We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wedding party was there, and it was just perfect”
Review of Al Pasha Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Pasha Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Damascus B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2013

last year (12.12.12) I had my wedding party in this hotel, it was pure oriental party and it was lovely,

candles were everywhere, and the lights, was great

then I spent three nights in the hotel, in their Suite 6, it is so romantic, and lovely

just go and try it, it is in the center of Old city of Damascus, and it worth to have a chance to try it

Room Tip: suites are lovely, I tried suite 6, and it was soooo romantic and worm
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NouranYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Al Pasha Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 18 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have stayed for a night in Al Pasha. The hotel was empty and only two or three rooms were reserved (That was due to the current crisis in Syria). However, the hotel is too lovely and the staff makes you feel at home.
The old style of this hotel makes you feel that you live in early 1900's.
The hotel nowadays offer a great discount and free facilities (Turkish bath, Sauna, Internet...etc)
Staff was so friendly and rooms were very nice and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms at the 1st floor are great
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

From our first midnight arrival at the anonymous street door, we were welcomed into this jewel of a hotel. In the Syrian (indeed Arab) fashion, the hotel features a series of internal courtyards with fountains to cool the air, with rooms off - and what rooms! This is an old Damascene house refurbished to a very high standard. The staff are eager to help and nothing is too much trouble.
There are one or two slightly jaded "boutique" hotels in Damascus; the Al Pasha is not one and we can't recommend it too highly. Well done Jules Verne for finding this sanctuary right in the heart of the old city.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good so don't worry about it!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The Al Pasha is a beautifully restored Ottoman mansion with courtyards, fountains, richly decorated walls, floors, doors, and ceilings. It is well located in the Christian sector, not far from good restaurants, shops, and a 10-15 minute walk to the Souk. We stayed here twice during the Syrian portion of our April '11 middle east trip – one night at the beginning and two more at the end. We highly recommend it.

Our first room (#5) was on the ground level near the lounge bar. It was large and sumptuously decorated with period furniture. The large queen bed was comfortable, and the a.c. was quiet and effective. The stone tiled bathroom was large and had a glass enclosed shower. There was not much counter or shelf space. Our second room (#17) was on the 3rd floor at the rear of the building, which gave it more privacy but required climbing several sets of stairs. It was also large and had the same attractive period decor and furnishings. The a.c. was also quiet and effective. The tiled bathroom was smaller than #5 but adequate.

Breakfast was served in one of the pleasant courtyards and was very good – a selection of cheese, yogurt, olives, breads, sliced meats and boiled eggs.

There is free wifi in the lobby and in the rooms. The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful.

We enjoyed our stay at Al Pasha very much and would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed for four nights at the Al Pasha Hotel from 1 April. We travelled with Jules Verne. The hotel was perfect. It was a beautifully restored old Damascene House and was beautifully appointed and tranquil with several indoor courtyards. In the main one, a song bird seranaded us. In another, we had breakfast. The bedrooms and bathrooms were beautifully appointed in authentic Syrian style. We were there during the unrest but saw and heard nothing. Damascus is amazing and we loved the Syrian people. Our hotel was in the Christian quarter and we had easy access to some lovely restaurants. Straight Street was just minutes away and so, too, were the souqs and most of the main attractions.

The staff in the hotel could not have been kinder and more helpful and even let me use the hotel computer as, due to the troubles, all foreign mobile networks were down and I could not get access on the hotel internet laptop. I was allowed to use the hotel computer as often as I wished, which was great to keep in touch with family who were worried about us.

I hope I can return to Damascus one day once the country is at peace and I would certainly stay at the Al Pasha.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerriekhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Al Pasha is a cozy and beautifully decorated small hotel in the old city, convenient to everything. Our suite was large and airy and the bathroom well appointed, decorated with a charming mosaic mural. The furniture was typically Syrian of inlaid wood; the bed truly comfortable. But of course, what makes a good stay are the people and we were not disappointed. All were gracious and helpful. Breakfast was laid out in a sunny courtyard and was good. Internet was readily available, helpful during the unrest (which we incidentally did not experience in our 9 day stay, aside from some cheerful pro-Assad gatherings).We were able to take many walks along the Street called Straight to the bazaar and to Naranj for dinner. Street snacks were available near the tiny park on the street and were delicious.
One touch which we loved was the song bird in a cage outside our room who gave us recitals in the morning and seemed quite happy in his digs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efghij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

you can't beat this hotel for location, right in the middle of the old city.
Charming hotel, with very helpful staff and beautiful courtyards.
the rooms are huge and well decorated with Syrian furniture, bathrooms are perfectly appointed. Wireless is free and marble floors are heated (I can't tell you how much these two details are appreciated by travelers, right?)
Next time i will ask for a room that doesn't face the breakfast courtyard though, as it gets noisy early in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Pasha Hotel

Address: Zaitoun St. via Recta, Damascus 2046, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Damascus
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Pasha Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing