needing cleaning. Due to new Syria situation, the hotel seems a little empty. The hotel location is very good. I believe after after slight refurbishment, the hotel will be again one of the best in Damascus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratondamas, Administrative Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Damascus Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all thanks alot for your feedback, your comments are highly appreciated and will be taken into consideration.
Regarding the outdated rooms, it is my pleasure to inform that our Renovation project is approaching and you will see the difference in your future stays.

again we thank you for your trust in Sheraton and we look forward to welcome you gain at our premises

Alia Assadieh
Administrative Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed there for a few days with my family. Bottom line, great hotel, great food, great staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilalhouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratondamas, Administrative Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Damascus Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dear our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel , Service and Staff which are really a high credit for us and we do appreciate.

we remain always at your service

and we look forward to welcome you again and again at the Sheraton Damascus Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Damascus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Damascus Hotel

Property: Sheraton Damascus Hotel
Address: Beirut Rd | Omayad Square, Damascus 4795, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Damascus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Also Known As:
Damascus Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing