We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra helpful staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al-Madinah / City Hotel
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ultra helpful staff”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We chose this hotel on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Like many Damascus hotels, the decor is pretty amazing, but the stand-out was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff - particularly the reception staff Tha'ed and Mustafa. They always had a cheerful greeting for us, and plenty of time to discuss what we were planning to do and what we had done. Damascus Old City is not that far away by foot. We left early for our flight, and getting us an early breakfast was not just no trouble - rather, we hadn't expected it but they insisted that they would do it for us. Admittedly the room was small, but we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    42
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
82
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

My girl friend and I visited Al-Medina in the middle of February as we went to Damascus for a week's holiday. We chose to go directly to Al-Medina because of the things we read here on Tripadvisor.

And we weren't disappointed!

The hotel is great. It's nice, clean and the location is excellent. Very close to Souq al-Hamidiya and the Old City. But what's most important to mention is the staff. Mr. Mustafa and Mr. Thaer were the most hospital staff we've ever met at a hotel. Always helpful and ready to give advice. The same goes for the manager, Mr. Tarek.

We have plans going to Damascus again soon, and of course we'll stay at the funduq al-Medina the next time as well!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPH2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

The City Hotel has the most ornate reception, restaurant, and rooms that I've seen. Apparently it took two and a half years for artisans to complete, and the end result is stunning.

This hotel is very conveniently located. Within a short walk there are many inexpensive food shops,it is centrally located between several different banks with ATM facilities, and it is a short walk to the national museum in one direction or the old city in another. Right in the middle of the old city is the Umayyad Mosque, the most revered mosque outside Mecca and Medina. The reception staff have excellent local knowledge and are eager to assist.

The rooms are a bit tight for space but the bathrooms are of a western standard and there are ample English speaking satellite television channels available.

Not only is this hotel beautifully decorated, it also provides an excellent platform from which one can enjoy the best that Damascus has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank young4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2011

the staff made our holiday a very memorable experience. we could not have asked for better service. the location is perfect for all Damascus sightseeing. we were very happy with our choice. the only problem was people leaving their doors open at night which caused them to beep incessantly.
i would certainly reccommend this hotel, it's a true syrian experience in the best possible way.
the guides/ drivers that were recommended by the hotel were very good, it was definitely the best holiday we have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asyoulikeit293995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The hotel is very comfortable, super clean, and has a great locale near the Archaeological Museum. You can walk to the Souk. A huge and delicious breakfast spread was included in the price. With everything working well and being pleasant - the staff took the cake. They were absolutely wonderful: helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, ready to accommodate.
I hope to visit again soon. When back in Damscus I will definitely stay here once more.
HP; New York

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heide445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed at the City Hotel for three nights, and couldn't be happier with the choice. The front desk (Tarek in particular) is unbelievably helpful and full of great local information. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was very generous, and served in a decadently decorated dining room.
Especially appreciated that the front desk arranged a very early breakfast for us on the day we left for the airport, as well as finding a taxi that would take us for a set price.
This hotel is trying very hard to deliver top notch service - it's a solid choice for exploring Damascus, and we'll be back next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordan_leichnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We were delighted with the friendly and helpful staff, the comfortable and extremely clean rooms, the location, the breakfasts and the price!
We will definitely stay here the next time we are lucky enough to travel back to Damascus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al-Madinah / City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Madinah / City Hotel

Property: Al-Madinah / City Hotel
Address: Sharia Omar Ben Abi Rabia | Vectoria Bridge-Behind Cinemacity, Damascus, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al-Madinah / City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is very close to the national museum,handicraft center.Within walking distance to all the tourists attraction in the part of the old city (Hamdieh souk, the Umayyad Mosque & most of the modern shopping areas). The 43 rooms are all equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, Mini-bar, fire alarm System & free internet WI-FI connection. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing