We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Agenor Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agenor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Damascus B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I love the hotel! Came to Damascus because my interest of history and Agenor hotel was the perfect place to stay. It´s located perfectly, the people work there is the most lovely people I ever met in a hotel but also the hotel is something special. It´s like live in the history! If it´s something I regret it will be that I left!! Already miss the place!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToppeLobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2011

My mum and I stayed in this hotel last week, we're really happy that we chose this hotel...The service in this hotel is definitely number 1, We're served with nice cold welcome drinks when we got there just before we even checked in. We're greet with smiles from all staffs,This place is just gorgeous it was all we were hoping for and much, much more. Very comfortable,and excellent location ,Buffet breakfast every morning ,was great with a vast choice of foods and juices,there's 1 guy will be there each morning to cook or fried your eggs for you.Love everything bout this hotel,This hotel definitely had charm, the most thing i love about this hotel the details in everywhere its full of details and history ,each room difiently from the over but all are a very nice room and especially the bathroom i am so impressed with this hotel its one of the best boutique hotel in the world if anyone wanna visit Damascus u should diffiently stay at Agenor its the best one there .

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonlyplanet23193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This hotel is wonderful, but the beauty of the hotel is nothing compared to the warmth and kindness of the staff. It is a family run hotel and the staff makes the difference. If you go to Damscus, you must stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaviaes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This was quite q superb hotel and the staff were fantastic as well. It is situated on Straight St and is an old merchants house so one's first sight is of a beautiful courtyard- so much so that visitors put their head around the door to take pictures. One simply walks out of the front door to be in the centre of this amazing city.
Our room was very special and spacious with two TVs, not that we needed them.
Breakfast in the courtyard provided an amazing choice with many temptations.
The admin side is excellent- They take CCs or any currency (or a mix). They will solve virtually any problem and we have nothing but praise for them.
If we go to Damascus again this will be our choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tombeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We found this place after having left a boutique hotel in damascus wich seemed to be the perfect place to celebrate my 50th birthday. It was not.
But Agenor turned out to be more than we ever expeted. A place to be. A place to relax. A place to get familiar with. A place where a whole hotel shares the (offerd) birthday cake, a place, where they find a taxi that brings you to Palmyra for sunrise, a place you do not at all want lo leave

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Agenor recently opened, which is why it has fewer reviews than other hotels. It is a beautiful place to stay and the best place that I saw in the old city of Damascus. We were traveling as two couples and had the two main suites. They were beautiful rooms, but a bit loud because they were on the street. That said, the rooms were still worth it. I would consider getting an interior room if you're a light sleeper. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer. It was all around a great stay.

As for the other negative reviews that I saw, guests have to understand that you're not staying at a brand new 5 star structure. This is a redone old house in Damascus that only has a small number of rooms- it's beautifully redone and all new, but it won't have the same amenities as a large hotel. It's part of the charm of it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

A beautiful historic house perfectly located in Old Damascus. The 12 rooms are decorated in different styles with character and attention do detail. The magnificent inner courtyard makes history come alive. Outstanding reception staff! I’ve seen a lot of hotels around the world – this is one of the best!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triphunter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agenor Hotel

Address: Straight Street, Damascus 16454, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Damascus
Price Range: $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Agenor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing