We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beit Zaman

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beit Zaman
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

I stayed at the Beit Zaman in early August. First the positive things:
- best breakfast buffet
- large and nicely decorated rooms
- great location

However, the staff was very arrogant and rude, the rooms extremely noisy and the air conditioner not very powerful (and none in the bathroom). The worst however, were the ants running around not only in the bathroom (literally everywhere) but also in the BED!!!! I really don't know how the cleaning staff could just ignore the problem! There are many other nice boutique hotels, so I would definitely recommend staying someplace else...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Lovely Hotel in Old Damascus, excellent service and perfect location to enjoy the old city.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bernard_Menett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We are glad that we encountered this hotel in old Damascus city while we were exploring the famous Damascus old city and we moved in immediately. It is excellent place for a couple,family or for business too. The staff is remarkably pleasant and very courtise. The hotel has the feeling and the design of an old Damascus homes like the ones we see in the TV. Actually we have been told it is really consists of real old Damascus homes and converted to this hotel. It is located within walking distance of old famaous Damascus Soug AlHamadiah Soug, the famous AlAmouay moseque, tombs of famous leaders and religious places too. Also the hotel is an area with mixed religion where you can visit old churches and mosques. I recommend this place over the others we stayed in..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkhalifamohammed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
640 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

This Boutique hotel is larger than the others we've visited but somehow manages to keep the old house feeling of similar places. Our rooms were directly on the courtyard, but this was not too much of a problem, and there were some misunderstandings with our booking, but otherwise the service was excellent, the breakfast nice and the management very helpful. They evenhave a small private hammam (unfortunately - and of course - not mixed) that we hadn't time to experience.Location in the straight street and very close to Bab Sharki, is optimal. certainly a good address.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

The Team at Beit Zaman have always made me feel welcomed and made me feel truly as I am in my own home. In addition to the beauty of the hotel, the service and attitude of every staff member have always been focused towards the guest. This is a true testament to Mr. Hani Malek and his leadership as well as each Team Member at the hotel for their Spirit of Hospitality.

I recommend this hotel without any hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DamascusFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

A charming old palace has been turned into a modern, comfortable, clean, friendly hotel without losing the sense that you are in Old Damascus. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was tasty and of excellent quality featuring both local and international foods. The beds and bathroom facilities were up to date. There is wi-Fi. It is on Straight Street within walking distance of all the exotic sites of the city. A winner.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernandgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights on our return to Damascus. Our room was in the back courtyard which was so quiet and comfortable. All the staff were incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beit Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Zaman

Property: Beit Zaman
Address: Bab Touma (Straight Street), building N. 120 | P.O. Box 10302, Damascus, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:5 star — Beit Zaman 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Zaman hotel is a boutique hotel with 28 guest rooms and suites on 2 floors (the most rooms in all of Old Damascus) and each room is filled with antique furniture and wooden ceilings in the Ajami style. The rooms are equipped with Safe, Satellite TV, Air Conditioning, Private Bathroom, Mini-Bar, and a Wireless Internet Access.Features and facilities of the Hotel are listed below: Damasco Breakfast Room, where we serve a buffet with a mix of occidental and oriental food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beit Zaman Damascus
Beit Zaman Hotel Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing