We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Sheherazade in One Thousand and One Nights”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shahrayar Luxury Hotel
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Charming little hotel in typical Ottoman style house, with open courtyard, recently renewed. Situated in the heart of Old Damascus, within a walking distance from the main historical places. The rooms are clean and furnished in damascene style.
Wireless internet available, but unreliable.
The staff are young people, very friendly and helpful.
Quite crowded at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyars are bigger, but the courtyard is often noisy and crowded, with little privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisaDiBenedetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 17 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

Spanish friends spent 4 nights at this nice, charming, little hotel in the heart of old Damascus.We stayed in two different rooms,(coutyard and uptairs)
-Staff: Young people, really friendly and helpful. Thanks to all of them. Special Regards to the new "member of the crew" Lulu, the tiny she-cat.
-Facilities: Excellent. Recently re-newed.
-Food: Good Breakfast in the courtyard (buffet). Evening meals can be ordered at Reception, with several choices (syrian or occidental style)
- Rooms: Extremely clean and charming. Syrian style furniture. LCD tv. Modern bathrooms. If you are a light sleeper, you better choose the ones upstairs, although they are smaller.
Sitio acogedor y con encanto, en el barrio cristiano del viejo Damasco. El personal del hotel y la habitación, genial.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadridPotota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Reserved through a local travel agency, Albinos, part of a package, so we don't know exactly what it costs. Bedding is good, great modern bathroom, great selfserve breakfast.

We like :
- genuine old house, plenty of charm, 2 levels of rooms around a sky open courtyard
- great location
- great staff

We did not like :
- nothing so far
This happened to us :
- We first had room number one, with great charm and pretty large. It is one of the 4 surrounding the courtyard. We immediately felt in love at first sight. BUT... Being on the courtyard means people coming in and out through the main door, ringing it through out the day, and night. And fellow travellers chatting in the courtyard, til late at night...
- So we asked to move upstair. The room was sadly charmless and tiny. Big deception but much much quiet. So all in all, we were happy to move away from the room downstair.

Tips :
- 2 bottles of mineral water (50) and 2 cans of soda provided free of charge every day
- hectic and unreliable wifi is avaible also free of charge.

Room Tip: Downstair=charm but very noisy. Up=quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

What a charming hotel on the edge of Old Town Damascus. It was a perfect location for visiting the historic sights and shopping the souks. The hotel is new and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Our room was furnished with ornate inlayed Syrian crafted-furniture - beautiful. Breakfast was an array of Arabic foods that were delicious. We also had an evening meal, which was very good. Wireless internet available, bring a laptop if desired. The streets of Old Town are narrow and tortuous; parking may be difficult.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lantana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Great place in the middle of Old Damascus. With breakfast including lot of local food and friendly staff and nice tree in the yard. Of course u have expect limitations defined by being in the middle of medieval city. And u need to have a plan how u will find the hotel, however that will be a challenge with every location in Old Damascus

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rems_razums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We are a norwegian/french family who stayed 4 nights in Damascus in the end of january this year. This hotel was mainly chosen because of its location in the old city. But we could not have found any better hotel. The rooms were spacious and beatifully decorated in syrian style. The bathrooms were comfortable with lofts of hot water. Delicous breakfast was served in the charming courtyard. The staff vas very kind and helpfull and efficient. They did not only help us with our requests but also suggested things we could see or do. The next day we had planned to go for a trip to Palmyra and needed av van because we were already five persons. A van arrived at time, and the driver was extremely clever to manage to drive through the narrow streets in the old city. And he was very sympatic too. We enjoyed to stay in this hotel and would like to recommend it to anyone who are planning a visit to Damascus.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingunn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

This new-ish small hotel was encountering problems due to a rain & snow storm during our visit. It's located in a typical Ottoman house with open courtyard, and Damascus city regulations apparently no longer allow hotel owners to put a glass roof over the courtyards. The courtyard was very wet and cold as a result, and the tarpaulin they had strung up to try to keep the rain out was not working too well. However, we really liked this hotel, especially the extremely kind, welcoming and helpful owner. She didn't have any rooms available on the second night we wanted to stay, so went out of her way to find other hotels in the area for us which had availability. This was way beyond the call of duty and helped us out immensely as we didn't have to spend half a day door-knocking to try to find a room.

In the summer, this hotel would be a wonderful place to stay with its beautiful courtyard and quiet location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalskier100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shahrayar Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahrayar Luxury Hotel

Address: Bab Touma, Al Kymarieh | Tel Al Kadi, Damascus 00963115410516, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shahrayar luxury boutique hotel is located at the heart of old Damascus surrounded by some of the most renowned historical places like Omayyad Mosque, Hananyia and St. Paul Churches. The essence of Shahrayar …… has been reformed from an 18th-century house to an amazing oriental renovated standing out hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing