We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”
Review of Orient Gate Hotel

Orient Gate Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orient Gate Hotel
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Madrid
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for the price”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Great location, walking distance from the old city. Great staff and clean rooms with air conditioning, heating and hot water. Nice breakfast. Difficult to find, because it is in the 3th floor in a narrow street, you will help your driver saying that it is in front of Venezia Hote.l

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliciacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Orient Gate hotel is good value accommodation in central Damascus. The rooms were fine - clean and basic, with great views from the terrace/ breakfast area upstairs. The staff were extremely helpful to me as I had to prevail upon them to use their laptop to complete work, and they were very obliging.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellieob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We found Orient Gate Hotel totally up to our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms are small but o.k. and also sufficiently clean. Of course this is not five star accommodation, but given the fact that accommodation in Syria seems to be more expansive than in Jordan, we found this place to be absolutely o.k. The location is great, just walking distance to the Old City, and the rooftop terrace was a nice place to have breakfast. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stadtnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed in Orient Gate Hotel at the end of July and we came back 2 nights before going back home.
The hotel is well located, in the modern part of the city ; old town is 15 minutes on foot and the museum too is not far; nearby the hotel there are banks and restaurants. Rooms are simple and clean but air conditioned was very noisy.
Breakfast is good but the boy who prepared it could speak just a bit of English!
The reception staff speak English and they are nice and very hospitality, especially Ahmed; we asked him a lot of informations: where buy phone card (thank to Mohamad who took me to buy it), bus timetable and other information about minibus and taxi; Ahmed was always helpful and kind.
While the manager .......he could be just a bit smiling and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akwaba7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed here in July 2010 for $70 per night for a triple room. The hotel is about 10minute walk from the old town, and close to the modern shopping areas of Damascus.
The hotel is clean and comfy. It won't win any prizes for style but it's functional and good value. Some of the rooms have older ac units which can be noisy, but the noise is preferable to the heat! Can get a bit noisy with car horns at times although we weren't in the room much as we were sightseeing. Breakfast is limited, but what is on offer is nice.
The reception staff are friendly and most speak a fair standard of English.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Small rooms and very small bathrooms without air evacuation (only to the room..). Some cockroachs in rooms. Very noisy AC and noisy and uncomfortable beds. It seems that it is an office level wich is converted to a hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roro-de-Bab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koeweit
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

the first time the orient gate hotel is may be difficult to find even for one of the many thousands of taxi drivers but once found it is located just perfectly to explore Damascus. The staff is really nice and helpful. Aswad a student english literature is really considered , being ill one night (food poison ) he canceled our excursion the next morning without any problem, took care of some hot tea to our room. just great support. The breakfast is syrian and between 17.00 and 20.00 it is too loud in the street behind the hotel , But we had a good night rest during our 4 night stay and for only 40 euro per night for a double clean room, just a minor detail. We will certainly come back if we are in Damascus

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familykieft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orient Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Gate Hotel

Property: Orient Gate Hotel
Address: Bahsa Street, opp Venesia Hotel, Damascus, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Orient Gate Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orient Gate Hotel is located in the centre of Damascus, within walking distance of the commercial markets and many restaurants. The reception desk is manned 24 hours a day, and the staff are always willing to help guests with any requests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing