We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ebla Cham Palace Damascus
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
3
6
7
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
6
7
6
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 32 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2009

The hotel itself deserves its 5 stars, but the staff deserves a 0 star rate, they are incompetent and unprofessionnal. They kept saying "we are sorry but...".
The restaurant was closed and we had diner in the piano bar at 8 pm. We were the only customers and the room was already full of smoke. The staff must have been smoking heavily all day.
The diner was expensive for one dish of eggs and one dish of noodles, 976 Syrian pounds (SYP) that is around 20$.
We wanted to pay in the evening as we had to leave at 6:30 am to check in at the airport.
They refused on the purpose that someone had to check the minibar in the room before we pay. We told them that we will only take a bottle of water, but they still refused. We insisted and asked to talk to the manager who finally agreed.
They charged 12% VAT when it was still 10%. Altogether, the room costed us 12152 syrian pounds (SYP) around 243$ instead of the regular average price of 162$.
Their visa terminal got a paper jam. They asked us to pay cash. IWe gave them SYP, but they refused them. We had to pay in foreign currency, but we only had 50€ left. They asked us to pay the next morning, but we reminded them that we had booked a taxi for 6:30 am. They had to fix the paper jam. They were not happy as if it were our fault. Half an hour later they asked me to sign the Visa print and I refused because it was in dollars and it meant additional exchange fee from $ to €. We asked to be charged in €. They explained that it was not possible. So we asked them a discount equal to the exchange fee. It took another 15 minutes to get the discount from another manager. Altogether it took us more than 1 hour to pay our bill.
We had booked a taxi to go to the airport at 6:30 am, but there was no taxi. So they had to call for one. When the taxi arrived 20 minutes later, someone run after us to sign the restaurant bill which we had already done and paid the night before, but they could not find it. It took another 5 minutes until we decided it was enough and left with the taxi.
We had to run to check in our flight and arrived 5 minutes after it was closed. We explained the employee that the Ebla Cham did not book the taxi eventhough they told us they did. She was not suprised and hopefully accepted us.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faguo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We booked the Carlton in Damscus but our tour operator sent us to the Ebla Cham.
This hotel is terrible! Firstly it's not even in Damascus, but near the airport and it takes more than half an hour to get to the city!
The first dinner we had there caused me lots of heath issues, possibily because of an open water bottle they gave me and that tasted like pool-water! I had a glass and needed to trow up, but they wanted to charge me for it anyway!
Might look nice, but the hotel is dirty, the food is the worst ever and the people that manage the hotel are not helpful at all.
Don't go there!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MaryLondon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

This is a stunning resort hotel about 30 mins from downtown Damascus, on the airport road. There is a free shuttle bus between Ebla Sham hotel and Sham Palace hotel in Salhiyyeh (central Damascus) around once every two hours. The shuttle times are posted at Reception and they will give you a timetable if you ask for one.

The hotel itself is set in stunning, almost tropical, grounds with a huge golf course, tennis courts and an outdoor swimming pool. Walking out of reception and looking around the beautiful gardens before getting on our tour bus was one of best things about the hotel.

My only disappointment was that they had just emptied the pool when we arrived in late October, and there was no indoor pool.

While it lacks the traditional old world charm of Cham Palace in Salhiyyeh, as it is more modern, it still has a Syrian feel to it and the service it excellent.

The rooms are a good size, with nice balconies and massive beds. The bathrooms are clean with baths, hot water and hairdryers. There are several English language channels on the TV. Our friends tried room service food which was not too pricey and tasted very nice. There are several restaurants, a club and a spa in the hotel although we didn't try any of them. I really can't find anything to complain about in this hotel.

The highlight of the stay was the incredible breakfasts! A mixture of traditional Syrian breakfast foods and European/American food. It was a proper meal in itself and I can safely say that I have never had such amazing breakfast meals in any other hotel anywhere!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SaraOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
GLENDORA CALIFORNIA
15
Reviewed May 1, 2006

Hi
We cameback from syria after visiting for almost one month.
We changed 3 hotels before staying at Ebla Cham palace. I wish we went there at first.The hotel was very clean, the service excelelnt , the food is great,the employees,oh my god, the employees they worked like they own the hotel they went out of there ways .
more than once to help us, even when my kids needed help the employees were there.
The pool is the best i give this hotel and the service 51/2 stars.
I strongly recomend this hotel to any one wants to visit syria.
THANK YOU
SABA B.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2005

We stayed there totally for 3 nights, we changed 3 rooms all together for the reasons of music from the open area; children jumped; moved their room furnitures on top of our room until 2 a.m. complaint to hotel management had no improve. Mosquitos buzzing in your ears after children stopped their jumping, my daughter got eight mosquitos bites on her little face. If you decided to go for this adventure, bring some work tools will probably help you solve the problems
1. insect repellent and mosquitos spray
2. your own hair dryer (their was out of order)
3. DW40 or lubricate (squeaking sound from all the door hinges)
4. door knob come off
5. bay window cannot be closed completely (this one you cannot fixed with your own tools)
6. curtain stucked, cannot be closed completely

Last but not the least, bad service at breakfast.

Good luck and God bless!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wlpeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews