We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
3
16
13
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
16
13
6
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 45 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I found this hotel through trip advisor , basicly i needed a hotel just for sleep because i was going for business trip , i got this hotel for 50$ per night through booking.com which is cheaper than the hotelwebsite itself , i read the reviews about this hotel but i didn't follow it and i tried to take the adventure :).... it is located in a good location , around 15 mins walk from souk hamideya ( take a taxi for 30 syrian pound to hamideya and save your energy )and also very close to souk Alsalhia ( where you can get quality copies of the famous brands of handbags for 500 syrian pounds ) the taxi from airport knows the hotel and almost all taxis knows the hotel although it is not on the main road , he took 1500 syrian pounds from airport to the hotel which is toooooooo much , but you don't have other option , anyways have it a rule you have to bairgain for everything in syria... really very tiring... back to the hotel . we arrived at 7:00 pm the recepionest asked me for the booking voucher , i couldn't find it at the moment , he checked and he found my booking on the computer and he took 50 $ from me , the room is fine but small , bathroom very basic .... the whole hotel is very basic actually , well don't expect too much when you are paying 50$ , there are hotels for 200$ if u r expecting to be pamperred , at the checkout also things goes very simple , i didn't use the restaurant , i ate from outside which is much cheaper than 7$ per person for a very basic breakfast , try to stay in upper floors to avoid the noise and the very close neighbours ....one more advice , don't take taxi from infront of the hotel , they are simply wants to rip you , which giving commision to the hotel staff , just go to the main road ( 50 meters away from the hotel ) and ask for taxi you will get it for very nice price and insist to use the taxi meter , there is no internet by the way :) the hotel is nice for people who comes to sleep after a tiring day outside and that's it , don't expect much more

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Demos3577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

my husband and i were visiting family in sweida but fancied a couple of days in damascus we had originally decided to stay at a different hotel but then when we saw it thought no chance and we were taken here by our cab driver. The minute we got there the staff were there ready to help us with anything we needed. The room was comfortable and clean and luckily had air con as very warm in the summer, the food in the restaurant is lovely but bit pricey for what it is but are plenty of places to eat near-by. Lovely seating area at the side of hotel where u can sit have a drink eat and have the hubbly bubbly should you choose.

overall we had no complaints about this hotel and we shall be definately staying here again next year

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelle190281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Other than the location, there is nothing positive about this hotel. We checked in for 3 nights but left after one. Dead spiders, stained pillow covers, small and dirty. Will recommend to stay away from it.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights during our trip to Syria.
The hotel has perfect location just in 10-15 minutes walk from the Old City. There are some restaurants, banks and shops near. In the nearest building there's Russian cultural centre where Russians can buy Russian guide-books and have Internet access.
Rooms are of good size and rather clean. There's fridge, a/c, big ceiling fan. Bathroom is not clean. There were hairs in the bath and towels were not very clean.
Breakfasts are typical for Syrian hotels - really not so much to eat but comparing with some other hotels choice is not bad.
Hotel restaurant works 24 hrs so you can have lunch or dinner there. Food is good and they have menu in English.
Stuff is good but their English is rather bad. Only one receptionist spoke fluent English.
There are a lot of taxi near hotel so it's not a problem to go anywhere in Damascus.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denglag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I enjoyed staying in this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was a reasonable size, although some of my friends' rooms were smaller. It was clean and warm (the latter being vital in Syria in December). It's near main roads and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. Only a 10-15 minute walk to the Old City and the Souqs. A good base for anyone spending a few days wandering around Damascus.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S-zinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews