We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUR #1 CHOICE IN SYRIA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanania Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanania Hotel
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OUR #1 CHOICE IN SYRIA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Welcoming, clean, calming, comfortable and good value.
The building was restored using old materials and techniques and became an art gallery. It is now a small, funky, boutique hotel a short stroll from the al-Sharqi Gate (Eastern Gate) in the Christian Quarter and within easy walking of all sights in Old Damascus.
We stayed twice; once in the Northern Room (a delightful, small, upstairs room with ensuite bathroom) and once in the Romantic Suite (a large spacious 2 room suite with an unusual bathroom opening to the courtyard) ~ both were enjoyable. Each room is different and decorated with art and antiques. Some antiques are displayed in unusual places (ie: the shower) while others are used in inventive ways adding to the character of the room. Each room offers comfortable beds, air conditioning, satellite tv and wifi.
The Hanania centre courtyard is a cool spot to take a break in the heat of the day. The small but very satisfying buffet breakfast is served in the cellar. If stairs are a problem for you, let them know. Staff goes out of their way to help make your stay memorable and are most helpful with area information and suggestions.
While in the Middle East we were pleased to recommend the Hanania Hotel to anyone on their way to Damascus and more pleased when we arrived for our second stay to find a couple to whom we had recommended the Hanania Hotel staying there and thrilled with their stay in the Presidential Room. With the word being passed on from traveler to traveler, be sure to book ahead.
Travel Tales Images of Syria - Old Damascus is a video which features the Hanania Hotel and Old Damascus.

Room Tip: Each room is different in size and decor. Some rooms are up stairs while others are off the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltales-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at the Hanania in March/April '11. And while we don't suggest a visit at present, when things calm down hurry to the Hanania! The male staff was excellent and accommodating. The rooms creatively composed. The site lovingly cared for all day. The traditional breakfast satisfying and they even made us a special "foul" for the morning we were leaving. A plus is that you can walk every place you would like to visit. And you are a minutes walk to Straight Street.

akachan

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are up steep stairs. If this is a problem request first floor accommodations. As i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akachan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

i spent a lot of fun over there .. i have been given a good service ... i just love it
More than a wonderful place, full of calm.
Located in the heart of the old city,
The hotel is beautiful, and comfortable, breakfast was delicious.
We have spent a great time, with friends.
Excellent cadre of staff, that provide services. And help in the process of booking and travel.
The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis.
We have spent a great time, with friends.
Excellent cadre of staff, that provide services. And help in the process of booking and travel.
The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis.
More than a wonderful place, full of calm.
Located in the heart of the old city,
The hotel was beautiful, and comfortable, breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: presidential room
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tutyfruity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

I stayed here for two nights with my friend in April. The staff were very kind and helpful, pointing out places of interest for us to visit on a map and upgrading us to the honeymoon suite! The building has been lovingly restored with great attention to detail and the hotel also serves as an art gallery for modern Syrian painters. The Hanania is located in the Old City's Christian Quarter and it's walking distance to restaurants, the souk, Umayyad Mosque and all the Old City's other attractions. I would highly recommend a stay here and would go back whenever I return to Damascus.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zoedibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerteminde, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

You feel like at home in this small-scale hotel, situated in the christian quarter in the old town. A pleasent courtyard for the afternoons and evening. Excellent helpfull young staff. Kind shopkeepers in the street.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce1069587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieren, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

excellent hotel. good value for money. good service and good advice about where to eat. will certainly return. good beds. quiet at night

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank romkevandekaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchheim bei Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

a hotel in old damaskus / near bab sharki, in a old damacene house / may be former palace. rooms in unique stile,with good furnishing + interesting antique decorations.
hotel management +staff helpfull, also for items at other places.

Room Tip: handicaped, using stairs, prefer groundfl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damaskusfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanania Hotel

Property: Hanania Hotel
Address: Hanania Church Street | Bab Sharqi (Eastern Gate), Damascus 443, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing