We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Place near holy Shrine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel
Ranked #47 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Dubai
1 review
“The best Place near holy Shrine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

We returned last night from Damascus and stayed at the Safir for 3 nights.

We were with 5 children and had taken two rooms. Front Office service was amazing and the F&B are very friendly.

The Hotel is less than 50 meters from Bibi Zainab's shrine.

Strongly recommend this hotel and we will definitely go back and stay there if and ever we visit Damascus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MdTaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

We spent one night here as arranged by Cox and Kings but could not recommend it. The hotel is fairly shambolic with rather shabby poorly furnished rooms although I understand it is undergoing an upgrade. It largely serves Iranian pilgrims visiting an important shrine opposite and the food, service etc caters to their needs and customs. No alcohol is served and western women will not receive the service they are accustomed to.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestMidlandsDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Noisy, scruffy location; grease- stained carpets in the bedroom, plaster missing off walls, black stains/streaks over walls, chipped furniture. Noise until midnight re-started 4.45a.am. By 8.00pm. tepid food and little choice on buffet.
Proximity to important Mosque probably useful to worshippers/pilgrims; great disadvantage to others.
Reception area looks lovely!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Arrived from the UK early August 2010, for purposes of pilgrimage.
I cant put into words how the stay at the hotel hurt and disappointed me.
No transfer from airport to hotel, a 30 minute taxi ride.
On arrival 1 night stay taken as deposit using credit card.
On leaving they said their card reader machine was not working. This is on the morning of my flight home. They suggested I take a taxi to the nearest cash machine as the machine at the hotel was out of service too. They also used their "special rate" for dollar rate conversion which was not correct, asked for excessive syrian pounds.. Notwithstanding I would be out of pocket withdrawing cash. The taxi ride was 30 minutes to the machine where I got dollars and then on return to the hotel I was shocked that the hotel did not pay for the taxi journey into town!!
I was late for my flight but caught it fortunately.
The last morning of the visit was the only one where I could have breakfast and on my return home found I had awful diarrhoea.
The staff at the hotel were indifferent and unhelpful of course nothing like ordinary syrian people who were welcoming and kind.
I would never recommend this place at a quarter of the price especially to a weary pilgrim from far away. Whilst the room was not at all bad the overall hotel experience was not good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdullahh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleppo, Syria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

it is wonderful place where the reception staff welcoming and the rooms were clean and very comfortable and i enjoyed a lot of the breakfast as well as afresh delights café was fun and nice shisha as well as the pizza
really was beautiful experience

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mahmod295416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
najibsaad, Manager at Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to further exceed your expectations in your next visit.

Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2007

If you are the type of person who can't do without luxury rooms, can't handle simple living (as most other accomodation is basic to medium standard 1/2 stars), then this is the place for you. It is the closest hotels to the Shrine of Lady Zainab (as) and it is the most comfortable & expensive place to stay in Zainabiya.

I have been to the area several times and only stayed in this one when it was part of the group package on the way to Hajj. The rooms and service are excellent as is the food. I have been comfortable/happier staying at the other 1 & 2 star hotels for about $15-20 or £7-10 per night compared to this at $109/£53 (2007 price).

This hotel does not keep with the ethos of Zainabiya if you are a ziareen, you may want to think about the person you are going to visit and what they had to go through. But if you are taking children who didnt want to come, or elderly, then this is a good place for them as they will not get distracted by their accommodation and hopefully focus on the reason for visit Lady Zainab (as).

The breakfast buffet is fantastic - and if you're stomach is tender as my friends' were, this is a very very safe and expensive (10 times other local places) place to eat (about $15-20 per meal).

My american friends tend to stay here....ahem.... most of my british friends stay at the £10/15 per night places.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms and 50metres from Lady Zainab's shrine
  • Disliked — the cost
  • Stayed January 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank happyatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2007

Staying at this hotel was great. It is just a three minute walk from the mosque/shrine of Sayyida Zeinab. It was great to be able to go for prayers at the mosque frequently because of the proximity.

The service at the hotel is excellent, not to mention the great food in the restaurant. When visitors arrive at the hotel, they bring out trays of juice to greet them.

The rooms are also very nice, with all the amenities you would expect of a 4-5 star hotel.

Would love to stay there again!

Jabir

  • Disliked — The internet service is dial up, which is really the only poor part about this hotel.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jyusufali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel

Property: Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel
Address: PO Box 684 - Al-Sayedah Zeinab, Damascus -, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:5 star — Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing